Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle 3.3 - Sandbox

Vidya Mantra | 3.3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.09.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

292 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Roger M.

Moodle for Business

  • June 18, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle has a wide range of functionality providing SCORM compliance, quizzes, completion data, badges, lessons, books etc etc. It is relatively easy to install and has an active support forum.

The platform is robust and mature with some excellent plugins including Office365 authentication, instructor led class bookings, a powerful database builder with notifications (used for online custom course bookings) and a rich custom SQL reporting tool.

Once you know your way around the administration tools the Learning Management System is quick to maintain and quite easy to extend with a little custom PHP or MySQL databases using Dreamweaver and Navicat.
What do you dislike?
Despite the Report plugin reporting can be tricky and the underlying database is not documented very well with the database schema complex and hard to follow.

The software developers release updates very often, almost once a month it seems and you have to keep it current otherwise you can run into problems when upgrading over a few versions (and you cannot let the installed version grow too stale without running into browser compatibility issues and security problems).

Although Moodle has lots of themes and plugins available, many of them cause problems when not supported in updated versions of Moodle so its not worth using them with a PHO developer to hand.

It can be hard to get away from slightly cheesy Moodle look with extensive CSS code and tweaking.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Whilst Moodle is aimed at educational use, it is a very good LMS for business applications. I have deployed it to:

Securely authenticate users to Instructor led course pages with PDF manuals for download and certificates available for each course (e.g. Word Excel etc) and well as provide an interface to a course schedule database.

Provide SCROM training needs analysis e-learning and content for end users.

Deploy public e-learning to a secure group of client users authenticated by email domain suffix with certification exams and certificates all essentially automated.

Host internal staff e-learning and content for both technical and soft skill training.

Offer a dedicated staff candidate portal with competency tests from pools of questions, CV upload and interviewee notes on each candidate.

The essential business problem is how to provide online content securely with interactions that can be tracked. The Moodle benefits are flexibility, relatively low costs, ease of use, rich support forum and wide user base. The aspect to bear in mind is that PHP/MYSQL developers can be sourced and assist with custom development if needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
1. Determine what reporting you need, what are the KPI's and groups of users to be reported on.
2. If you will self host you will need basic html, web server, MySQL and PHP skills, not too advanced but a little.
3. TSOhost.co.uk provide very good cheap hosting for Moodle sites, and have great support but you need no. 2.
4. Don't get too carried away with custom themes, often they are buggy and are not supported with upgrades.
5. Think through how you be authenticating users, how will they sign up?
6. Be wary of allowing just anyone to create accounts.
7. For public sites plan on frequent upgrading for security, so limit PHP customisations to avoid future bugs.
8. Others may disagree but the best and most robust platform is Linux, Apache, MySQL and PHP.
9. Whilst the Moodle Books and Lessons are ok for e-learning they lack interactivity and can look unprofessional.
10. Use Captivate or Storyline to author content rich trackable SCORM e-learning on Moodle course pages.


    Marit B.

I use Moddle for my college courses.

  • June 18, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Integration with Turnitin to check for plagiarism, ability to grade papers online, ease of setting up organization of main page into different weeks, themes, etc. and uploading documents, creating links, and other assignments. Gradebook is a nice feature, although it is a bit clunky. I also email students regularly using Mod\odle.
What do you dislike?
I really like being able to post grades online, but the Gradebook is a bit clunky at times. I can't always see the entire page: if there are several columns and rows it is hard to move around on the page because the scroll bars do not remain on the screen view.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a college professor, so my only use is for educational purposes. I can post lecture notes, assignments, quizzes, etc., organize course material into weeks or themes, and make grades visible to students. Email feature is nice for sending announcements, updates, etc. Integration with plagiarism software is a great, as is the online grading. Saves me from carrying papers around. Students can easily check their grades, upload assignments and papers, and get copies of lecture notes or assignments if they missed class.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have only used Moodle for course management software, so I am unsure of its applications outside of education. If you are in education, I have found it very useful, but users definitely need a workshop, tutorial, and regular support because it is not entirely intuitive.


