Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

MongoDB Atlas for AWS

MongoDB | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

23 AWS reviews

    Alain R.

You can start quickly on projects which allow you to store many things

  • January 16, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Any business types where we need instructional data.
How has it helped my organization?
In a previous company where I worked, we were able to use MongoDB as a pure data storage using the block storage mechanism for our clients.
What is most valuable?
You can start quickly on projects which allow you to store many things.
What needs improvement?
I would like a more comprehensive dashboard. The UI can be difficult to understand.
Going forward, we would like to have pure AWS Cloud (native) storage instead regular storage on the AWS integration side.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is very good.
In my previous company, we had a lot of data coming in every day, and the product remained stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We have been able to scale from gigabytes to terabytes easily.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have never used technical support.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of MongoDB in the AWS environment is quite good.
What was our ROI?
In my previous company, the product allowed use to build a database in a highly regulated environment with the ability to get distributed storage. We used MongoDB as a distributed storage to set up this environment for a critical business application with millions of dollars.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
My advice is make developers understand NoSQL databases. For people coming from the SQL world, this is a new way to develop applications and that is the point to focus on. In the NoSQL world, MongoDB is a product that has a good awareness and has proven to be very good.
Our clients also evaluate Cassandra or other key value storage vendors. Its depends on what they want to do exactly. MongoDB is somewhere in the middle between pure key value and something like Cassandra, which is designed for bigger deployments.
MongoDB is fortunately well known now in the development community and has a good framework for languages, which is why our clients chose the product.
What other advice do I have?
We are always integrating this product with our business applications because it is a database. Without our applications, the product doesn't make sense. The integration is quite straightforward, because of the consistences within MongoDB, you can find where to connect it.


    Peter M.

It is nice because our developers create tables whenever they need to sync data

  • December 31, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for all of our temporary data, anything which is not warehoused.
It works with AWS Lamda and EC2.
How has it helped my organization?
It is nice because our developers create tables whenever they need to sync data. There are allocations nor DBAs. It is just use it as you need it.
What is most valuable?
* Autoscaling
* No overhead
* No maintenance
What needs improvement?
We had some bad trainers when we first came onboard and would rate them fairly low. They did not seem staffed properly to fulfill the training services that they offered.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is very stable. It has been running without issues.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We have about 2000 customers a day.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The pricing is good. We originally chose it over DynamoDB because of the pricing.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also looked at DynamoDB from Amazon. However, it didn't have the features that we wanted from MongoDB.
We chose MongoDB based on its pricing and features.
What other advice do I have?
I have been happy with the service. Everything is good. Though, nothing stands out to me as exceptional.
I would encourage someone to look at DynamoDB, even though I am fine with MongoDB. If you are in a fully integrated into the AWS environment, you might want to stick with Amazon Web Services rather than a third-party.


    SeniorDea71f

The integration went well and was lightweight

  • December 31, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It is one of the main database back-ends for one of our products in the company.
How has it helped my organization?
* It has a flexible integration with our easy API.
* It has a good, easy integration with other tools that we use for this product.
What is most valuable?
* Flexibility
* An easy API
* Its redundance: We have a cluster of three very solid instances, so its very reliable.
* The integration went well and was lightweight.
What needs improvement?
During the configuration, we did some migrations where we had to reindex about 70,000 indexes, which took around an hour. They should improve this and optimize the indexing.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We have good impressions of the stability.
We are good as far as the stress that we place on it. This is one part of the product that we are not worried about.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is good. We use a three instance cluster for this installation, and it works great. Therefore, we haven't had to touch it for awhile, which is good.
How was the initial setup?
Our backups required some configuration.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
I did not evaluate the product because I am on the operations side and the design was already done.
What other advice do I have?
Look at what MongoDB can do for you in terms of database back-end persistence. I would recommend to look at this first before you start looking at other solutions.
My company is interested in putting out products that are reliable for our customers, which we can monitor easily. We also want them to be easy to install and deploy, which is why I am happy with this one.
We are running this on an AWS instance.


    Gowri R.

Its most valuable features are high availability and zero maintenance

  • December 23, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

* High availability
* Resource recovery
How has it helped my organization?
It brought a lot of confidence to our team.
What is most valuable?
* High availability
* Zero maintenance, to double up things.
What needs improvement?
The cost needs improvement. The product is good, but the cost that we paid for it is expensive, so it wasn't that valuable.
For how long have I used the solution?
Less than one year.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The reliability is good.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It is reliable. We have a small environment right now.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment were easy and straightforward.
AWS works well with this application, but that is the only thing we have tested. We are happy with it.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace was easy and seamless. We chose the AWS Marketplace because it is a brand name and a popular product.
It is too expensive. They need to work on this.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
I also evaluated the open source version of this same product, but chose the AWS version for more reliability and enterprise support.
What other advice do I have?
I would recommend the product.


