Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Advantage - Essential

Canonical Group Limited | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

970 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Arsalan K.

Well open source Linux based OS

  • September 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's just amazing
Lightweight
Open source
Tons of plugins, add-ons available
Support by the company
What do you dislike?
Some softwares are not available to use over Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Developing java and Linux based applications.


    Dhiraj S.

Ubuntu for rest apis

  • September 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is useful in using opendaylight sdn tool to setup virtual network using ovs switches. It is useful in using virtual box as well.
What do you dislike?
It has full support system for new development process
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I build rest api and swagger documentation for the same using it wherein it has support for all such distributions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes


    Biotechnology

User friendly LINUX distribution with lots of community support

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is my go-to LINUX distribution, primarily because it is so user-friendly and has tons of community support. Pretty much any package you need is well-supported for Ubuntu, and there are lots of examples and bug solutions out there on StackOverflow and other forums for Ubuntu-based projects. Ubuntu releases stable versions (LTS) that have been well-tested. There is also a nice Ubuntu version for Raspberry PI machines.
What do you dislike?
If you start with a command-line only distribution of Ubuntu, the desktop GUI is not the most straightforward to setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Ubuntu as our LINUX OS for all of our cloud-based servers. All of our code is written in a Ubuntu OS environment.


    Sam M.

Ubuntu

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's free, fast booting time, and excellent user interface
What do you dislike?
It can be time-consuming to keep up with third party software updates
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is helpful for opensource software development, especially the command line and support from the Ubuntu developer community for problem-solving


    Semiconductors

Most efficient Linux based OS

  • August 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I used Ubuntu 16.04.

It has a beautiful UI and has a visually appealing look. Out of all the Linux-based OS, it has to be the best. It has got great support from the developers. Regular updates are available for Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
When Ubuntu had a significant upgrade from version 16.04 to newer ones, it did not execute the update process properly.
Most of the installation archive paths were changed, making it challenging for me to upgrade to a newer version properly. Most of the packages and distributions that I installed and the environment variables that I created were either not working or were lost entirely. It was the last time I used Ubuntu. This issue, in particular, made me migrate to CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was an avid user of Ubuntu. Most of my work requires a Linux-based platform as most of the EDA tools I had were Linux compatible only.
The only benefit that I see of Ubuntu is that it is virtually appealing and has good developer support. Other than that, all the features are the same as any other Linux-based OS.


    Publishing

CentOS is no longer the reigning champ for managed webhosting

  • August 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu Server is free, isn't subject to the whims of a greedy parent corporation, and just works. Much better software selection than CentOS/RedHat as well. Tremendous community support and inexpensive corporate support if needed.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu has jumped on the Snap bandwagon. I would prefer not running Snap on servers...
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For web hosting, Ubuntu server is the most reliable platform for LAMP stack implementation with regular updates and solid 5-year support for LTS versions. You don't have to wait forever for updates to Apache, Nginx, PHP, Python, MariaDB or MySQL. Plenty of repositories to keep those critical packages current, even when Canonical lags, which isn't too often to be honest.

The key benefit is stability, both in terms of the OS and Canonical; the debacle with CentOS changing to a rolling distribution has left more than a few web hosting providers in a bit of a bind...
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS Stream will get more frequent updates than plain old CentOS, but no more than a standard Ubuntu LTS install. Control panel software such as cPanel and Plesk don't recommend running on CentOS Stream at this time (both actually push AlmaLinux or CloudLinux). They both don't run 100% on CentOS 8 either, just CentOS 7. Plesk seems to be further along with supporting 20.04 whereas cPanel states it's experimental at this time. Chances are they will both focus more on Ubuntu Server than they have in the past; I've read both companies were absolutely livid with RedHat/IBMs decision to change CentOS and cut support for 8 to 2024 from 2029.


    Hemal J.

okay let's talk about speed and performance it's "Ubuntu"

  • August 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
UI and customization at its highest level
Stability and updates
performance is excellent even if your hardware is not that much expensive
What do you dislike?
if too many Terminals using simultaneosly than hanging some times
sometimes updates are coming after so many times
also not supporting some new games
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
like building embedded application debugging it, and testing with some advance tools


    Akshay k.

The best OS for Technical People

  • August 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This OS gives open source environment for the developers and access to different tools and facilities.
The best thing about the OS is its free and supports different software for the developers.
As a software developer , Ubuntu gives the best environment and software support for development and coding.
With the help of Ubuntu Developers can develop different Open Source Project also.
The OS takes very less RAM memory compared to other OS , this is a big advantage for me having system that contains less RAM memory.
What do you dislike?
The Graphical User Interface is little poor compared to other non Linux OS.
Also This is not the best for non-tech people.
There is a little problem that the updates come more frequently.
The general people likes easy access and less command line interaction , In Ubuntu , One should understand at least few commands , which becomes headache for those who are non-techie.
Although newer version of Ubuntu is improving in GUI , but it still lacks compared to other non Linux OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a software developer , I work for different open source projects and also wok in Development and Coding field. I use inbuilt Apache Server for my server side work. I also do scripting by using Bash Script. Ubuntu has a great support for the development field and also for the Server side work . There are several benefits I cam across since I started using Ubuntu , Its performance , Its accessibility and the powerful Apache Server that helps me debugging and developing the project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is the best OS for the open source development . If someone is from the tech background , then Ubuntu helps them a lot while developing and working for their project. If someone likes a better GUI then go for other OS . For students and learners , While using Ubuntu , You can learn several tech related things . For developers , This is one and only you wanted. The ease of developing and environment this OS provides , it will help user to work in their comfort zone.


    Internet

Best OS for developers

  • August 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Performance
Speed
Ubuntu 20 is also quite expressive in terms of UI
What do you dislike?
Something it is unresponsive.
UI needs to be more improvement
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Day to day work


    Jorge R.

Light tool to make your PC Fly despite it is oldie.

  • August 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface feels strong, and the use is similar to IOS, as it is OS UNIX based. The pc gets really fast.
What do you dislike?
There could be a lack of drivers depending on some PC models.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Getting old equipment back to life, and making them way faster.