Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc | 3900.41.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

6 AWS reviews

External reviews

774 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alanna B.

Gets the job done, but can be tricky to navigate

  • May 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it gives you one place to view all your classes (as a student or teacher). It also allows you to create folders by week (or by any other criteria) where you can upload reading assignments, assignment upload locations, and quizzes which are taken within the website.
What do you dislike?
It is not always easy to navigate. There is a sidebar on the left that should have all the tabs a student needs. Because there is so much there, and teachers put things in a different order, students may not be able to find everything they need.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Blackboard allows me as a student to complete my online coursework. It also shows what grades I have gotten on things and what my total grade is for each class. This makes it easy for me to stay on track and perform well in school.


    Education Management

Easy to navigate

  • May 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Has an icon to assist in case you need help or have questions about something
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it's under maintenance during a time I need to use it
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helps me complete course work and check grades
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to manage


    Rebecca B.

New update, changed setup.

  • May 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has always been easy to access and find what is needed with the previous setup of courses and folders. I additionally like how an email is sent when documents are uploaded.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the new update. It is confusing and in my opinion, unnecessary as it does not add to functionality but rather to its aesthetic. I additionally dislike the setup for individuals to edit one document together. It is glitchy and does not work well. I would much rather use google documents as everybody can see which individual is typing and there is no concern of losing information.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problem of turning in assignments and having access to information for my synchronous and asynchronous classes during this pandemic. I have realized the benefits as I go through graduate school and need to use this site not only for my courses, to submit group presentations and collaborate with others.


    Summer S.

New layout is much easier to use

  • April 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Since the last update, it is much easier to use. Adding details, announcements, and assignments to the classes is so much easier and streamlined. Now it is much more user-friendly.
What do you dislike?
It took a little bit to figure out all the changes and updates, but that's the way with pretty much any new update.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is It is keeping everything together for each class and making sure to contact students in one place, which is helpful. This makes it easier to know where everything is and not have to search multiple places or wonder where something is.


    E-Learning

Blackboard Learn Review!

  • April 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The courses can be organized accordingly, the layout is very easy to understand. Everything you need from your account, to courses, to your grades, and more is on tab on the left where it's easy to access.
What do you dislike?
For the 3 years I've been using Blackboard Learn, I haven't had any issues that were blackboard's fault. The issue I had was when my own wifi would cut out but other than that it's amazing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use it to manage my classes. The benefits is that everything you need for your courses in college is there.


    Candace C.

Blackboard as an Adjunct

  • March 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard makes it easy for me to post articles and communicate with my students.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes banner can freeze up on you but other than that I enjoy the software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
communication with students. Articles that are used for discussion that I dont have to print out and they are available for students to view at any time.


    Hans M.

Better course managers out there, but Blackboard dominates the market

  • February 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It allows me to have all my assignments and materials in one place. It's easy to offer feedback to students and organize my responses to them. I also use the announcements function to communicate with them. All those communications are saved on the page so it's easy to refer back to them and know what I've told them.
I also like that several other apps integrate well with Blackboard. I use VoiceThread and Panopto a lot for presentations. I'm learning how to add GoReact and Top Hat to my pages as well.
What do you dislike?
The interface is not good. I wish I could drag and drop files to the page to insert them instead of finding them on my computer and using the uploader. I wonder if the interface problems also deter students from taking full advantage of the site. Even though it's simple, I have to remind them every semester of how to upload their assignments and where to find my feedback.
The gradebook can also be clunky. I wish it was easier to add a grade for assignments don't have to submit anything, such as attendance or offline quizzes.
I like the quiz function, but I wish it had more features and looked better, similar to what I can do in Kahoot.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The biggest problem I solve is organization. I would inevitably misplace an assignment or quiz when students turned them in on paper or via email. The gradebook also solves a problem for me of keeping all scores together and easily letting me and the students know how they are doing.
I'm trying to do even more with Blackboard to solve problems of encouraging students to use video and audio to tell stories, but I still need some work.
However, VoiceThread has been a good solution to continuing to assign class presentations even though we are meeting remotely now.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It has a bit of a learning curve, so take some time to play around with it before implementing it in a class or with an organization. Don't be afraid to try some of the more interactive functions, such as assignments and quizzes. They really make Blackboard the most useful. If you know a little bit of HTML, you can also make your pages look really interesting and engaging.


