Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Advantage - Essential

Canonical Group Limited | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

992 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Good basic Linux server

  • August 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Im not a Linux admin, Im a Windows Admin so the ubuntu server give me an easy to configure server for running Linux products on.
What do you dislike?
as with all Linux flavors, compatibility can be patchy ie some things work but only with particular versions of packages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
getting products working that require a Linux server rather than Windows


    Sam S.

Freedom comes with a (very slight) cost

  • July 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's the best shot at Linux becoming a mainstream operating system. Between pretty branding, an ambitious CEO, wide hardware support, insanely good documentation, Debian roots, a slick desktop environment (when applicable), and probably most importantly, PPAs/Snappy, Ubuntu gets out of your way and gives developers a lot of options to make things easy for users.

Really, the only reason I'd recommend anyone to NOT use Ubuntu would be if they're already familiar with Linux or a privacy nut.
What do you dislike?
Canonical has a bit of a habit of taking without giving back, whether it be lack of upstream contributions or just reaping users' privacy. Yes, they stopped enabling Amazon's search integration by default, but it still happened, and it's still in the OS. That deducts points.

Also, I hate Unity. Just personal taste, and I know it's pretty intuitive and has a lot of fans, but I'll take a lightweight XFCE any day.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All of them. For all the discourse over Unity, I actually just use it on a VPS, so I don't really deal with it on a day-to-day basis.

The biggest benefits are POSIX compatibility and, relative to most other Linux distributions, PPAs. It also has all the expected Debian-related niceties, like BASH, APT, VIM, etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's flexible, super well documented, and it's not going anywhere anytime soon. If you're overly concerned about the direction Shuttleworth is taking the company, then maybe look elsewhere, like Debian proper. I genuinely think they learned a little bit of a lesson with the Amazon fiasco, but who knows. Overall though, as someone that uses Gmail and Facebook, my privacy is basically non-existent anyway. I think the benefits of using such a polished distribution outweight the minor privacy concerns.


    Kyle T.

Ubuntu is a lighter alternative to Windows that helps me focus on productive activities.

  • July 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My favorite feature of Ubuntu is that it tends to require less computer power than Windows to operate smoothly. I've often taken old Windows laptops or computers and given them new life by installing Ubuntu. On top of that, Ubuntu still offers everything I need (chat programs, word processing, spreadsheets, Slack, Skype, etc) to be productive with work. This is also a version of Linux that is easy enough for my mom to understand.
What do you dislike?
There are rare situations when an app I want to use is not available for Linux, but they're usually not productivity apps. I have to use a specific browser (Chrome) to get Netflix to work, and games are also not widely available on the platform. Having said that, this also has the benefit of keeping me focused on work. Other than that, there are sometimes issues with getting certain devices to work (such as bluetooth-connected headphones).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My desktop computer has lasted quite a long time (longer than others have in the past), and I think it's at least partially due to the fact I installed Ubuntu on it and removed Windows the day I bought it. Everything works and the computer is still quick, which is helpful in avoiding issues while I'm trying to get some work done. I remember error messages popping up on a regular basis when I was a Windows user; that kind of stuff doesn't happen for me on Ubuntu. I rarely ever have to restart the computer while I'm in the middle of something.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Some people are scared of using Ubuntu or any other Linux distribution because of the differences between these operating systems and Windows. My advice is to at least try it out for a few weeks to see if it offers any advantages for you. If you're having a lot of difficulties with Windows, it's definitely worth a shot. Also, it's free.


    Sean Francis N.

Excellent operating system for your daily needs

  • June 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu being an open source operating system based on Linux is an outstanding piece of software. It gives me the tools I need to do basically anything. I have Chrome for web browsing, Blender for 3D modelling ,LibreOffice for office tasks, GIMP for art work and photo editing, and a whole lot more!

Things look different as compared from other operating systems but the common functionalities are present. In all honesty, it is a breeze to use Ubuntu and it will help you become more productive in the long run.
What do you dislike?
Design-wise, Ubuntu does look amateurish. It looks totally odd with some default icons looking a bit aged. The design aspect does not go in flow with the latest design trend. The bubble like application launchers in the Launcher looks odd compared to Windows.

