Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LAMP packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 7.4.33-7-r07 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

38 AWS reviews

    Aaron

Everything I Needed

  • August 30, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I love coding but I absolutely HATE setting up systems and environment, as well as working from the command line. Bitnami MAMP stack is my solution for developing web applications locally and I am very pleased with how simple and easy it is to set up and use; so naturally when I saw a LAMP stack version for AWS available when getting my site online I figured I could try it out and save myself the hassle of trying to install Apache, PHP, MySQL, etc and configuring it myself. Happy to report that after a couple minutes of reading up on how to do things (e.g. check documentation for the passwords, figuring out what clients to use to connect to the servers, etc) everything was up an running perfectly! Great product Bitnami - thanks for saving me a lot of time and stress!


    Stephen Bounds

Not a vanilla LAMP stack

  • July 06, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'm sure that the Bitnami stack is good when used for it's intended purpose as a rapid app deployment mechanism.

However, I was looking for a vanilla LAMP stack that could get up and running quickly, and this isn't it. It changes several Linux conventions which is annoying, for example:
- you can't use standard "service XXX restart" commands but must use the /opt/bitnami scripts instead.
- .htaccess files don't work out of the box


    Nick

Excellent

  • July 02, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This AMI works exceptionally well and seems to be relatively secure. The only thing I had a hard time with was getting the password for the root account/mysql so I could access phpmyadmin properly. I inadvertently discovered that the default password is actually randomly generated during startup on another support forum for a different AMI. The instructions for this AMI indicated that the password was simply "bitnami" when it was in fact the randomly generated password created at startup. After I figured this out I was able to use the AMI to deploy a web application with relative ease.


    Amitav Roy

Great server out of the box

  • June 27, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This AMI is a great starting point to host any website. Most of the settings which are there by default are very much optimized.

Another thing which I like about this AMI is the security points which are covered. Very simple things like blocking phpMyAdmin etc.

Overall it's very easy to manage multiple applications and run the server peacefully. Installing new features are easy and their documentation is very good.


    E. Sterling

Need a web app up fast? This is what you need

  • June 09, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was prototyping a new web app and I wanted it online quick. Thanks to Bitnami I was able to get straight to coding the app instead of having to spend time setting up the whole stack.

I've now got my app connected to an RDS instance, so if Bitnami did a version of this without MySQL it'd be even better!


    Evan Adams

Garbage cache configuration

  • May 29, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Despite restarting the EC2 instance multiple times, restarting Apache and Varnish services, and disabling APC any files outside of htdocs are cached indefinitely with no documentation.


    Denis R.

I tried...I failed

  • May 21, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Nothing easier than configuring a stack by yourself.
Messy docs as complicated as on AWS.
Why pay for complicated things, I don't have time to waste.


    Aleksei

Satisfactorily

  • February 27, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Everything is quite transparent, but without file holder still can not do both in general and in any system that needs to be sharpened for themselves.


    Jacob

Everything I needed plus some I didn't

  • February 16, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for a light weight install to just get a server up for testing/dev purposes. I have not tried to use this in a production environment simply because when it comes down to it I thing when you set up a server it should not be a blind process.
I would prefer this to not include phpmyadmin but if you are a newbie to PHP development and just want something there then this should be your choice.


    Chris Morton

Easy to install but headache trying to find things

  • February 12, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You must read the docs at some point to figure where everything is. Spent secs installing, hours trying to do little customizations!