Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Trifacta Data Preparation for Amazon Redshift and S3

Trifacta | Trifacta Data Preparation 7.1.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.6.1810 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

106 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Good tool for data preparation

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
* easiness of complex data transformations
* smart suggestions that really help
* working with regex \ wrangle - is amazingly easy and fast
* parsing long natural language texts
* I like property grid
What do you dislike?
* it is not always easy to find functions
* long onboarding with no suggestions in the UI
* some operations require too many mouse clicks, could be made more optimal
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
data cleaning and transformation, especially with lots of natural language data, it is super-easy to upload csv files and make all transforms that you need


    Computer Software

everything you with Excel could do

  • October 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
data modification to create multiple columns, split text based on delimiters, reformat, delete portions, watch changes step by step -- quicker and more functions than Excel
What do you dislike?
working with sets can be confusing at times
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
preprocessing text files in our ETL processes


    Market Research

Quick to learn, efficient and powerful

  • October 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Switching software can be difficult but the online training made it quick and relatively painless for the team. Teams can easily share recipes and flows. Connectivity to multiple platforms was simple. Support by trifactor and the trifactor community make it easy to solve any questions that may arise.
What do you dislike?
We're still relatively new users with Trifacta and any headaches have been resolved pretty quickly so far so nothing to complain about at this time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We've had some large data sets that have taken hours to process with our old software. Trifacta has significantly decreased our processing time and actually pointed out a smarter and more efficient way complete the weekly process.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Trifacta is great and easy to use data wrangling tool, specially because it provides auto suggestion

  • October 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use and UI with suggestions. The drag and highlight feature on data to easy use Regex without using any code is quite amazing.
What do you dislike?
I am hearing the cost is too high and also want the tool to provide basics reporting and catalog as part of its offering.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data wrangling without writing complex code and for also business analyst who are not good in SQL
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try POC and its easy to use due to auto suggestion and great UI


    Filipe d.

Não sei como seria meu dia-a-dia com preparação de dados sem Trifacta. Provavelmente caótico.

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Os geradores de insights quando estou fazendo preparação de uma determinada coluna. Pagar apenas pelo volume processado é fantástico, isso me deixa tranquilo sabendo que sempre terei uma ferramenta disponível e só pagarei por aquilo que usar.
What do you dislike?
Não sei se é um problema de conexão ou hardware, mas para mim as vezes a ferramenta fica muito lenta ou acontecem erros inesperados em que a receita simplesmente não abre. Isso é apenas um comentário pontual, a ferramenta é ótima, mas as vezes acontece isso. Começarei a anotar alguns bugs e ações point click para fazer transpose principalmente.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Dados de sistemas de saúde que precisam conversas entre sistemas atuais e legados, preparação de grandes volumes de informação para formato wide. A facilidade em usar a ferramenta é incrível, em pouco tempo é possível atingir um nível que conseguirá atender a grande maioria das dificuldades em preparação de dados, os conteúdos de central de ajuda são excelentes, tanto os desenvolvidos pelo GCP quanto diretamente no site da Trifacta.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
É com certeza a primeira opção em preparação de dados.


    Zach E.

Close to great, but not quite there

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love being able to visually see my data and the interactions with it as I'm making changes/wrangling it into shape.
What do you dislike?
There are small things that really get to me when using the tool. One, when I copy recipes they don't always copy every step. So I have to double check them and then go back and fix the step. So only getting a half copy. Sometimes the tools doesn't behave the way I think it should when doing steps. I have used two different versions of the tool and when you aren't on the Trifacta hosted version you get fewer sampling options. You are going to want the stratified option when sampling. Also sampling, if you are working with a large data set you are going to have to sample A LOT. Get's very old quick.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using the tool to clean and join data from different systems.


    Thibaut G.

Visual, Powerful and User-Friendly with few limitations

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
No "Per User" pricing model makes it a scalable solution in complement or replacement of others solutions (ETL, prep tools, quality, scheduler,...)
Can be leveraged to onboard non savvy tech people to directly handle their data jobs
Excel-like UX makes it easy to learn (hard to master as well)
What do you dislike?
Some features are still missing and the product is still young to really rely on it for critical production Dataflows I would say. But recent versions are more and more moving toward that direction
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
More Data people can contribute to the delivery of Dataflows, accelerating the TTM
Used as an ETL on GCP for building our DWH/DMs. The devs and the modelisation phases can be performed by the same people, working for instance in a Feature Team.


    Alex H.

Exciting, Efficient and Easy.

  • September 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface and the ease of use are definitely the strong points as well as the time that is saved from the process of dataprep.
What do you dislike?
I can honestly say that there is nothing that I dislike, perhaps something that I have noted the change in interface on the flows tab is not as great as it was.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data manipulation and output are the main problems that Trifacta solve. Saving countless hours on making the data usable for our database.


    Cat V.

Nice tool for data processing, very potential with a lot to improve.

  • July 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use UI, many tools to use from Joining, Grouping, Union & Macro.

The fact that Dataprep get updated regularly make the users feel more confident, that the dataflow is being processing will last for a long time & they don't have to change tool soon.

The recently updated Macro feature is a great tool to simplify the flow & make it more accessible for other members of the team.
What do you dislike?
Processing time & loading time is the most disturbed cons. The errors sometimes are hard to understand & trace back. Recently Dataprep took me 5 minutes to load the main screen, and with some heavy recipes the waiting is like forever. Sometimes the recipe load to 99% and then freeze. The scheduled tasks can fail sometimes in the middle of the night without any warnings or option to retry.

Of all things, the loading & processing time is still the most frustrated thing. Imagine you plan to finish the task in 1 hours, and then it takes you 2 days to finish it, just because the loading is too damn slow & you can't merely do nothing but staring at the monitor & praying for it not fail. After a couple of recipes, you'll have to open Dataprep in a new tab or even clear cache of the browser if you want to continue your work, or risk suffering freezing dead loading screen.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Dataprep helps us prepare & format the data in schedule before calculating it with other tools. Before that, we use Google Sheet to both store & calculate data, it useful but can not handle large amount of data & the processing time is longer the more data we have.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a tool to help you arrange, format, do some simple calculation with your data & a simple, interactive UI then Dataprep is a good choice for you.


    Tanusha K.

Convenient and Efficient

  • July 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A very convenient platform for data wrangling. I love the detailed features available to fine-tune the data, like "remove leading and trailing white spaces / quotation marks", "split columns on delimiters", data joining (inner & outer) etc. that are not usually available on regular spreadsheets.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes transferring data can be a little difficult. The split columns on multiple delimiters did not work too well sometimes. It's not very easy to understand the flows that are created while dealing with several datasets.
While scrolling through the data, it can be a little tricky to get a good overview of the data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used Trifacta for school projects. It was quite easy to tweak a few complicated details of the data with this tool. The project was a regular data analytics project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The simplest to use data wrangling software I have come across. Do not hesitate to go for this one, in any case there is no downside to trying it out. I found it to be much more convenient for manipulating data than traditional products like MS Excel and Google Spreadsheets.