    Informatfadc

It was easy and quick to market in terms of getting the application deployed rapidly

  • December 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It drives a good portion of our client-facing software utilities.
What is most valuable?
* Scalability is its most valuable feature, as it is pretty simple.
* The maintenance is fairly easy.
* It was easy and quick to market in terms of getting the application deployed rapidly.
What needs improvement?
The cost needs improvement.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is fine.
How is customer service and technical support?
We use technical support quite frequently. The tech support experiences that I have heard anecdotally have been fine. I haven't heard about any issues of getting problems resolved.
We are mostly using technical support because of changes in deployments and learning how to configure new things. While a lot of the work is done in-house, it is more about extending the capabilities of our internal team.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Pricing could always be better.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
I am sure that they evaluated other products, but it's been in deployment since I have been with the company. Therefore, I don't know if they looked at other types of databases at that time.
What other advice do I have?
It is a great product. It works fine, so we recommend it. We are continuing to use and expand it.
Right now, MongoDB is deployed for a very specific use case. However, it is something that we always consider when we are looking to migrate away from traditional RDBMS, like Oracle and SQL Server, then MongoDB is on the top of that list. We see if it is capable of supporting the app as written.
I was not involved in the implementation or configuration.


    Engineerd5da

Our queries are quicker with it. It is also very easy to use.

  • December 16, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for hosting data on the cloud.
How has it helped my organization?
It enables us to get work done quickly and get to our data. It benefits us by providing performance.
What is most valuable?
* As a user, it is very easy to use. There is nothing complicated.
* We can write queries and go through it very quickly; our queries are quicker with it.
* Many tools are there. Other companies are providing many tools for getting to your MongoDB.
What needs improvement?
The import and export process needs improvement, i.e., getting in and out. Moving data from other databases into MongoDB, along with indexing, was challenging. However, it has been improving.
I would like them to make the product easier to use.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We are happy right now with stability unless something goes wrong down the line. In that case, you have to bite the bullet.
In terms of workloads, we put 60 to 80 percent on it.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
So far, so good. However, we have had issues with our VPC, and how we have stored on S3 and our instances that we have with MongoDB. We are learning as we are building more capacity.
Our environment is utility customers, which is millions of meters, and each one has their own instance. We obtain that data for every 15 minutes in a big city environment, which is why performance is very important.
How is customer service and technical support?
The technical support is good. We have received very good feedback.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration were pretty easy. We loved it. Otherwise, we would have changed databases.
What was our ROI?
We have definitely seen ROI.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The purchasing process through the AWS Marketplace was very good.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
I was involved later on in the evaluation process when we were looking to import and export data out of MongoDB. We looked at MySQL, but we wanted to be on the cloud instead of managing our data on MySQL.
What other advice do I have?
I would recommend it. It is better than the legacy databases, and it is very good with the cloud.


    Rogelio G.

It was easy to validate data, access data, make active run queries against it, and retrieve data from it

  • December 10, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I used it for testing.
How has it helped my organization?
It provided time saving for me. It provided an easy way to create validation against the database.
What is most valuable?
As a tester, it was easy to validate data, access data, make active run queries against it, and retrieve data from it.
What needs improvement?
The UI application for MongoDB crashes a lot, so we would have to use a third-party plugin to make it work. It may have been improved by now.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
Except for the UI's stability, the product's overall stability is fine.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is good.
How is customer service and technical support?
We did not use the technical support.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
Right now, I'm using DynamoDB, and I preferred using MongoDB more.
What other advice do I have?


    Darrell B.

It is a user-friendly and easy product to use

  • December 05, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for patient data.
How has it helped my organization?
Our databases used to be in-house. Now, they are in the cloud with MongoDB and everything is much easier.
What is most valuable?
The speed of it is the most valuable feature.
What needs improvement?
I would like a better dashboard. It could be made a bit more user friendly.
For how long have I used the solution?
Less than one year.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We put a large amount of stress on it, and it is able to handle this all the time.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It is very scalable. We have 10,000 employees.
How is customer service and technical support?
We receive great customer service.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Our purchasing experience on the AWS Marketplace was great. We chose to go through the AWS Marketplace as a small team; my team selected it, and we consist of three people.
The pricing and licensing is great.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also looked at Cassandra, but we did not find it easy to use.
This product was selected because it was easier to use and more user-friendly.
What other advice do I have?
I would recommend MongoDB.
The integration and configuration of the product on the AWS environment is fine.
We use the AWS version of this product.


    Bang goes the development with Atlas

Manage MongoDB like never before

  • May 23, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I started with MongoDB cloud manager which used to be called MMS in earlier days to manage MongoDB setup. I can make the difference between these two. The new Atlas is like million miles ahead of MMS. It has all the features I thought of using while started with MMS. Like installing MongoDB without knowing much of configuration. Folks from development background it is a humongous task. As I myself from development background I struggled a lot to do all these steps. Now it is a button click. The restore, backup think of anything of managing and administering Atlas has the answer. It looks so good that I can start development withing 100 minutes of starting Atlas. It shorten the time to start development in MongoDB almost by 80%. And with the free tier it is an irresistible offer for any new comer. I myself use the free tier to explore more every day. It made my job even easier as I can do all the experiment in free tier before pushing the changes in my production system. Thanks team MongoDB for this awesome job.


    s-okano

Now available in Tokyo Region

  • May 22, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

MongoDB service already set up according to best practices.
Since it became available in the Tokyo region, I think that it is necessary and sufficient for this service in most cases when you want to use MongoDB on AWS.