Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Netgate pfSense Plus Firewall/VPN/Router

Netgate | 23.09.1

Linux/Unix, FreeBSD 14 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

9 AWS reviews

External reviews

313 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Oscar D.

Pfsense economicos para empresas pequeñas

  • March 15, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Son muy ecomincios por ser opensource para empresas que queran montar firewall.
What do you dislike about the product?
No tiene consola central para administrar varios PFSense, soporte solo en ingles.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Queriamos conectar dos oficnas usando openvpn


    Government Administration

Nice features, ease of use, good updates

  • March 10, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
They are committed to the project, and software is quite stable and efficient. Ease of use, number of features, ease of implementation and ease of integration are key points
What do you dislike about the product?
They dropped the free home/lab version support...
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
pppoe session to my ISP, better nat system and better dhcp support


    Monty C.

The perfect Prosumer router

  • March 03, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
My Netgate 6100 is fast, simple, and secure. It also has enough oomph to run any reasonable combination of a reverse proxy, an IPS, ad blockers, and has a pleasantly functional web UI. And it never breaks a sweat.

I expect it to be a great router for ten solid years. Probably longer.

It's the best investment you can make for solid home internet. Buy simple WAPs and update them every so often. Keep your router the same. It's perfect.
What do you dislike about the product?
The pfSense documentation could be a little better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I work efficiently and effortlessly whenever I need a new network service. I can even prototype public services with relative comfort, knowing that it tries very hard to keep the bad guys away.


    Christoffer L.

Wide set of features with easy disaster recovery

  • February 29, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
For us the pfsense makes the maintenance work of our external enpoints very easy to comprehend. We sadly had a crashing pfsens hardware but luckely we had a recent backup, we restored the backup to the new hardware and just like that we where up and running again. We where in contact with support to get a new firmware for another one and the support is fast and very informative.
What do you dislike about the product?
It can sometimes be hard to fine tune settings for very specific needs, but that most likely lack of competence on our side.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A competent loadbalancer for http traffic and wireguard VPN.


    Emmanuel G.

Great experience and great hardware

  • February 28, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The first upside of using pfSense is of course the ease of use, and the great interface. It may not be as complete as what Palo Alto offers for example but realistically, the price range is not the same.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have to say, I don't really like the firewall logs, I think there is room for improvements like for example pagination on live monitoring.
It would be awesome to see an application based firewall, even if it comes with a specific version of pfSense.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
pfSense permits me to have a VPN connection to my home network while I'm elsewhere and I need to get a specific file, or just want to browse the internet without ads. It also gives me the ability to open ports (for example for game servers with friends) and to do strict firewall rules.


    James E.

Enterprise & Small Business ready

  • February 28, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I have deployed 6100's in secure facilities and small businesses a like and im constantly impressed with the robustness not only of the software, but also the support model.
What do you dislike about the product?
A few lacking "features" to make administration on mass is a niggle, nothing major
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Multi Tenant buildings with fail over, CE+ secure networks for CNI and List X solutions


    Michael P.

Wide array of hardware with flexible software

  • February 28, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The pfSense software is widely-known and very flexible. There are considerable resources on the Internet, from books to videos. Good technical support from Netgate.
What do you dislike about the product?
I'm used to configuring routers and firewalls for my advanced home network. pfSense had a learning curve for me. It would be nice if there were a more intuitive visual interface where it's more obvious that firewall rules and DHCP servers are based on interfaces, and aliases are definitions that go into the rules and such.

Also, it should be much easier to analyze and reduce bufferbloat and other common connection nonidealities.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The Netgage 1541 provides more than enough throughput for my 1.6 Gbps Internet connection. It provides support for the isolated wireless networks in my house, and has two 10 Gbase-T connections for connecting to my primary switch.


    Peter S.

Best and only firewall used for our business and our clients

  • February 28, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Simplicity yet powerful tools to configure the Firewall. Intuitive.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometime the Firmware updates tend to brick the device
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The range of harware to fit the size of the buinsess.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to setup and understand. Lots of features.

  • February 27, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It has ALOT of the capabilities I am looking to deploy all in a single box.
What do you dislike about the product?
I am still having issues with multiple wireguard tunnels. Reverted to openvpn.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Multiple egress routes based on rules.
Vpn using MFA and certificates.


    Computer & Network Security

Satisfaction

  • February 27, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
My general confidence in its high security level (on the condition that its configuration is errorfre)
What do you dislike about the product?
1. Sometimes I experience uncertainty in how to interpretate and/or configure and understanding consequences of firewall configuration commands.
a. One example of my experience: I did create firewall commands for an OPT interface (on SG-1100, as well as on SG-2100), in order to setup Netgear WiFi Routers R6020 to the OPT Interface as their WAN. However, when I looked at Netgear router logs, there used to be an abundancy of log entries indicating DOS Attack. Therefore, I assume that I didn't manage to secure the OPT interface against incoming traffic from the Internet.
b. Another example that I do not understand: Log entries in pfSense (System, General) containing text "now monitoring attacks", quite a lot of entries.

2. Use of PHP in pfSense which, to my knowledge, is not a completely reliable web language, and often is subject to security vulnerabilities.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Secure Electronic communication from my home (Stationary computers, Laptops, Smart phones, WiFi AP and router (since a few days, no longer including Netgear WiFi routers having OPT as its WAN interface)