Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Parallels Remote Application Server (RAS)

Parallels | Parallels RAS 18

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base win2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 4

External reviews

46 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Avraham R.

Best Solution for seamless integration of Windows Products on Mac

  • October 06, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Coherence - Beautiful integration but not without glitches. Can run Windows programs seamlessly.
What do you dislike?
When Windows goes into sleep mode, or your mac goes into sleep mode, any of the connected network drives will automatically get disconnected.
Also, when you freeze a state, if you haven't shut down certain programs they will cause problems when you try to unfreeze the state exactly as before.
Overall, these are small glitches with easy workarounds when you know to expect them.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There are still a few programs out there that haven't been ported to the Mac and it is those that I need. Also, I use a right-to-left language on the Office Suite, which has only recently been implemented (this year) in Mac. Slowly, but surely, all the major programs are porting over to Mac. However, Microsoft Access is not yet here. As well as a few other programs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have only one or two programs that you need Windows for or you are developing for multiple platforms then Parallels is an awesome solution. If, however, you do a large portion of your work on Windows then having a dedicated Windows computer will probably be more efficient even though their service is seamless. It's still a bit slower (especially in graphic intensive programs like AutoCad)


    Security and Investigations

Probably still the best solution for running Windows on Mac.

  • August 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use
Relatively stable
Wide range of OS supported
What do you dislike?
Can be a resource hog at times
Poor 3D performance compared to other solutions
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Legacy systems and certain Windows only programs on Mac system


    Automotive

Windows on a Mac!

  • August 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can run multiple operating systems under my mac. Works well with Docker as well.
What do you dislike?
I don't like the annoying ads that come up when they have a new version.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This allows me as a developer to test different operating systems and browsers. .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Turn off the annoying ads and only upgrade when you need to.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Great for MacBook to Split Test Windows

  • August 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have a MacBook so I love that Parallels is non-invasive on memory and I do not need to always reboot my computer in order to see how something looks like on Windows operating system. This allows me to seamlessly switch between even Windows 7, Windows 10, and more to see how our website looks on other platforms, and other operating systems.
What do you dislike?
It is a little slower because you are essentially splitting up your RAM. You can't necessarily do too much either because lower processing power.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Greatly increases efficiency and allows our team to be versatile. We greatly enjoyed Apple products and so Parallels was a perfect product for us and allowed us to not have to invest in a new computer for example.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do bootcamp AND get Parallels. If you need something intensive, then bootcamp and hop on that partition. If otherwise, you can just use Parallels.


    Melinda N.

Parallels for the Mac User

  • August 16, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It allows us to have the best of both worlds - Mac and Windows, on one computer
What do you dislike?
It can be quite cumbersome and slow if you are using large files on the Windows side
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Allows us to use old Microsoft letters/forms and convert them to Mac compatible use
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure that you get enough licenses otherwise you get page "freezing" and bad conversions of files


    Insurance

Excellent for Multiple Operating Systems

  • July 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallels is great for running multiple operating systems at the same time.
What do you dislike?
Parallels is very resource intensive. Otherwise no complaints.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My primary computer is a MacBook Pro, however, for writing code and doing other types of development, I really enjoy using a Windows interface so I will run parallels with Windows.


    Francesco M.

Windows on Mac

  • July 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Windows starts in seconds, seamless integration, fast, quick and no need to renounce to Windows application when using a Mac.

The interface is really simple to use, advanced settings are easily available but they are normally invisible.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes you need to open two different Windows machines on your Mac which already has quite a lot of applications open. This can slow down or even block everything. Usually a solution is to kill other applications that use a lot of memory, like Google Chrome
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Mac for everything here, but we are forced to use Windows for our BI suite, Parallel is the best shot to have a virtual machine with Windows on Mac.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try, you won't go back.


    Louisa N.

Great Software, had no problems!

  • July 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I had no issues using the software at all. I used it to run more Mac servers on my machine and it never crashed any of the instances or the host machine itself. It was very reliable.
What do you dislike?
When running for extended periods of time it did have a tendency to slow down the host machine, but that is expected.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I needed more servers at different ip addresses on the network really fast to run a web application. This allowed me to do so. It also allowed me to run different operating systems for testing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
See if the price is right for you when considering the cost of the software plus the operating systems you want to operate.


    Management Consulting

Incredible way to run virtual machines on a mac.

  • July 06, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's integration with the Mac. Sharing directories, copy and paste etc. Is automatic and requires no knowledge or configuring.
What do you dislike?
It is consuming lots of resources from my old (2008) macbook which males it slow to run at some ocasions. I have found little or no information on how to optimize.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I run all my company applications on a mac environment, nut the process management / document control system (R2Docuo) runs only on a windos environment. Paralles allows me to run it.


    Nate D.

Great product, but requires yearly upgrade

  • June 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use; It works really well for running Windows inside Mac OS; it runs fairly fast, I have even been able to play some games through Steam pretty well inside it; it offers some nice Mac OS integration features; it will run a Mac Boot Camp partition inside Mac OS as a VM
What do you dislike?
They release a new version every year that you have to buy if you also want to upgrade to the newest version of Mac OS every year; to add to the problem of having to upgrade every year, it's a fairly expensive piece of software
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Parallels Desktop on my Mac primarily to test websites in Windows web browsers. It has also been very helpful when I need some Windows-specific piece of software or feature, such as reading and writing to an NTFS partitioned disk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I chose Parallels Desktop because it had the best performance of any similar software at running Windows within Mac OS. The price is fairly high, and it will require a yearly upgrade fee. If you want the best performance and compatibility for running a Windows VM and the cost is not important, then I do highly recommend Parallels Desktop. If you just need a simple VM solution for Windows, you don't need Boot Camp support, and performance is not an option or if you just need to run a Linux VM, then there are a few other cheaper solutions available.