Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SFTP Gateway

Thorn Technologies LLC | 2.001.03

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2.0.20191217.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

23 AWS reviews

    David Graves - Devops

Good product and super support

  • January 28, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We've chosen Thorn over the other solutions for a few reasons.
1) it's a bullet-proof solution - not one issue with its operation.

2) Thorn offers amazingly responsive support - I've had a few custom requests, and they were immediately offering good solutions.

3) And it's significantly less expensive than the competing Amazon solution.


    Brent Maxwell

Awesome product that solves all power user needs

  • December 17, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was keen to use AWS native SFTP service, but found it confusing and lacking in features.

Thorn's SFTP Gateway solves all the issues, the main one being the ability to enable password auth for antiquated users. It's not best practice, but it's necessary, and Thorn make it super fast and easy to set up a server, keep it running and do all the things we need.

The documentation is excellent, and their support is too. We've been using the product for 8 months and know are very happy customers.


    Patrick Ward

Incredible Product and Company!!

  • October 16, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is a fantastic product that provides an ability for Secure Transfer that we almost couldn't dream of when I started my career. The ability to setup a server quickly in AWS that can be mapped to S3 and presented distinctly from the AWS cloud is monumental improvement over physical servers which simplifies and strengthens security. From an IT Operational perspective, there is no need to manage iron nor the complexities of today's hyperconverged and virtualized world. While AWS provides the underlying infrastructure, SFTP Gateway provides the function specific automation that maximizes that infrastructure. Even if the resources to do this internally are available, I will use SFTP Gateway for all my SFTP needs, this is the product that tips the SFTP scale.


    Wes R

Over a year with zero issues

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Looking forward to upgrading to 2.0 and the API ability, but for the past year, we've used this for integrating with third party clients without issue. Solid tooling and configuration with zero hassle. Highly recommend


    Rohit Keshwani

SFTP GW by Thorn

  • May 21, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I used the Multi-AZ setup via the CloudFormation template provided by Thorn Technologies. It set up pretty comfortably, had a couple of bugs here and there but the team was very helpful throughout to help us fix them. The documentation is very well written.


    DK

Excellent, timely service!

  • May 01, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Easy to install product with great functionality and a world class support team. The team went above and beyond to make sure we were up in a critical time.


    Jacob

Good documentation, great support

  • April 11, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The SFTP Gateway cloud formation template deployed seamlessly and worked as expected. We needed to set up some customizations for a user, and the documentation proved exhaustive and accurate. When our client had trouble connecting, Thorn responded immediately to our support requests and was helpful in resolving the issue even though it wasn't a problem with their system. If you need to do SFTP with AWS we highly recommend this product.


    Kiran

Great Product

  • August 30, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We looked into many softwares, but this software made our job easy and our process simple. Support response is also great.
Thanks!


    Dennis

Works as described, very helpful support

  • August 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very useful product, I'm sure most devs will be comfortable setting this up manually, but this template saves so much time overall at a fair price.

They also have very comprehensive documentation, be sure to check it out if you're stuck setting things up. Support is also very detailed and responsive.


    JF

Just stores data in S3, but doesn't make the data accessible

  • August 07, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Same problem for me as MJ reported with his "Fatally Flawed" review.

This configures an SFTP you can connect to and deposit files to. That works fine, the files will all get synced up to your S3 bucket. But, the files themselves are accessible on the FTP.

For example, if you connect via an FTP client and drop a file there, it will appear in S3, but immediately disappear in the FTP interface. This is not usable if you are trying to allow someone to access files from the FTP, this is good for file deposit only (and ONLY if you don't care about getting the files from S3 instead of FTP).

Not ideal for our purposes, will have to use something else.