Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Advantage - Essential

Canonical Group Limited | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

892 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Clarissa N.

Great!

  • May 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There is so much you can do on Ubuntu! You can create a virtual machine and make an Ubuntu server or desktop and use it to learn Linux or use it as your personal computer!
What do you dislike?
There is so much that you can do in Ubuntu that it can be overwhelming to someone who is learning.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Right now, I am learning Linux, and so I have built my own Ubuntu Server to try to create my own meeting like Zoom. I am using an open-source meeting and trying to see if I can just create a functional meeting like zoom. There are so many benefits with Ubuntu. There are so many possibilites what can be created.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really get into it if you can. If you are curious about Ubuntu, watch youtube videos, take online courses, or read books on it. Really try to get more informed and replicate and learn the commands. I feel learning Linux and Ubuntu may be great to learn in the long run for a career. It is so easy to use and pick up, and I highly recommend even high schoolers learn Linux and build their own Ubuntu server/desktop.


    Josh S.

Ubuntu need I say more

  • May 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's Ubuntu; what's not to like it can be for anything
What do you dislike?
just the added issues for animation for memory usage
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The trade-off for Linux Mint for a more Mac feel


    Hospitality

Ubuntu is great!

  • May 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is great. I recently switched to ubuntu and it is great. out of the box, everything works. Very good for software developments
What do you dislike?
Handling ubuntu is not easy. we need to learn a lot of commands.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for Software Development. Unlike Windows, it's easy to install any libraries.


    Krishnakant B.

Why to use Ubuntu ?

  • May 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is completely free there is no need to pay any extra cost to use it. It has a highly secure system and there is no need to add any extra anti-virus. It constantly keeps providing updates with better and faster versions. It can be operated completely using a terminal.
What do you dislike?
The main disadvantage of using Ubuntu software is gaming. Not all the games run in Ubuntu and the one which runs have bad graphics. One needs to learn a few commands before using Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All the projects that run in Ubuntu can be easily uploaded anywhere as it has very few requirements. It is easy to operate once you get the UI or User Interface and multiple shortcuts in it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend software developers and competitive programmers to try out this amazing software as it saves a lot of time and is extremely easy to use.


    CHARANJIT S.

Ubuntu OS

  • May 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is opensource and very user friendly OD and no need to antivirus.
What do you dislike?
It is bit confusing for new user to install new packages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to software development and much more company activity


    Sana R.

Ubuntu Review

  • May 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Efficiency, command line controls. cli and speed
What do you dislike?
The interface hangs, sometimes the screen freezes along with mouse and keyboard and not option to remove the process causing it except to REISUB which reboots the system and all the work is lost. there should a control + alt + delete options like ubuntu to avoid the loss of unsaved work in these situations
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I do most of the development work on ubunut. i work with python and it is a lot easier to set up phthon modules and complete environment on ubunut as compare to other systems
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're using Ubuntu you should at first get to know the command line Terminal. The terminal commands facilitate to provides a deeper access level to your Ubuntu operating system features, as long as you are using the correct commands.

Ubuntu can also be customized to remember the software and apps you used in your latest ubuntu session before you logged out. If you can not successfully power Ubuntu into sleep mode, this technique is very useful.


    Aswath Ram A.

Ubuntu Os

  • May 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Linux platform is the best for developers and product designers and testers because of it's functionality and the fact that it can run multiple librarires on a bash scrip is really helpful. On top of that ubuntu os has a really nice UI whoch mimicks mac os giving a perception of better user interface.
What do you dislike?
The fact that Ubuntu os cannot be used for installing certain apps that are available in Windows or Macos is the only saddened part. Other than that most of the functionality and control present is more better in Ubuntu than that of other OS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu for developinh drivers and the security presnt has always been a plus for me
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu usage only of you know how to run through command terminal


    Pavan G.

Secure and Free Available Operating System

  • May 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like commands of ubuntu OS.
I am using thia from 2 years and it is very easy to learn commands of ubuntu also, it is secure than other operating systems.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu is easy to learn but for non-technical users is very hard to learn.
Not up to the mark user interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have very big issue of security on my server by using ubuntu.
By just running simple command big tasks done in seconds.


    Bogdan S.

A stable and user friendly OS for both server and desktop

  • April 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's updated on the weekly basis, easy to use, it's stable
What do you dislike?
There are some things that are not always POSIX compliant. As an example, a bash script that runs perfectly on RedHat/CentOS requires some minor changes in the bash code in order to function the same way on Ubuntu
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using it as a webserver and also as a Desktop OS on my own computer (I've replaced Windows with Ubuntu)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't expect it to be 100% POSIX compliant


    Mohd Juned A.

It's awesome operating system

  • April 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Command based.
Best user experience
Command based.
Best user experience
What do you dislike?
Nothing, everything looks good
Nothing, everything looks good
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Setup is very easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for software development environment