Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SQL Server 2017 Enterprise on Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 7.4

Amazon Web Services | 7.5b_HVM_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.4_HVM_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

267 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Information Services

RHEL - Excellent OS for Security based applications

  • April 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The security updates are frequent. The OS is very stable and efficiently handles scale. Application installs are pretty easy and quick. The support from the RedHat enterprise is quite good.
What do you dislike?
The cost is high. Documentation is lacking in some places. The upgrade is pretty complex. The GUI can be better
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Virtual machines that are deployed use RHEL. Some benefits are - ease of use and support
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Better documentation and forums (like stack exchange)


    Jayaprakash R.

Stable

  • February 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
stable operating system, very easy to repair,good customer support
What do you dislike?
mainly cost is high and not compatible with some hardware
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
running kubernetes and containers...running our applications top of it made easy


    Entertainment

It gives a developer more customizations

  • February 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy and provide great functionality for developers so they can develop great things easily at large scale
What do you dislike?
The user interface is something which disappointed me a lot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am developing web application on redhat version 7 it is very easy to deploy and test application on rhel linux


    Deepak N.

The gold standard for Enterprise Linux

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. The Upstream is the reference and gold standard for Enterprise Linux worldwide
2. Prompt technical support
3. State-of-the-art install and deploy services and frameworks
4. Openstack and various Cloud OS supports
5. Prompt action to CVE's and excellent support for security patches
What do you dislike?
1. Expensive to license
2. Expensive to maintain especially for large clusters
3. Very conservative approach to kernel and driver package upgrades and updates
4. Lags behind on many bleeding edge features due to older kernels
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Using RedHat as the reference Enterprise Linux distribution for clustering, deployment, system-roll-out
2. RedHat technical support ensures we are on top of the branch as far as security patches are concerned
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for RedHat with eyes closed! It's the true gold standard for Enterprise and Carrier grade Linux for large scale deployment and solutions.


    MD Quamrul H.

Secure OS

  • November 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat Data Services
Red Hat Virtualization
Red Hat Directory Server
Red Hat Certificate System
Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform
Any other software available as an RPM
What do you dislike?
I see it pretty often, people discussing Linux servers and people start hating on RPM-based Linux distributions like RHEL or CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I Have solved DNS issues. Our companies email are facing problems
Recommendations to others considering the product:
More GUI


    Kate B.

Our clients saved money on server/network infrastructure with RHEL

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The main goal of this platform is security and stability. Another benefit is the long life of the distributive. After you set up your environment, you can forget about upgrades and migrations for at least 5 or even 10 years.

The system is well documented, you can find system admin easily because this system is defacto standard here in the US.
What do you dislike?
Included repositories are not covered all use cases. To install some missing packages you forced to use a 3rd party repository, I hate it because it makes potential vulnerability.

Admin training and admin certification are pricey, I would say. Employers asked about RHEL certificates, which makes a headache for the admins.

I believe admin certification should be much cheaper, loyal certified admins will propagate RHEL to all businesses they are served.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a IT-support company we recommend RHEL to our clients for a wide range of tasks, mostly for standard business/office services such as an own email system, file share server, LDAP, Desktop OS.

RHEL support is a huge benefit to us because all customer issues can be directed to RH support service.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
So, RHEL very economically efficient choice.


    Mani G.

SIMPLE. STABLE. SECURE.

  • November 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Runs our high use servers flawlessly. Easy to repair. Stable OS. Releases security patches quickly.
Compatible with many third party applications.
What do you dislike?
Graphical Representation has to be more user friendly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Installation of various software and database servers. Used so many times for different POC. It's stable and secure, allow us to perform operations smoothly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for Simple, Secure and Best Performance OS then Go for RHEL without a single thought.


    Telecommunications

Short review of Redhat Enterprise Linux

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rhel is a pretty secure OS. It meets my needs for hosting almost any applications. Very stable and fast. Hardly crashes unlike windows systems .
What do you dislike?
You got be able to understand Linux else it would be hard. And also rhel is currently not free like centos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using rhel is great for databases, web hostings. Very stable and hardly and crashes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want good stable os, choose redhat


    Sachin M.

One of the best OS experiences!

  • July 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat Enterprise Linux gives a really great experience if one wants to work at the administrator level, controlling the operating system very closely. Many other operating systems provide great user experience but not many let you control them at the level that this operating system lets, at the administrator level, allows you configure so much.

One of the best thing is the support from the Red hat Community that you get, it compensates for so many other factors, one for example price.

If one wants to learn about the various OS features while being able to control so much of the OS, this is a great recommendation.

Kudos for Red Hat Community!
What do you dislike?
One thing that can be considered a dislike could be the price. Apart from the price, there are some softwares that it does not support. Linux is a kernel whereas Red Hat is a distribution of that Kernel, so the size is comparatively large and thus compatibility is an issue in some cases. But there are other factors which nullify all of this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have always had interest in Operating Systems and Linux kernels have always been better experiences for me than Windows OS or Mac OS having used both of them also.
Red Hat distribution provides much better security and salient networking features if I'm experimenting something, like network tunnels for example.

Being a programmer, it helps so much in understanding how the OS implements features and how operations are performed. Working with the help of Red Hat commands is a cherry on top, undoubtedly.


    hasnain h.

Easy to use & secure

  • March 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
well , its the Linux based distribution and most secure they have a free version as well if before going on the purchased version try free version
What do you dislike?
you need a resource to use this else its perfect
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
none .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would say there is no question about deciding the red hat enterprise