Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Parallels Remote Application Server (RAS)

Parallels | Parallels Remote Application Server 18

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base win2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 3

External reviews

64 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alexander R.

Easy-to-use virtual machine software with good performance and configuration options

  • December 31, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
* Very easy to use software in general, with good user interface
* Good performance – as long as there's not too much going on on my host machine (MacBook Pro 2013), the Windows virtual machine runs almost just like it were installed on the actual machine
* Options for configuration (keyboard, mouse, network, external devices, etc.) are extensive – how they interact with host and guest systems can be controlled to suit pretty much any environments
* Excellent integration with Mac – things like shared folders & drives, shared applications, and "coherence" mode can make the experience with virtual machines very fluid
* Regular updates to fix bugs, enhance performance, and other improvements
* Support for wide range of guest OS's – good performance on all
* Good online support for all sorts of issues – email, phone, and remote desktop
What do you dislike?
* Complex key bindings (translations) sometimes to not get translated well – this has been my experience with Windows guest OS's at least
* It sometimes takes a fair amount of effort and several days to get support issues escalated to the appropriate level/team
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Parallels to run Windows 10 (and previously Windows 7) for various applications and for cross-testing software. Parallels has made this is a very straightforward task.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Parallels Desktop definitely has advantages in integration, performance, and user support over free virtual machines. If you need virtual machine software for Mac, and are happy to pay, then Parallels is probably the best choice.


    Stefan B.

Very useful but expensive and frequent upgrades

  • December 21, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It does what it needs to do: runs Windows on your Mac, without rebooting. It supports virtual hard disks, but also Boot camp (dual partition). It takes a fast Mac to make it usable. Since I upgraded my machine (retina Macbook Pro) it shines again. I mainly use it for 3D intensive software, which is quite demanding, but it is usable.
Very complete OSX integration, including native Mac shortcuts that are translated, access to file system, mapping of document folders, networking (e.g. I run Rhinoceros with Network license in Parallels, even from home, through a VPN connection).
What do you dislike?
With OS updates, you often are required to buy an upgrade that is almost as expensive as a new license. I bought it already a few times with deals to have it a but cheaper. E.g. free OS Mavericks requires €40 upgrade for Parallels…
Integration into OSX generates countless "windows apps" that start cluttering my Spotlight searches and native filetype associations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running the last few Windows-only programs on my Mac that I still need: Rhinoceros 5 with Grasshopper, Autodesk Revit and Tekla Bimsight, alongside Microsoft Visual Studio. Even though I can boot in Boot camp, it is often more convenient to run Parallels.

Since moving to a faster i7 with SSD and the upgrade to Windows 10, the speed of launching Windows and running a Windows-only application has become very bearable. In most cases, I don't boot in Windows anymore. Only for extensive sessions of the more heavy BIM software with larger models, I makes sense to fully launch Windows and use all available hardware resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is one of the best ways to run Windows-native apps in OSX, with complete integration. Support for complex 3D applications is quite good. But cost of upgrades can be considerable.


    Zheng L.

Great integration with Mac

  • December 18, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The greatest things the app in Virtual machine will be shown in the dock and it looks just like a native app in Mac.
What do you dislike?
The price is expensive. And if you upgrade from Parallel 10 to Parallel 11, you need to pay again.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using it to do the linux projects and some payment by IE


    Kate O.

Excellent tool to use multiple platforms via virtual machine

  • December 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Being able to use Windows based software on a Macbook Pro without any requirement to reboot my mac into 'windows'. This is a fantastic feature as I can alternate work between both mac osx and windows via Parallels Desktop. Highly recommended
What do you dislike?
The only thing I guess is something that could be improved on is the amount of free systems available to test on. There is quite a few varied platforms from Mordern IE on windows to Android. I guess if a user was requiring to test different versions of IE, it would be a little easier to do so via a quick download.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to use Windows based software on a Mac platform without any issues. You can even scroll sideways to flick between Mac and Windows or any other platforms you are using Parallels Desktop for. A fantastic piece of kit that is well worth it's low cost!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As previously mentioned:
Ability to swipe between different platforms - makes working on different platforms simultaneously a much easier task than having to 'boot' into a different operating system that other virtual machines can make you do. System resources don't seem to be hit anywhere near as hard compared to other software. The cost is very low for what you can get out of Parallels Desktop, so it is well recommended. Using it on a daily basis to access Windows is a breeze.


    Phillip M.

Parallels Desktop

  • December 14, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallels lets me use all of my Mac, while still working from various platforms i.e. with Windows, etc. without having to mess around with having a dozen physicals or VM's on remote sites (e.g. Azure, Amazon).

