Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Parallels Remote Application Server (RAS)

Parallels | Parallels RAS 18

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base win2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 4

External reviews

46 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Works well if you know how to use it

  • June 25, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the idea of Parallels. An easy way to have software available to an entire company and administer anything on all computers at once.
What do you dislike?
Parallels kicks me out for no reason and I have to completely log in again every few months. Also, it is not intuitive and can be hard to use if you have not been trained.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed something that would help us keep inventory of our computers and simultaneously update and install software on all company computers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take some training or read up on it, so you know how to use it.


    Guan-Jhih (Neil) H.

2-years experience on Parallels

  • June 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallels Desktop supports Mac users running all windows softwares on Mac. It is quite useful because I needs Parallels Desktop when I am doing data analysis under windows system and writing assays under Mac at the same time. It could help connect two systems and it works well.
What do you dislike?
Parallels Desktop is very pricey but I have to keep upgrading Parallels Desktop and buying it every one or two years because old version Parallels Desktop do not support the new IO system. It is quite annoying for me, so I have to ignore the new IO to fit the old Parallels Desktop.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
When I do analysis of the physic data, I can only use the softwate, Origin, under Windows but I have to run other simulation softwares under Mac. The only way is using Mac to run Parallels Desktop,


    Corey B.

Parallels review

  • June 11, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I could run both windows & osx on my local machine, it allowed much more flexibility when browser testing websites & using apps that did not have an apple build.
What do you dislike?
Well I upgraded my OSX and its no longer compatible, so that was a huge bummer, I'd have to pay to use a newer compatible version. I feel like this should have been a free upgrade. Other than that, it was a resource hog for sure, really bogged down my machine
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It gave our company the ability to run both windows & apple applications. Primarily we used it to download, multiple versions of web browsers so we could test our applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to dual boot, this is a great application, just plan ahead if you are upgrading your versioning of OSX and see if it will still be compatible.


    Elisabeth G.

Allows for Seamless Interaction Between Windows and iOS

  • June 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Seamless interface and run time in iOS. It mimics the Windows environment very well.
What do you dislike?
The amount of hard drive space it takes up is egregious.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My CRM software only runs in Explorer in a Window run time environment. This software allows me to use my MacBook on the road.


    Ryan W.

Great for Mac

  • June 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy being able to use Windows on my Mac. It allows me to work on projects that require Visual Studio without the need to use a VM on Azure.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I dislike is the amount of resources running Windows tends to use. I have a MacBook Pro Retina 15" w/16 GB of RAM and it runs high.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mainly that I can work on code in Windows while still being able to use my Mac. Half of the team is on Mac and the other half is on Windows, but we all still need to work in the same environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Solve issues with high CPU usage on MacBook Pros.


    Diego P.

Best Visualization tool for MAC users.

  • June 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is highly recommended this application if you are a developer or even if you just need to make virtual machines in you MAC. It is very fast and the virtualization in windows is very very smooth. It share desktops between your host and the guest.
What do you dislike?
It is only for MAC and they take su much time making updates when Apple releases a new operating system. I had a lot of problems when Apple update to Yosemite,
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I had the need to work on a virtual machine in my IMac. So, I decided to use parallels instead of another virtualization manager. Because the compatibility of the hardware from the host to the guest was better than other virtualization managers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to create virtual machines in iMacs, this is the best option for you.


    Information Technology and Services

Good but needs work

  • June 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
That I can use windows products when I need it.
What do you dislike?
How easy it is for the environment to be corrupted or disrupted.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Running visual studio to review code.


    Zhou Z.

Great if you need different versions of OS

  • May 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can install many types and versions of OS on a single machine (I use Mac) in order to use different software that is not available on your main OS or test for cross platform compatibility. You can switch easily between different instances of those OS.

The UI is beautiful and dummy-proof.
What do you dislike?
The speed to launch Windows is a little slow. But Windows launches slowly by itself.

Sometimes Parallels quits itself unexpectedly.

Sometimes I like the feature of launching a Windows application in its own window instead of in the Windows desktop. But other times I find it's annoying because I sometimes mistakenly launch Windows apps from the spotlight, and it takes a while to quit Parallel which is launching.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To use different software that is not available on your main OS or test for cross platform compatibility
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Parallel isn't free, and they release new versions frequently. Unfortunately you can't upgrade your purchased Parallel for free. Its main competitor, VirtualBox, is free. But in my opinion Parallel is easier to use than VirtualBox.


    David G.

A test environment, when you cannot afford a test environment

  • May 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a systems person I appreciate how quickly I can mock up a test environment. It's a test environment totally self contained on my mac. It works great for testing upgrades, major changes, and evaluating products.
It has also done a great job providing me a windows desktop. The integration, like shared home folders, has made it very simple to operate in a hybrid environment. I use a three year old, dual core macbook pro, and I have plenty of power to run a few guests OS's, though it will run through battery pretty quickly.
What do you dislike?
The way they force an upgrade, when the new mac OS version is released. Because of this I anticipate needing to upgrade at least once every couple of years.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. Continue using windows only applications, while owning a mac.
2. Deploy test VM's in an isolated environment, separate from our production VMWare infrastructure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a quality product that requires very little hassle. It doesn't have a lot of configurability, but can provide all the customary virtual settings, for example running networking in bridging mode, or sharing host IP. It's not free, but it's a quality product for a small price.


    Entertainment

A very good solution to run windows on MAC

  • May 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using Parallels for the last three years. I moved to Parallels from Oracle Virtual Box which was a very basic solution. Parallels works perfectly for running Microsoft Windows on your Mac. The beauty is the convergence of Mac and Windows Apps, i.e the ability to open a file in a Windows based application from within the Mac and switch back and forth. Though I haven't used the coherence mode much, the Coherence mode makes the experience seamless.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I dislike about Parallels is, they compel you to upgrade to the latest version of Parallels which would cost around 50$ to upgrade to the latest version of Windows. We are currently stuck with Windows 7 and unable to upgrade to Windows 10, because of some device driver incompatibility of Parallels v10.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have applications such as SAP MDM, etc, for which there are no Mac clients as well as time to time we have to use Visio which is available only in Windows. Running windows on Mac helps overcome these problems. On a lighter note, Parallels makes the Macbook, the best Windows Laptop :)