Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle 3.3 - Sandbox

Vidya Mantra Corporation | 3.3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.09.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

269 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Good Open Source LMS with Caveats

  • March 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Most basic features are out of the box, plug-in ecosystem is robust for most other features.
What do you dislike?
Data structures are bloated and counterintuitive making building custom plugins etc more confusing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed an open source lms with the ability to handle extensive custom business logic related to enrollments and eligibility. We’ve been able to solve our problems but the learning curve for some solutions has taken longer than would seem reasonable due to the sometimes chaotic nature of the data under the hood. Performance can be impacted by the extensive need to join tables for basic queries.


    Higher Education

Can be improved

  • January 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease in subject management, Topics divided in terms of weeks, Push notifications
What do you dislike?
Lacks interactive user interface and test taking capabilities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Evaluation of subjects in education


    Akhilesh A.

Moodle LMS review

  • December 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This one of the best LMS available.
Easy to use interface for both teacher and students.
Ypu can take quize and submit assignments very easily.
What do you dislike?
Only 2GB space is available which is not sufficient for a class size greater than 60 students.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Taking quiz and keeping track of students. Also sharing notes content and video lecture through moodle.


    Abir M.

Decent functionality. Looks crude and unrefined.

  • December 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's free and most features and integrations with learning systems are available. This includes Mylab, cengage etc. Grades sync.
What do you dislike?
The interface seems to be from the 90s. It can be a pain sometimes to ensure grades sync from different platforms and may require manual adjustments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To ensure uniform delivery of hybrid courses to all students, even those who choose to not come to class at all.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just be familiar with your it support team


    Aparna M.

One of the best open source Learning Management System to use.

  • November 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use Moodle to conduct quizzes and also assignment submissions for students. The most important thing about Moodle is that it is open source. Community Support is available when there is any problem I faced.
What do you dislike?
The first time Moodle looks difficult to use. also sometimes response time is more. The graphical user interface is also not that much attractive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Due to this pandemic situation, it is very difficult for the trainer to conduct exams, assignments, and quizzes. Due to Moodle, I am able to give assignments to my students. They are also able to give quizzes.


    Kelly V.

Moodle is Meh

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a great idea for a platform and it's better than Blackboard, but tech companies really need to invest more into distance-learning programs, especially now.
What do you dislike?
Moodle isn't intuitive and "ease of use" is almost non-existent. Moodle updates sometimes, but hasn't ever updated to make the program more user-friendly and more friendly to the eye- at least not since the last time I've logged in.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle is "just fine" when it comes to filling the need of a platform for distance learning. Nothing more; nothing less.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is better than Blackboard, but there is a real need for a "great" distance-learning program that Moodle just does not fill.


    Tigran P.

Moodle review

  • November 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a wonderful place where students could see their syllabus and homework, literature, have discussions, ask professors various questions via forums and direct messaging and get answers. Also it shows the deadlines of your homework and group projects which is very important for me. Last but not least you can view your grades via Moodle and see what other subjects are presented by your faculty.
What do you dislike?
The interface is not very user-friendly. You must spend a lot of time(2-3) months to understand all basic features of Moodle. Also very often Moodle is not working due to technical problems so it is not a very reliable. Other than that I do not have any major issues while using Moodle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows your to have a better learning experience.


    Carla M.

Moodle is a great tool if you are patient and get the hang of it

  • November 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like its flexibility and compatibility with other softwares and platforms. I really like that it allows to add extensions too.
What do you dislike?
The user interface is not intuitive. If you have not used the platform before it can be overwhelming because you don´t find the options to edit easily.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have implemented an online campus for our school. We can upload content easily, and create tests for evaluation. It is a good solution for the Education industry, particularly for schools that are creating many courses in a short period of time.


    Amal A.

Good platform but could be improved

  • October 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is a good online learning platform. At our organization we use Moodle for various online courses, we do not have a limit for how many courses we can design and publish on Moodle. There are also no limits on the number of course instructors, students that can be added to the system. The platform supports languages e.g. Arabic, Russian, Persian which is useful as we run programs globally.
What do you dislike?
Moodle interface is outdated, there are better learning platforms that offer a friendly user experience e.g. Google classrooms. Adding participants into a course is cumbersome. One cannot easily replicate the course. Moodle mobile application sometimes lags, we often advise students to use the desktop version for better engagement.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To connect students across the globe, to allow them to learn a new skill at their own pace anywhere in the world.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would say consider other options in the market because Moodle can be expensive. The platform is not user-friendly, we did spend a lot of time with on-boarding staff and students to use Moodle. The performance analytics provided for each user lacking metrics. Few things that are good about moodle: language interface courses can be designed in any language. The course can be set-up as a self-paced which is a key for students who are busy with other responsibilities. Moodle also supports content in formats such as social media, links, PowerPoint presentations, PDF/word. Students in the course can have easy access to the system administrator for troubleshooting purposes when needed.


    Higher Education

The Best LMS in the World - DEFINITELY!

  • August 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like every single option that Moodle offers. The stability of the system is amazing. Everything is top notch, there are literally no Bugs at all, even myself as a Advanced user, I have never ever encountered a Bug. Kudos to the QA team of Moodle :)
What do you dislike?
It takes some time to fully incorporate ideas, and maybe the UX is a bit off. I kinda liked the old Moodle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Every single type. Educational, Training, ...

Also, I did managed to implement the first fully implemented Moodle system in a country!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is the best LMS available. I highly recommend it, especially now with the COVID-19 outbreak.