The color scheme of Ubuntu can make it look weird at times. Overtime, the look of Ubuntu can make it look boring but the customization of Ubuntu makes up for this.

Sometimes, Ubuntu has a slower booting time and sometimes lags depending on the system it is running on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu gives us flexibility, speed, and raw power we cannot find in Windows. Ubuntu speeds up the development process as well by providing us developer tools out-of-the-box. Ubuntu with its kernel supporting a lot of devices makes its deployment to other computers an easier chore.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering to use Ubuntu, do take note that some quirks you are used to Windows will not be present. This might alienate you at first but you will get used to it overtime. Also, an i3 with 2GB RAM is enough to run Ubuntu.


    Luigi V.

The Best Linux Distro for the standard user and more

  • June 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think that ubuntu is the best choice for the user that is passing from windows to linux system. It have a lot of preinstalled application that permit to perform all the basic task. The system can be installed on all comemrcial standard laptor and personal computer. I really appreciate it
What do you dislike?
I think the new version have too much software preinstalled and the more advanced user should define which software to install
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Is a good replace of standard windows client operating system like windows 7 or windows 8
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to change the windows operating system but don't want the complexity of linux system: ubuntu is the best choice


    Higher Education

awesome

  • June 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ease of installation and usage. Support can be found easily. Terminal and Linux like OS.
What do you dislike?
lack of many popular programs that can be found on other Operating systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Doing Research and writing programmers


    Gaël A.

Nice and smooth

  • June 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, user friendly and well finished Ubuntu is a good start for new and old users of Linux.
With an amazing comunity support, it's one of the best operating system of the market !

The many flavors and graphical env available to the users let you transforme your Ubuntu so it feels like home.
What do you dislike?
The side panel, and the amazon ads (can be easly removed) which are delivery by default.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a free and open source operating system, fine for dev and user with no particulars needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it ! It's free. I could be a good start for people afraid of linux and for mainstream users.

In no time the new users will be productive with Ubuntu if they don't use windows only softwares.


    Higher Education

Ubuntu MATE

  • June 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using the Ubuntu MATE flavor for the last weeks instead of the regular ubuntu with the unity interface. The MATE interface is very easy and light, and far more customizable than the Unity, which makes it's use more fun.
What do you dislike?
There are not many things to dislike in this Ubuntu flavor. I think that the only thing that I miss are the hot corners that I used to use on the regular Ubuntu or in the Linux Mint.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've been using to run some thermodynamics models with the Netbeans IDE. So far it is pretty good.


    Catelyn N.

Open-source user friendly operating system

  • May 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Customization options, access to large number of repositories
What do you dislike?
I dislike the unity browser, but it's not the worst UI I've encountered.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I run this operating system on my primary computer with which I provide tutoring through my company Moving Forward Tutoring.


    Alexander K.

The easiest way to switch to Linux

  • May 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This OS is really very user friendly and easy to work with.
Nice and simple install wizard will guide you through all installation process.
No drivers searching, no hardware or software problems, no crashes, no blue screens of death, just install, work and everything always be alright.
Full-featured Linux with all it's advantages.
Unix-like, posix-compliant.
What do you dislike?
Unity is not the best UI I have ever seen. It is nice and pretty, but sometimes is not very friendly to new users.
Application and packages advertisement.
Non-free packages pre-installed.
Full-featured Linux with all it's disadvantages.
Strange software center.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using Ubuntu 14.04 and 16.04 on two my work laptops. For about 5 years with Ubuntu I have never regret that I switched to this OS. Everything that I have done in this period of time was under this operating system. After Docker appeared - usage of this OS becomes a lot easier and more comfortable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are choosing between Linux and non-Linux - try Ubuntu, it will break all the stereotypes of the complexity of Linux. It is very easy to start with Ubuntu while it has a lot of advanced configurations if you would like to use them.
If you are choosing between different Linux distributions - try Ubuntu and you will haven't got any problem with hardware, software, libraries, etc.