Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Advantage - Essential

Canonical Group Limited | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

966 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Public Relations and Communications

I Love Ubuntu

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Let me be honest, I'm not a Linux fan. However, I love Ubuntu. I run it through a VM. Ubuntu is free and I must say, it is extremely user-friendly compared to other Linux systems. Moreover, the installation process is simple.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that I dislike about Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is a community supported operating system. Ubuntu contains Libre Office, Mozilla Firefox, and integrated media and audio players that are useful for most computer users. I utilize Ubuntu for both development and daily usage and am happy with the results.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is an excellent operating system. You should consider using Ubuntu.


    Timothy S.

Ubuntu for general computing

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to install, has all the drivers you need, the default UI is nice and it works with everything I need to use.

It is my primary developer workstation laptop. It runs all the tools, ides and servers I need. Works fine with vms and containers.

It takes pretty minimal hardware and works with debian standard apt-get
What do you dislike?
It could adopt RPM and YUM as well and perhaps offer some features found in Mac OS.

Not too much to dislike here.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed a free OS to run my old laptop and make it still viable. It worked. Ubuntu with an old Toshiba beats Windows on any box. Fast enough to develop and runs Chrome, Firefox and all the tools I need. OpenOffice runs fine.

It allows hardware to run longer for cheaper.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Run a LiveCD, you will love it. Very easy to use and a couple of different UI options.

It will work with all your hardware and drivers, no issues for monitors, keyboard, mice, external drives, printers, scanners or whatever else. Charges my phone. You can develop Android, Mono, Java, Python, Rails, Grails, whatever.


    Ahmed G.

Technical Ubuntu Review

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ubuntu is the best user-friendly linux distro I've ever used, it provide easy access to all powerful linux functionlities
What do you dislike?
recently ubuntu GUI was unstable and caused lot of issues for me, I got over this by changing the desktop environment
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using ubuntu server on my cloud instances, it performs well, and I can easily find support from community on the internet
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ubuntu is good choice to start working linux, it ease the way and takes it short


    M. Serhat D.

Most User Friendly Distro Ever

  • January 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is the most user-friendly linux distro ever. Ubuntu is easy to learn and easy to use. Ubuntu software center is also perfect for linux-beginners. With Ubuntu Software Center, a typical computer user can install any software with only a few clicks.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu is not stable sometimes, especially after updates and upgrades. Limited support for some graphic cards is an obstacle and driver problems are frustrating for some users. Especially limited support for laptop drivers needs to be improved. I also dislike Unity interface and prefer GNOME.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is a free and community supported operating system. Especially for Python, Ruby, Go and Java developers Ubuntu is a common operating system. On the other hand, Ubuntu is easy to use for end-users, built-in features are covering daily needs. Libre Office, Mozilla Firefox, integrated media and audio players are pretty enough for most of the computer users. We use Ubuntu for both development and daily usage in the company and we are pretty satisfied with the results.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is a rock-solid operating system with wide community support. If you want your development team to be more productive, you should consider using Ubuntu at first.


    Matthew G.

A fine distro for Linux, if you want to use Linux that is

  • January 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I'll be up front, I'm not a Linux guy. I run it in a VM and I don't love having to use it. It's finicky, hacky, and it adds a tech-layer to everything that I just don't have the time/patience for now that I'm not a student with a lot of time to tinker. That said, when I do need to run Linux, Ubuntu has been my distro of choice since high school.

Ubuntu is well documented and supported, very user-friendly and graphical compared to others, and does have a high-chance of "just working" so to speak. It still has the normal driver-issues and fixing by hand (and stack overflow) that Linux usually does, just to a lesser extent than others.

Ubuntu is the most well-known distro for a reason, the developers have focused on building something solid and dependable and keep it up to date without it being at the scary-level of breaking all the time. I can't have my OS giving me weird bugs at crunch time. Obviously the bonus to using any Linux distro is all of teh fun and powerful dev tools you get access to, which is why I run one at all!
What do you dislike?
The Ubuntu interface seems a bit dated at this point when Apple and even Windows have gone ahead and revamped what a desktop experience feels like. As well all of the little Linux idiosyncrasies really grind on a user like myself who normally lives in Windows. Driver issues happen, things break, and open source software is updated as fast as paid-for versions. The open source alternatives to programs like Photoshop and MS Office really don't compare. I really wouldn't recommend any Linux build to anyone who wasn't a developer because of all of this, but that's who it's meant for,

I really wish Elementary hadn't been so buggy for me when I tried it because it was really pretty, but for now I'll stick with Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I need a place to develop in, run local servers, etc. For that I need a Linux build and Ubuntu is the friendliest I've found. Dependability and support are key, and really Ubuntu is the best I've found for both of those.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's solid. Try Elementary if you're playing around and maybe they've cleaned up a lot of bugs that stopped me from using it. Otherwise go to the tried-and-true Ubuntu. Also if you're not a developer/technical just stay away from Linux because it' just causes needless headaches/time sinks.


