Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

VMware Tanzu Greenplum (Hourly)

Pivotal Software Inc. | v6.7.1

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

59 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Celeste B.

Pivotal Greenplum: Iconic Data Modeling and Visualization Tool

  • August 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How it seamlessly collect, model and visualize structured, geospatial and unstructured data from disperate sources is what I like most.
What do you dislike?
I have not yet discovered the dark side of Pivotal Greenplum on my end.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Visualization of data scattered across multi-cloud and on-premises tools.


    Naveen A.

Greenplum - BIg Data Database

  • June 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is most modern and powerful DB build
What do you dislike?
It's one of the most modern and powerful open source DB built for modern analytics using AI. The Database is built on already popular Postgres DB architecture which is a proven technology. Green plumb provides the unique cost-based query optimizer which helps to query large amounts of data and still pay less. This also does not degrade the DB performance even while dealing with petabytes of data. It's easy to deploy and maintain. Greenplum also provides AI features that collaborate with the analytics and operational workload features.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Used for storing the retail analytics data and using the inbuild in-database analytics features we are generating various insights with less dependency on the external tools. Also, the machine learning capabilities of the database help run the complex algorithms very effectively.


    Industrial Automation

Principal Greenplum DBA

  • June 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how I can improve my performance in big tables using the MPP architecture that Greenplum gives me
What do you dislike?
The daily maintenance is usually a problem, if we have a big table and a lot of users are using this table
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Dataware house logistic. I can have a response in seconds and get TB's of data


    Telecommunications

It was a very great experience using Greenplum

  • June 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Massive Parallel Processing is the best.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it goes slow but there's no such problem in that.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The benefit is that it saves a lot of time to load the data into database.


    Eusuf K.

Not widely used but a good option

  • June 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Greenplum is a good option to have, but till now, I have not seen significant market depth in its usage. Its capabilities are excellent.
What do you dislike?
While it has great potential, there are other players which are far easier to use and have more acceptance.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Greenplum is currently being used by us as a data source for performing ETL. We solve migrating to and from various data sources of which Greenplum is also a part.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check out Snowflake, AWS, Azure and GCP offerings as they are the most popular ones as well as provide premium support.


    ritesh g.

Excellent mpp tool and beat for data warehouse and ingestion through big data

  • June 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1)UI and scripting options for greennplum.
2) Greenplum command center and alert with out of memory, max connections and segment failure helps the Dba to solve the issues quickly.
What do you dislike?
Some inbuilt maintenance like vaccum should be there. And some new issues comes up after upgrade so more testing from pivotal is required.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Have solved indexing issue in greenplum and backups option as well. Have solved segment failures issue, Max connections and Out of memory and also solved fragmentation issues
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good mpp technology can always go ahead with greenplum for ingestion and big data use cases


    Computer & Network Security

Greenplum is highly scalable and has extensive parallelism Over the segments

  • June 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mirroring concept , expanding the nodes without downtime and performance is high
What do you dislike?
Sometimes GP Optimizer will not work as expected ..
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For the new applications we are above to provide all the support without news issues ..
creating different queues .. auto optimizer to choose best path to pull the data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'm good using Greenplum


    Anand V.

Excellent Scalable Unsupervised machine learning database

  • June 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, Ease of integration, deployment models, visualization, reporting, dashboarding
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that I dislike about the product
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving the integration of DLP with Data Privacy. We have got excellent benefits for the data synchronization


    Forest L.

Experience in using greenplum for 2 years

  • June 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- PostgreSQL Compatibility
- Versatile plugins
- Versatile support for json handling and GIS
- Easy of use
- Easy of integration with external data source
What do you dislike?
- Performance isn't good for extensive datasets processing (e.g. query, join...)
- Performance tuning is hard
- Adding new data node is not easy
- Concurrency processing isn't good enough
- No support for columnar mode query
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am solving performance issue and learn that distribution key design is so important for greenplumn


    Karunanithi S.

Greenplum is a highly horizontally scalable and MPP (Massively Parallel Processing) database

  • May 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MPP enablement and published a patent on improving it's MPP efficiency through Meta Data Query Agent.
What do you dislike?
I would like them to utilize this Metadata query agent using in-memory metadata tables about the segments to be used to run the query.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Big data analytics and it can be leveraged with multiple cloud platforms such Azure/AWS/GCP etc. as a EMR(Elastic Map Reduce) service.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is great to use for Big Data Analytics.