    Angela L.

Easy to use, even for young children.

  • June 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It was easy to use as a student. aThe site was easy to navigate.
What do you dislike?
There are many times where I have experienced crashes and was unable to submit assignments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used this program for school. Teachers were able to upload class material and we would be able to view it at home.


    Connor D.

Moodle review for student use

  • June 17, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it keeps all my classes organized through a paperless online platform. I enjoy being able to take quizzes through this model because there is more customizability and often allows you to back track, where other sources don't. I like how teachers can use it to post grades, assignments, etc.
What do you dislike?
I don't like the look of it and the ease of use is more challenging than other platforms. Overall it doesn't look as clean as it could.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
They are solving the problem of teacher/student interaction and assignment competition. The site helps for efficiency and paperless work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Recommend for school use.


    Lina T.

Simple and Easy to Use Platform for Grades and Documents

  • June 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best about moodle is how simple the page is. Everything comes from the one homepage and one can basically navigate the whole entire page from there. Also, submission of assignments are made really easily. Discussion boards are also really easy to use.
What do you dislike?
I do not like how sometimes, certain pages do not show up or is hard to find. In addition to that, moodle does not erase any old materials from other classes, which will eventually make the home page really cluttered.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting students and their educators. Some benefits I have seen is easy assess to documents and easy sharing as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My recommendation for anyone who is considering moodle to make sure the page is organized so that students will know how to navigate through it and find certain things.


    Tracey L.

Moodle Review

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how Moodle separates everything by date. With that, I'm able to easily look up information that my professors have uploaded. Another thing I like about Moodle is the fact that everything is essentially on one page. I don't have to click into folders and then click the back button. I can open all the tabs and have all the information in front of me in one page.
What do you dislike?
I don't like the way grades are displayed on Moodle. I think it's quite confusing to read. I don't know if the grade display is different across the board and dependent on the professor. However, from my past experience with Moodle, I hardly ever checked my grade because I always found it too difficult to read. I think there could be some revisions there.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Moodle as a student. The biggest benefit is being able to have access to all the materials needed for my classes. It's nice to have everything uploaded to one site. In addition to that, I take a lot of quizzes through Moodle. I think they have a fairly convenient and simple format in terms of taking tests. I never have to worry about Moodle freezing or clicking the wrong button to exit out of my quiz. With that reassurance, I can place my trust in Moodle while taking a quiz that might be crucial component to my grade.


    Edward S.

Very Helpful

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how helpful this site is in organizing the my classes for me.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how the website lists all of the weeks of the class and assignments in one super long list all on the same home page. It makes it super annoying to find a week later in the course because you have to scroll through so much.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I solve all sorts of business problems. Like grading my students assignments. This site gives me great benefits to help in grading my students assignments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Probably one of the better education software out there.


    Athreya A.

Handy and useful school organizer

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy using moodle because it is a very useful and handy tool to organize my college courses and provides me with a easy to use dashboard with several useful links, such as links to my grades, course materials, and even emailing professors.
What do you dislike?
I do not like how many classes are not integrated with moodle, it would be much easier if every class was integrated with the same system. I also do not like how sometimes the individual class pages can get a little cluttered in terms of design.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving how to properly use a centralized system to have all college classes' information accessible and in one place.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a useful tool and although it could be better, it definitely does its job.


    Alex D.

School LMS

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the organization of the page. Everything is easily accessible and it is easy to navigate.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing really negative about the program. This is something that is widely used on my campus and I have really not heard of a single complaint.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used this in school and it allows me to check grades, assignments, and deadlines.


    Education Management

I am a high school classroom teacher using Moodle on a regular basis.

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There are very few platforms that address assessment fully. Moodle is an excellent choice for teachers looking to assess teaching and learning through a web based platform.
What do you dislike?
Moodle is visually very stark and basic. Students do not find the environment very pleasing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Moodle as a means to assess my high school students' learning. Highly customizable and feature rich.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is perfect for schools with one-to-one platforms when using devices for assessment in the classroom. Teachers are able to design and deploy assessments in a very secure environment.