    Manoj G.

If want to shift from Windows to LINUX..? Then Ubuntu is the best

  • January 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What do you look for when using an OS..? Interface? Look? Support? Ease of installation? Security? Speed?
If you are looking for above qualities, it has most of those in optimized way.
If you are a Windows user and want to shift to LINUX then, this is the best option you have got. Its so user friendly and has simple and stable interface, with a greater look.
One can install any software from the software center are through command line.
The most secured one compared to other LINUX distributions, and best support community to answer any of your queries.
What do you dislike?
They should take care to keep updated programs on Software Center, many of the programs there are outdated.
Like recent Windows releases, Search menu has web results by default which is not necessary always.
I dislike unity, one should try other Ubuntu environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No need of malware protection software, and has best development environment.
Its free of cost and hence helps to reduce initial installation cost of any company.
Battery life is more compared to Windows and other LINUX platforms.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I prefer Ubuntu over Windows to get complete Root access of the system.


    Computer Software

The Overall Best Linux Distribution

  • January 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
While I predominately work in an OSX environment, there comes a need when I have to use a Linux install for particular tasks and programs. My number one choice for flexibility, speed, and reliability is Ubuntu. The best feature of Ubuntu is that you can create a "live" version of it that runs straight off of a USB stick. I usually keep the latest distribution on a USB 3.0 stick for my Linux needs.
What do you dislike?
As a beginner to Linux, you might have some troubles setting up the OS and using the terminal to complete basic tasks. However, once you start using it, it's very easy to pick up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu has allowed me to quickly and easily get a Linux environment set up when needed for development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out before you install permanently to a hard drive. With a Live USB drive, you can test it out on your hardware before committing to using it. This lets you test compatibility, along with get familiar with the UI and the terminal if you haven't had any experience in the past.


    Michele A.

The best linux distribution for newcomers

  • January 10, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the Ubuntu Store, which was the first marketplace for applications on a desktop computer, prior to the Apple Store on MacOS X. The Ubuntu store allows users to install with just a single click thousands of applications and extend their linux box.
Now Ubuntu has a mobile version and the convergence mobile-desktop is pretty awesome: the User experience is linear and the nice to see
What do you dislike?
The update management must be improved. From a version to another, sometimes the upgrade might break the installation (e.g., when updating from 15.04 to 15.10).
Some other distributions, such as Arch Linux, make incremental upgrades so the machine stays stable and is kept updated forever. Ubuntu doesn't do this and offers Long Term Support builds and some normal builds, whose support ends after 9/12 months.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I helped customers with old computer to keep using their hardware and switching from WIndows to Linux and make their life easier and virus-free.
I have also installed Ubuntu on Macs, since MacOS X wasn't allowing any other update and it was just too heavy


    Isaac Z.

Ubuntu has the best user experience, but ignore your existence.

  • January 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Good user experience.
2. Nice desktop environment.
3. Nice look.
What do you dislike?
1. Ignore you existence. In this case, Arch Linux is a good distribution --- "I know what should I do".
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Server
2. development machine.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For newer of linux.


    Yehuda K.

More flexible and intuitive than other distros

  • January 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu just makes sense to me and lots of our other admin staff. Package management is easy, installation is easy, server and desktop editions are both great products.
What do you dislike?
Unity places too much emphasis on web searching. I don't want everything I type to be sent out for a web search. Once in a while a package is removed from a new version, but traces of it remain and it can be hard to sort out what is going on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Ubuntu for most of our desktop systems and for a while most of our servers. (We switched most of the servers to RedHat simply to have them on the support contract, but Ubuntu still has a great presence in our environment. ) Our users generally appear to be happier to use Ubuntu on the desktop than RedHat.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
LTS releases can get pretty old and users often want newer packages that aren't available. Test out a regular release well and unless you have some specific reason not to, just do the in-place upgrade.