Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

VMware Tanzu Greenplum (Hourly)

Pivotal Software Inc. | v6.7.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

58 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Industrial Automation

Principal Greenplum DBA

  • June 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how I can improve my performance in big tables using the MPP architecture that Greenplum gives me
What do you dislike?
The daily maintenance is usually a problem, if we have a big table and a lot of users are using this table
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Dataware house logistic. I can have a response in seconds and get TB's of data


    Telecommunications

It was a very great experience using Greenplum

  • June 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Massive Parallel Processing is the best.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it goes slow but there's no such problem in that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefit is that it saves a lot of time to load the data into database.


    Eusuf K.

Not widely used but a good option

  • June 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Greenplum is a good option to have, but till now, I have not seen significant market depth in its usage. Its capabilities are excellent.
What do you dislike?
While it has great potential, there are other players which are far easier to use and have more acceptance.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Greenplum is currently being used by us as a data source for performing ETL. We solve migrating to and from various data sources of which Greenplum is also a part.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check out Snowflake, AWS, Azure and GCP offerings as they are the most popular ones as well as provide premium support.


    ritesh g.

Excellent mpp tool and beat for data warehouse and ingestion through big data

  • June 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1)UI and scripting options for greennplum.
2) Greenplum command center and alert with out of memory, max connections and segment failure helps the Dba to solve the issues quickly.
What do you dislike?
Some inbuilt maintenance like vaccum should be there. And some new issues comes up after upgrade so more testing from pivotal is required.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Have solved indexing issue in greenplum and backups option as well. Have solved segment failures issue, Max connections and Out of memory and also solved fragmentation issues
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good mpp technology can always go ahead with greenplum for ingestion and big data use cases


    Computer & Network Security

Greenplum is highly scalable and has extensive parallelism Over the segments

  • June 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mirroring concept , expanding the nodes without downtime and performance is high
What do you dislike?
Sometimes GP Optimizer will not work as expected ..
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For the new applications we are above to provide all the support without news issues ..
creating different queues .. auto optimizer to choose best path to pull the data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'm good using Greenplum


    Anand V.

Excellent Scalable Unsupervised machine learning database

  • June 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, Ease of integration, deployment models, visualization, reporting, dashboarding
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that I dislike about the product
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving the integration of DLP with Data Privacy. We have got excellent benefits for the data synchronization


    Forest L.

Experience in using greenplum for 2 years

  • June 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- PostgreSQL Compatibility
- Versatile plugins
- Versatile support for json handling and GIS
- Easy of use
- Easy of integration with external data source
What do you dislike?
- Performance isn't good for extensive datasets processing (e.g. query, join...)
- Performance tuning is hard
- Adding new data node is not easy
- Concurrency processing isn't good enough
- No support for columnar mode query
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solving performance issue and learn that distribution key design is so important for greenplumn


    Karunanithi S.

Greenplum is a highly horizontally scalable and MPP (Massively Parallel Processing) database

  • May 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MPP enablement and published a patent on improving it's MPP efficiency through Meta Data Query Agent.
What do you dislike?
I would like them to utilize this Metadata query agent using in-memory metadata tables about the segments to be used to run the query.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Big data analytics and it can be leveraged with multiple cloud platforms such Azure/AWS/GCP etc. as a EMR(Elastic Map Reduce) service.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is great to use for Big Data Analytics.


    Computer Hardware

A fast and feature-rich PostgreSQL database

  • May 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use the Pivotal Greenplum database to warehouse website analytics data, in combination with sales and other analytics. It is a massive amount of data, but Pivotal Greenplum handles it with seemingly ease. Moving from an Oracle solution, the amount of time I spend waiting for queries to process is significantly less!
What do you dislike?
Segments do go down every so often, which can be a bit annoying but they come back quickly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Pivotal Greenplum has provided an excellent data warehouse for combining a number of separate analytics databases. It helps us perform advanced analysis by quickly retrieving data and allows for more sophisticated queries.


    Retail

Recommended

  • April 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We had a data lake setup in Greenplum for a retail project. The DB is capable of handling millions of data and follows an MPP architecture. The queries can be made using SQL and it supports integrations with API and all. To sum up it has great features. When it comes to performance I feel it lags behind Teradata very slightly. Though it is really good and recommended to those who are looking for a cheaper and efficient DWH.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much in particular. But the customer support and knowledge base could have been better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We dealt with integrations of different systems like oracle,Salesforce and bringing everything together to a common data lake for effective decision making
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Recommend