Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Netgate pfSense Plus Firewall/VPN/Router

Netgate | 22.05.1

Linux/Unix, FreeBSD pfSense-Plus-22.01/FreeBSD_12.3-STABLE - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

8 AWS reviews

External reviews

133 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Dancan N.

Best Open source Firewall Software

  • December 20, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Installation is easy, setting up various interfaces is easy, especially on the GUI, and rules are quite direct. Basically, its an all-around firewall that even newbies in the network security field can work with. The learning curve is easy.
What do you dislike?
am yet to know why DNS services have been failing to restart during reboot after an unplanned shutdown or after a power failure, which has been rampant in this small enterprise. But in all general, performance outweighs its cons
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's my basic routing software. My entire network security is built on it, packet segregation /traffic shaping is done there, setting VLANS, a captive portal for students' access


    Jaime C.

Mi experiencia es altamente grata. El software es muy estable, escalable.

  • December 01, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
La estabilidad y la cantidad de opciones que no requieren ningún tipo de pago por licenciamiento aportan muchísimo a las instituciones de educación y de investigación.
What do you dislike?
Solamente en una ocasión tuvimos un inconveniente con un upgrade, pero aparte de eso no hay mucho que objetar, el software opera realmente bien en todos los ámbitos en que yo lo he usado.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Firewall, NAT, VLAN, DHCP, DNS, OpenVPN, IPSEC, CARP. La gestión es muy fácil, los backups se pueden modificar y adaptar a otros esquemas de configuración cuando es necesario migrar. Opera casi sobre cualquier hardware y es el tuneo es fácil de hacer y hay mucha documentación.


    Oscar H.

Excellent firewall based on BDS, exceeds all my expectations

  • November 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Traffic shaper is very easy and useful, create vpn, nat is very simple for small offices or businesses.
What do you dislike?
Official hardware is complicated to acquire outside the USA, I recommend pfsense in México and the carebean for simplicity,
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In America Latina is a cheaper option whit all professional capabilities to try keep a secure network in educational and government environments because other solutions like CISCO or Fortinet are more expensive and require licenses. Psense is an excelent solution for installations in remote areas, is very easy to training personal to keep working the network.


    Computer Games

An exceptional option for home use/small business

  • November 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
pfSense is highly customizable and can be configured to meet a diverse set of needs.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the documentation or tool tips in different parts of the GUI is not the clearest.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
pfSense having built-in support for dynamic DNS with a variety of providers and support for Let's Encrypt has simplified a lot of my management for my home network.


    John L.

Rock-solid, Practically Perfect Performance; No other software is that good

  • November 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its reliability. I *never* worry about upgrades.
What do you dislike?
Resistance from third parties who insist on a totally commercial product like Sonicwall for something like an IPsec VPN. Maybe provide tested configs for users?
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It has helped me provide a couple of additional gateways in a thrice when needed. And without killing my already paltry budget.


    Markus W.

An easy to manage and scalable all-in-one solution for the network management of our Start-Up.

  • November 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
pfSense covers all our needs for OpenVPN Networks, Cert-Management, Firewalls, DNS-Resolver etc., in one solution. The GUI makes it much easier and less error-prone to configure complex services, such as firewalls or VPNs, compared to the pure Linux pendants (e.g., iptables).
What do you dislike?
A specific bug with the DHCP service (https://forum.netgate.com/topic/168172/dhclient-error-cannot-open-or-create-pidfile-no-such-file-or-directory/3) caused quite some trouble, but we finally found a solution in the Netgate forum. Our conclusion: The reliability of the free version is not at enterprise level (which was to expect), but the support is yet quite good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
pfSense allows us to have a cloud-only IT infrastructure based on distributed VMs located at different providers. The built-in VPN servers and firewalls completely encapsulate crucial internal services. Hence, we can have a super scalable, safe, yet highly cost-efficient IT setup thanks to pfSense.


    Fady A.

Excellent all-in-one network firewall

  • November 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mainly since my job nature I have to provide my customers with value-for-money solutions, pfsense helps me on that. pfsense is a complete all-in-one network security solution that offers great features at a lower cost compared to other solutions from Fortinet or Juniper.
What do you dislike?
I would recommend pfSense do a solution or SW release for cluster management for the customers that need to manage multiple networks from a single location.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For many things, the setup is easy and allows flexible architecture. the smooth operation due to the reliability of the software. and the high-security measurements of pfSense software.


    Sandor K.

pfSense review

  • November 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Give me all the functions what i need for free.
What do you dislike?
There is no such thing what i not like, all are good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Good firewall, manage inside networks and secure vpn from outside


    Johan K.

Been using pfSense for 10 years and still love it!

  • November 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple and yet powerful user interface where you can configure very granular things but still the user interface is as simple as a commercial of the shelf router
What do you dislike?
Some features are a bit hard to configure. I don't blame pfSense for it but rather my lack of knowledge.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It solves all my routing needs, even with a high-speed internet connection. I can setup VLANs, VPNs etc without having to pay for expensive licenses.


    Eidy E.

The best firewall solutions

  • November 09, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The pfsense is the most complete perimeter firewall solution that I have used so far. This firewall greatly facilitates the work of network administrators and computer security specialists. Pfsense has many useful network tools and services such as dns forwarder or resolver, dhcp server, ntp server, radius, etc.
Allows easy integration with LDAP and RADIUS servers.
PFsense has a very intuitive and easy to use administration web interface.
Managing vpns with openvpn is very comfortable for both servers and clients
What do you dislike?
pfsense still needs to improve a bit more on features like vpns with wireguard, export and imports wireguard vpns configs.
pfsense it should also include a reverse web proxy service for use in perimeter firewalls.
pfsense being based on freebsd should have the freebsd repositories active in order to install tools available from the freebsd software sources. example (pkg install mc)
pfsense should have terminals tools like nano, mc, byobu, htop, ncdu installed to make it easier to work from the terminal.
vpns such as softethervpn servers and clients should be included (https://www.softether.org/)

The qemu-guest-additions should be officially included for the use of pfsense over Proxmox-ve

should improve the way to revert changes from the terminal
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
pfSense the most stable, comfortable, safe and easy to use firewall that I have tested in my more than 10 years of experience working in networks.
the high availability of the service of my work is thanks to pfsense