    Education Management

Using Journal Feature on Bb

  • December 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There are many positive features of Bb like Gradebook and posting documents allowing easy student accessibility, but just recently, I have begun using a feature that has really enhanced student learning: journals.

In contrast to Discussion Boards which are public--and that students complain about, students actually enjoyed doing the journals where in my case, they commented on each chapter of the books they read. It was easy for me to reply and they loved getting all the feedback (privately). When it came time to grade the journal entries as a totality, I was able to review all of them in one place, easily and expeditiously.

Furthermore, with information communicated in this mode, it lent itself to a low stakes environment, where I did not feel compelled to correct their grammar (rather only conceptual errors). I also was surprised by the quality of the content and its variety. Students seemed to really enjoy having what was an informal , private dialog with me (their professor); many specifically mentioned how much they looked forward to my comments on what they said. It probably also helped that I didn't grade each individual entry, but only did so periodically.
What do you dislike?
It makes me crazy that when I pull up Bb, I can't set the default to match the number of students in the class, but rather each time, I have to adjust the number of rows visible for entering grades.

I also don't like how sometimes the left side menu bar disappears, and then I have to move the cursor around to find the arrow to show the toggle it so that the menu bar is visible again. It's really frustrating and wastes time.

Finally, the formatting when I post documents is really crazy. The spacing that I see on screen is often very different from what it looks like when I press submit. So I often will post both the document so students can easily see it, AND post it as an attached document.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Now that we have switched to having many hybrid courses, I love using the journal feature to give students frequent feedback. So it helps solve the problem of reduced in-person contact with students.

One of the benefits realized is that I feel like with the journals, I get to know students better, with conversational dialog, but based on course material.


    Higher Education

Blackboard review

  • December 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard's easy integration with Zoom! Students had no problem easily navigating to the links for our meetings.

The Communication feature is so helpful for sending out announcements to the whole class! I cannot imagine teaching without this, in online, Zoom, OR in-person modalities.

Some people complain about the layout's not being intuitive, but I do think it is extremely easy to use! I also love the ability to weight grades by creating categories for different assignments--I tend to use "low-stakes" assignments that, combined, comprise 50% of the grade, with perhaps three "high-stakes" assignments comprising the other 50%. Setting this up right at the beginning of the semester is easy (though I always have to review Blackboard tutorials to remember how to do it--it's not intuitive to FIND, necessarily). It's also crucial to remember, then, to change assignment categories when they are created: if you are using the "low-stakes" and "high-stakes" categories, you have to be careful because a journal assignment will automatically be created as "Journal" while a SafeAssign post will always be called an "Assignment"--mathematically, this can wreak havoc on scores unless you are very mindful of changing the categories to correspond with what you've created at the beginning of the course.
What do you dislike?
The Groups feature is so much more complicated than it needs to be. I worked extensively with tutorials as well as my tech support team to implement this in Fall 2020 to no avail.

The home page is pretty lousy. It doesn't at all give students any kind of incentive to interact--I hear much better things about Blackboard's competitor, Canva, and wish my school would subscribe to it! I wish I could somehow copy journal and discussion board prompts from one class to another: it is so much extra work to edit these posts then copy/paste them into the current class.

I wish weekly folders came pre-populated--it makes sense for every single class and would truly take away a TON of student questions about organization if Blackboard had this kind of consistency in every department and every academic discipline across the College.

At the end of the semester, I suddenly could not create any announcements or posts--and then I realized that, for some reason, the "Edit" button was toggled to "off." This must have happened automatically when classes had ended, but since most instructors continue to use Blackboard's announcement feature to communicate with students during finals week, this could be confusing with a less experienced user.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Minimize the paper load; easier to grade assignments online! This has been crucial with remote learning! Students can "talk" to each other, do peer reviews/editing, and debate/discuss on the discussion boards. I use the journals for almost everything else, such as midterm self-evaluations, final grade proposals, and quick formative assessment. I do really appreciate the archiving of previous classes taught and the ability to easily copy assignments from one semester to the next! I feel very lucky that I had already familiarized myself with Blackboard and its features prior to the pandemic: my colleagues who never used it were truly scrambling to have a way to organize content and communicate with students, but mine had a fairly seamless adjustment!


    Higher Education

Easy to use, very organized

  • November 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How organized each sections are. The availability to post content and keep it hidden till needed. Also copy and pasting content.
What do you dislike?
I don’t dislike anything about Blackboard Learn
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Viewing grades, discussion boards, and everything needed for a class in one place