Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

VMware Tanzu Greenplum (Hourly)

Pivotal Software Inc. | v6.7.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

58 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Salil S.

GreenPlum - One of the best solutions for data warehousing

  • April 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. The support for Massive parallel processing that GP offers.
2. Faster query executions - We execute many (100s) of queries on a daily basis and at the same time, the results come back in seconds.
3. Resource management
4. GrrenPlum Support - If we face any issues, the support team is there to help us out.
5. SQL like syntax.
What do you dislike?
A few times we have noticed that the segments go down, but they usually come up in seconds.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. We use GreenPlum to process our entire clickstream data and are providing intelligent business solutions to 1000s of customers on a daily basis.
2. To analyze data across tables and provide meaningful insights to customers.
3. Processing a huge amount of data in less time.
4. We are trying to process the data in real-time and have tried out various POC'S to help this happen and the results were promising.
5. Easy User management - Creating and providing read/write/admin access to users has been working very smoothly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
1. If you have a need for storing and retrieving huge datasets then GreenPlum is one of the best choices to make.
2. Queries perform faster when they are optimized. Eg: Use temp tables instead of joining 10 tables in just one single query.


    Hospital & Health Care

Greenplum for feature engineering

  • April 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Greenplum is very powerful for MPP requirement.Especially for analytics need
What do you dislike?
Sometime performance is unpredictable with heavy queries
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Feature engineering,Machine learning


    Insurance

The experience was similar to Oracle/Netezza. I used it as source/target for data migration.

  • April 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very affordable for small enterprises. I have seen it being used by one of my clients. They choose it load or unload data using ETL.
What do you dislike?
Not enough online guide for troubleshooting. Need community support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to use


    Abhinav R.

Good option to be considered for implementing Data Lake

  • April 11, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I feel it provides best and easiest way for bulk load of data.
What do you dislike?
I felt the database availability was a challenge sometimes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used Pivotal Greenplum in a hybrid data lake. It was easy to implement and large data can be easily loaded in bulk.


    Anusha M.

Good Relational and multiple parallel processing Database

  • April 11, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Greenplum is very flexible and fast because of MPP architecture. I have been working in this since 2.5 years and i would love this the most due to its Massive parallel processing Capabilities and vast functionalities.
Querying the DB is very easy using Postgresql. Totally it was a great learning experience with pivotal greenplum
What do you dislike?
Some times queries might take longer time to execute and eventually fails with a deadlock. And also it is little expensive than its counterparts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Pivotal greenplum is used to build our business views which acts as a source for the reporting platform. It benifits us to build vast lines of code to serve the customer needs and do a variety of data analytics.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just go for it


    Mohan Prasad K.

Simple and effective platform to work with huge data

  • April 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Connectivity through different technologies
What do you dislike?
Better to have some videos to work with greenplum to be easy for beginners
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working with different technologies to store the data into greenplum using one of the database management system. I see the features provided by greenplum is easy to work on that area.


    Airlines/Aviation

Having good experience with Greenplum

  • April 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am working as Greenplum admin since 2017, we have migrated from orcle, Postgres. I am having good experience and the utilities are user friendly. If we understand the architecture then you can save lot of time while doing backups and restore.
What do you dislike?
I observed one thing if any bad query comes into database, then database will restart. Pivotal need to work on that and restrict that query upto segment down only.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cluster build, database upgrades and downgrades. There is full of automation just we need to know the correct command/utility.


    Umesh M.

Greenplum as data warehouse

  • April 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We had historical data from different sources. Wrote spring batch jobs to dumb data in Greenplum.
Which is used by data science team analysis and we use same for reporting.
What do you dislike?
pgadmin for Greenplum is very heavy and difficult to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Good for large amount of data.
We use it as data warehouse.
Out data science team was pretty happy with the way it performed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
1) Prefer command line instead of pgadmin tool.
2) Use partitions.
3) Design your schema properly.


    Irannagoud P.

I'm working on greenplum from last 2 years

  • April 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
provides performance advantages over HEAP tables
Column storage
What do you dislike?
Here we treat function as procedures but compared to other databases, here we get performance issues if we have complex queries.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As compared to other databases scalability is good with greenplum


    Rajeev C.

Why will i ever need a NoSQL? Probably the best designed database on earth.

  • April 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
All i need a Relational Database that can Horizontally scale and give an ease of use close to an Elasticsearch.
What do you dislike?
Not really a dislike, but would like to see it even more flexible in use, like the way Elasticsearch is.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
BI - OLAP
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OLAP as good as any other