Once of the nicest features of Parallels is the Coherence mode; which lets me run another operating system / instance on my Mac with full copy/paste ability. I can use software that has to be running on Windows without having the pain of rebooting, working from another machine or feeling like I'm going from one user experience to another; everything is seamless and that's the beauty of Parallels.
What do you dislike?
Only issue I have is that sometimes it appears to run slowly when working in Coherence. If you can improve this then I see no issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helps us run our Windows based programs on our Mac Laptops. This enables us to avoid the need to purchase new software or spend hours developing new software.


    Adam B.

Excellent to use Windows on a Mac osx machine

  • December 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Not only can you use Parallels desktop to run windows on your Mac machine, but you can actually download test environments which makes it easier to test things on the fly rather than installing a windows version from scratch
What do you dislike?
Sometimes my mac slows in performance speed, but this is after a while of running both so you cannot really fault it!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Parallels Desktop to give us access as a business to use windows software, in particular, BT IP Office manager. Using parallels means as a business we can modify our phone system with great ease of use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use, straight out of the box. It's pretty cheap which makes this software very cost effective for a user or business to easily access windows on a mac machine. It's fantastic to be able to not have to reboot the mac to use windows and you can seamlessly use both operating systems side by side. A brilliant piece of software that I fully recommend to anyone who requires something similar to my requirements.


    Adrián A.

Easiest Visualization Tool on Mac

  • December 08, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Near effortless installation of Windows in OS X. Lets you open Windows files in Mac apps or Mac files in Windows apps. Deep integration options give Windows apps access to OS X folders. Fastest performance of any virtual-machine software.
What do you dislike?
It has some stability issues but are not big deal, but i believe it depends on your hardware.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Parallels Desktop helped to run multiple operating systems simultaneously and seamlessly, and allows you to use Mac OS features from within other environments
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is the best for beginners and non-technical users, if what you want is to run non-OS X apps on your Mac.


    Alex F.

Using Parallels to test application deployments between platforms

  • December 02, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallels does a fantastic job at taking advantage of the Mac platform. Translating things like multitouch gestures, key mapping and ostensive HFS mounting within other operating systems. These are all nice-to-haves that you eventually come to appreciate and uses daily.

I've found Parallels to do a fantastic job with 3d acceleration and adaptive speed performance. Some of the 'other guys' have been around a lot longer and that is what drew me to those products initially, but the Parallels team knows Apple and how to make use of the platform to make a better virtualization experience.

Quite possibly my favorite feature is the creation and administration of machines through the command line. This makes starting/stopping machines easily scriptable. Starting machines in a headless mode keeps Parallels from disturbing my workflow.
What do you dislike?
The defaults for creating a new Windows machine usually leave me mildly annoyed. It doesn't fit my use case to have Modality and Coherence enabled. That said, they're easy to disable and only really an issue if you only intend to install the VM once.

Parallels updates. Like... a lot. This is usually a good thing. This is a fast-innovating company that's interested in being on top but the frequency of major releases often leaves you in the dust. While they generally offer upgrade pricing, if one's company isn't footing the bill, the price for the software grow as the versions pass.

Most recently, I tried to use Docker Machine to automate some deployment practices but had to install Virtualbox instead because the docker-machine driver for parallels only worked on the latest version of Parallels. I pay for Parallels out of my own pocket when using it for personal use feeling left behind so frequently can get frustrating.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building web applications requires a lot of testing. Multiple OSes, multiple browsers. Parallels makes it easy for power users to automate and utilize its feature in a was that developers will find efficient. At the same time, Parallels is simple enough for a novice to start up and start getting their hands dirty. The novice will also be unaware of the power user's features unless they dig for them; this is a good thing. Great design. It's a similar stance the OS X team takes. "If a normal user finds Terminal.app, we've failed; if a power-user can't find Terminal.app, we've failed"
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get to know the CLI. It's very powerful


    Vlad K.

Not the best service, but still good for his price.

  • November 30, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Full ssh access, pretty good control panel, nice support (response time <10h) for small money.
What do you dislike?
Time to time VPS works strange. It not affect webservers, but realtime like game server can throw players away.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is my testing server, so i'm doing a lot of different stuffs there.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I don't recommend their VPS for realtime applications. They have some problems with it.


    Retail

Awesome docker experience

  • November 30, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the docker integration in the new version is awesome, parallels was always the faster vm hypervisor that exist for mac, the work that the parallels guys was done with the docker machine is magnificent and really concise
What do you dislike?
the command line utils still are inmate and buggy, the pricing model is quite confusing, i can suggest that you can have a developer or "docker" version that only runs a linux images and offer a cheaper version for freelancers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
running docker containers on a mac development environment, some times run a MS sql database replication from production
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The software it self is battle tested, well documented and supported and if you are looking for a faster alternative to vmware or virtualbox on mac that can run docker machine seamless Parallels are the best option,