Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Parallels Remote Application Server (RAS)

Parallels | Parallels RAS 18

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base win2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 4

External reviews

67 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Nate D.

Great product, but requires yearly upgrade

  • June 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use; It works really well for running Windows inside Mac OS; it runs fairly fast, I have even been able to play some games through Steam pretty well inside it; it offers some nice Mac OS integration features; it will run a Mac Boot Camp partition inside Mac OS as a VM
What do you dislike?
They release a new version every year that you have to buy if you also want to upgrade to the newest version of Mac OS every year; to add to the problem of having to upgrade every year, it's a fairly expensive piece of software
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Parallels Desktop on my Mac primarily to test websites in Windows web browsers. It has also been very helpful when I need some Windows-specific piece of software or feature, such as reading and writing to an NTFS partitioned disk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I chose Parallels Desktop because it had the best performance of any similar software at running Windows within Mac OS. The price is fairly high, and it will require a yearly upgrade fee. If you want the best performance and compatibility for running a Windows VM and the cost is not important, then I do highly recommend Parallels Desktop. If you just need a simple VM solution for Windows, you don't need Boot Camp support, and performance is not an option or if you just need to run a Linux VM, then there are a few other cheaper solutions available.


    Financial Services

Works well if you know how to use it

  • June 24, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the idea of Parallels. An easy way to have software available to an entire company and administer anything on all computers at once.
What do you dislike?
Parallels kicks me out for no reason and I have to completely log in again every few months. Also, it is not intuitive and can be hard to use if you have not been trained.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed something that would help us keep inventory of our computers and simultaneously update and install software on all company computers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take some training or read up on it, so you know how to use it.


    Guan-Jhih (Neil) H.

2-years experience on Parallels

  • June 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallels Desktop supports Mac users running all windows softwares on Mac. It is quite useful because I needs Parallels Desktop when I am doing data analysis under windows system and writing assays under Mac at the same time. It could help connect two systems and it works well.
What do you dislike?
Parallels Desktop is very pricey but I have to keep upgrading Parallels Desktop and buying it every one or two years because old version Parallels Desktop do not support the new IO system. It is quite annoying for me, so I have to ignore the new IO to fit the old Parallels Desktop.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I do analysis of the physic data, I can only use the softwate, Origin, under Windows but I have to run other simulation softwares under Mac. The only way is using Mac to run Parallels Desktop,


    Diego P.

Best Visualization tool for MAC users.

  • June 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is highly recommended this application if you are a developer or even if you just need to make virtual machines in you MAC. It is very fast and the virtualization in windows is very very smooth. It share desktops between your host and the guest.
What do you dislike?
It is only for MAC and they take su much time making updates when Apple releases a new operating system. I had a lot of problems when Apple update to Yosemite,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I had the need to work on a virtual machine in my IMac. So, I decided to use parallels instead of another virtualization manager. Because the compatibility of the hardware from the host to the guest was better than other virtualization managers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to create virtual machines in iMacs, this is the best option for you.


    Elisabeth G.

Allows for Seamless Interaction Between Windows and iOS

  • June 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Seamless interface and run time in iOS. It mimics the Windows environment very well.
What do you dislike?
The amount of hard drive space it takes up is egregious.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My CRM software only runs in Explorer in a Window run time environment. This software allows me to use my MacBook on the road.


    Corey B.

Parallels review

  • June 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I could run both windows & osx on my local machine, it allowed much more flexibility when browser testing websites & using apps that did not have an apple build.
What do you dislike?
Well I upgraded my OSX and its no longer compatible, so that was a huge bummer, I'd have to pay to use a newer compatible version. I feel like this should have been a free upgrade. Other than that, it was a resource hog for sure, really bogged down my machine
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It gave our company the ability to run both windows & apple applications. Primarily we used it to download, multiple versions of web browsers so we could test our applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to dual boot, this is a great application, just plan ahead if you are upgrading your versioning of OSX and see if it will still be compatible.


    Ryan W.

Great for Mac

  • June 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy being able to use Windows on my Mac. It allows me to work on projects that require Visual Studio without the need to use a VM on Azure.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I dislike is the amount of resources running Windows tends to use. I have a MacBook Pro Retina 15" w/16 GB of RAM and it runs high.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly that I can work on code in Windows while still being able to use my Mac. Half of the team is on Mac and the other half is on Windows, but we all still need to work in the same environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Solve issues with high CPU usage on MacBook Pros.


    Information Technology and Services

Good but needs work

  • June 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
That I can use windows products when I need it.
What do you dislike?
How easy it is for the environment to be corrupted or disrupted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running visual studio to review code.


    Zhou Z.

Great if you need different versions of OS

  • May 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can install many types and versions of OS on a single machine (I use Mac) in order to use different software that is not available on your main OS or test for cross platform compatibility. You can switch easily between different instances of those OS.

The UI is beautiful and dummy-proof.
What do you dislike?
The speed to launch Windows is a little slow. But Windows launches slowly by itself.

Sometimes Parallels quits itself unexpectedly.

Sometimes I like the feature of launching a Windows application in its own window instead of in the Windows desktop. But other times I find it's annoying because I sometimes mistakenly launch Windows apps from the spotlight, and it takes a while to quit Parallel which is launching.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To use different software that is not available on your main OS or test for cross platform compatibility
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Parallel isn't free, and they release new versions frequently. Unfortunately you can't upgrade your purchased Parallel for free. Its main competitor, VirtualBox, is free. But in my opinion Parallel is easier to use than VirtualBox.


    David G.

A test environment, when you cannot afford a test environment

  • May 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a systems person I appreciate how quickly I can mock up a test environment. It's a test environment totally self contained on my mac. It works great for testing upgrades, major changes, and evaluating products.
It has also done a great job providing me a windows desktop. The integration, like shared home folders, has made it very simple to operate in a hybrid environment. I use a three year old, dual core macbook pro, and I have plenty of power to run a few guests OS's, though it will run through battery pretty quickly.
What do you dislike?
The way they force an upgrade, when the new mac OS version is released. Because of this I anticipate needing to upgrade at least once every couple of years.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Continue using windows only applications, while owning a mac.
2. Deploy test VM's in an isolated environment, separate from our production VMWare infrastructure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a quality product that requires very little hassle. It doesn't have a lot of configurability, but can provide all the customary virtual settings, for example running networking in bridging mode, or sharing host IP. It's not free, but it's a quality product for a small price.