Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Netgate pfSense Plus Firewall/VPN/Router

Netgate | 23.09.1

Linux/Unix, FreeBSD 14 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

9 AWS reviews

External reviews

281 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Sergey P.

Great product with exceptional support

  • December 31, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- pfBlocker with advanced firewall features
- DNS resolver with Unbound
- advanced network segmentation (sorry, but we need something in addition for that)
- certificate management with LetsEncrypt and acme
- advanced HAproxy capabilities (we need secure access, right?)
- advanced IDP/IDS features, like suricata (although some argue about it usefulness, but better to try it first personally and then judge).
- squid. Everyone loves Squid.
- exceptional technical support
What do you dislike about the product?
traffic balancing and automated failover.
It's not that I don't like it, but I wish the installation was a little easier, let's take UDM pro as an example.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Tech infrastructure is no longer “not our business.” Needless to say, the cornerstone of any infrastructure is the gateway, preferably an enterprise-grade one. And "enterprise grade" doesn't mean we have to break the bank to get Aruba or Cisco for our home lab. Netgate with pfSense+ is an affordable enterprise alternative that allows you to experience most of the features required by demanding customers, asking for enhanced protection of their OCP/K8s clusters


    Computer Software

Great appliance with great support

  • December 01, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's a very efficient firewall and network management platform. I much better protected with this than with my ISP's router. Give me a lot more flexibility on how I want to segment my network. The TAC Lite support that comes with the appliance is great, the team is very fast to respond and resolve issues almost always on the first email.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's a bit complicated to setup but with some good research it's easy to find answers. There is a great community supporting it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Achieve proper security with the increasing number of smart wifi devices on networks. I want to keep my personal devices secure and make sure my smart home doesn't turn on me ;)


    Bikrant P.

Open source and can be managed easily

  • November 23, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Customer support and the product information in website
What do you dislike about the product?
Some packages are tough to run on 1 GB devices. Maybe some lighter version of package need to be developed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using 1100, for a 50 number of user it is managing my network effeciently


    Qamar B.

Robust hardware with state-of-the-art software

  • November 16, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Fast, reliable hardware with always up-to-date feature rich software.
What do you dislike about the product?
not widely promoted or available in my region (to be specific in Malaysia/South East Asia).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Over the years I have used various open source softwares with PC and Server hardware but was disappointed with difficult to learn software, not enough community support, lack of features and updates. Until I discovered Netgate pfsense by watching Tom's videos on Youtube (Lawrence Systems). I was influenced by Tom and how he reviewed the product, so I searched and found a local vendor selling the product.

I replaced my old hardware and software with Netgate 6100 appliance, I use it in a multi WAN enviornment supporting about 30+ users on LAN.

Netgate always provides timely updates and support is top notch.


    Sener A.

Great product, great support

  • November 09, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
As MSP, we rely on pfSense and Netgate in many scenarios. Of all the pfSense deployments we have, we are maybe 50-50 on the Netgate Hardware vs. our own phisical/virtual appliances. It is just so versatile and we can deploy it easily in any oocasion, on demand. Software and its capabilities is no doubt one of the biggest reasons we stick with it but Netgate's amazing support is definitely the reason we keep coming back. I don't think I had a ticket wait more than one hour for a response even for devices without valid support contracts. I also rarely need to exchange messages with the support more than twice per incident. I am truly amazed by their knowledge of the product(s) they are supporting.
What do you dislike about the product?
Centralized management and high availability could get tricky at times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Remote access. site to site connectivity


    Ron M.

Netgate Stands By Their Products

  • October 16, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best thing about pfSense is the support team. I am a small business and manage my own tech, and the willingness of the support team to communicate with and educate someone in my postion is noteworthy.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have not experienced any downside.It may seem overwhelming to a non tech end user but that is my fault not the product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There were three instances I can remember that Netgate customer service solved for me.

1.There were mulitple power outages and the multiple cylces stopped my 3100 from working and requried a highly technical work around that customer service walked me through and solved.

2. The unit was dropped and the plastic cover was damaged and I was shippped a new cover no charge.

3. I was setting up a port forward so that I could view my surveillence NVR on the road. My ISP was blocking all traffic and even though there were no issues with the 3100 Netgate support helped me find a work around.


    Higher Education

Solid Network Devices with Great Security and Pricing

  • October 12, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We're able to feel confident about the security and performance of our network. We know pfSense defaults to secure configuration and know exactly what we've configured.
What do you dislike about the product?
There is no central management at this time. While not a big lift for our team, we do have to deploy changes to 11 locations individually.

The lack of layer 7 filtering sometimes makes it challenging to block unwanted traffic, but PfBlocker does most of what we need.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're able to connect our locations securely and in a high performing fashion. We use Netgate pfSense as our firewall, router and DHCP server.


    Computer Software

Very powerful product!

  • October 10, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
pfSense is just chock-full of incredible features and the GUI interface makes it pretty easy to implement them.
What do you dislike about the product?
All of the power and features of pfSense may seem overwhelming for network-newbies, but there is a lot of documentation, community support, and other postings to help you discover best practices and methods.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We really needed some site-to-site VPNs and the WireGuard package is a great solution. We also needed much better control and protection than so-called business ISPs provide - and pfSense does that wonderfully!


    Ferucio C.

pfSense makes it easy to keep my network safe

  • October 04, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
pfSense has an easy to use graphical user interface and plenty of documentation which can be referenced directly from the GUI. For those that enjoy command line, pfSense provides a CLI that is easy to use and that provides access to the core OS and additional controls.
What do you dislike about the product?
If you like spending money on expensive solutions then pfSense isn't for you.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
pfSense keeps my network safe and secure. What else can I say?!


    David G.

10 years of pfSense Community Edition led me to buy NetGate hardware when the old hardware died

  • September 21, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The router and firewall software are absolutely top notch. I got a CCNA when it first came out and spent years with Cisco hardware and Microsoft software and thought I was dealing with the best, but a jerkoff tech kid I had to work with during a gig at IBM introduced me to pfSense Community Edition and I was instantly hooked. It's beyond comprehensive; it can do anything I'm called upon to do easily, and I'm confident it can do anything I can imagine doing. I'm not a network guy -- networking to me represents a 2-3 day chore at the beginning of a project where you slog and you Google and you tweak until sometime after 2 in the morning -- *ping* -- it starts working, you don't dare touch anything, and you get to start your job 3 days behind.

pfSense is the antithesis of that. Its documentation is fantastic, its support community unparalleled, and this time around when I replaced my hardware and just went with NetGate hardware it was even better. I had trouble getting it configured and their engineers quickly helped me isolate the problem (the ISP), very kindly helped me undo the hacked-together spoof-based solution I had come up with, and then helped me factory reset and configure the router correctly.

As I said, I'm no network guy -- but I know a lot of them, and I'm sure they'd agree. Go with pfSense.
What do you dislike about the product?
The only thing I can think of is the problem of "overchoice." The software is incredibly "plastic", which can be a good or bad thing -- if you're prone to address networking problems by just throwing switches and seeing what happens, well -- they give you one hell of a lot of switches.

But I for one appreciate it. They provide guides and wizards that work great, and if you go through the docs and read the community boards you never get the sense that their support group has lost interest in some aspect of their product and just hands you the rope to hang yourself with (my general experience with Microsoft, for example).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Basic road warrior VPN use, providing a safe way to protect a public server inside our network