Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc | 3900.13.0 SaaS

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

738 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Josh H.

I hate Blackboard.

  • March 01, 2014
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The platform provided the ability to display work and collaborate with others.
What do you dislike?
Everything. The platform is extremely slow and seemed to always be glitching. It is very outdated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was solving the issues of collaboration on assignments needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stay away.


    Stefan B.

The underlying engine of our university Toledo CMS for education

  • February 26, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is quite complete and makes the setup and sharing of course material accessible for all users, regardless of their technical ability level.
We actually have a hybrid version, called Toledo, with parts native Blackboard functionality and partly custom extensions developed by our university IT team. Hard to tell which is which, from a users point of view.
There finally is a mobile client, but it is not supporting the custom extensions from our university.
What do you dislike?
It is cumbersome to use. It seems like a product from the '90s and takes too much effort, even for trivial tasks.
The interface has improved a bit with recent updates, but it is still complicated to use.
Many common tasks are actually implemented better in other systems: e.g. we use an external blogging and forum platform (Buddypress on Wordpress). File uploads are possible, but to see student results, we have to download them all first. No user-extensions or scripting possible/allowed (e.g. alternative views, custom queries, to set up own views on the system).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All our university courses are organised with it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It can do a lot, but many core features are implemented better in other systems.


    Sara Rose H.

Never again Blackboard

  • February 01, 2014
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really didn't like much about using blackboard. I understand what they are trying to do... but it could be done so much better.
What do you dislike?
I fumbled many assignments while using blackboard. Things you thought you uploaded, but crashed. Discussion posts that never posted. Overall it was a terrible tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No problems were solved for me when using blackboard, only created.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering using blackboard in your classroom... don't.


    Marketing and Advertising

Great tool for engaging classrooms

  • November 21, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I think that blackboard is an important and incredible tool for schools and students. It makes it easy for professors to engage and provide additional information to their classes. It is also an incredible way for students to stay up to date on their success in the classroom.
What do you dislike?
I think that sometimes it would get overloaded and not be able to manage the volume of people accessing the site. It would also choose inopportune times to do maintenance
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Access to information
- Engaging discourse
- Mass messaging


    Hillary G.

Pretty easy to navigate, easy to view PDF files.

  • November 20, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can actually access my classes at any time. Actually now that I have graduated college I still can go back and review certain materials.
What do you dislike?
I would like to throw all my old classes in one folder to organize past classes vs, current classes. Or have my favorites list.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was able to turn in assignments for classes, I think it is a great way to deliver files to teachers and even communicate with other people.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep updating this!


    User in Internet

Decent but has a learning curve and UI can be more modern

  • November 20, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Allows me to find the material and content, including having nested folders so that I know where to look. I especially like that there can be links to additional content and forum; the forum allows for discussion and adds some relevent dynamic content.
What do you dislike?
Trying to re-organize/bookmark my material would be nice, especially if I look at certain content more often than others.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This was a good way to organize educational content, which had clear separation of different modules and lessons.


    Brittany H.

Always improving, but often buggy

  • October 01, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a great way to manage a multitude of interactions between students and instructors. It's a place to do everything from upload assignments, take exams, and have discussions.
What do you dislike?
They do have a lot of bugs, followed by downtime to update the system, but they do eventually get rid of bugs, you just have to be patient and pay attention to scheduled maintenance times.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's been around for a while, and it's likely to be around longer. I expect the future to be held of improvements, so if you aren't comfortable with it now, give it a year.


    Jonathan P.

Growing and Ingenious

  • October 01, 2013
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is great to have on your mobile device because you will receive notifications when a professor updates, adds, or changes something on Blackboard. I absolutely love the new Blackboard system my University has implemented because I can track my grades, see assignments, view announcements, communicate with fellow classmates, and do quizzes or tests online. Some quizzes and tests can be times and monitored by the professor which limits the amount of cheating. It is a great advancement in online teaching and is a great tool for classrooms. I love the discussion board because communication can be made on particular events or projects. It is a wonderful program and I hope it only gets better.
What do you dislike?
Many of my professors say they enjoy it, but because it is still a bit new to our University, they have trouble getting used to navigating through how to upload particular files, tests, figures, discussions, etc. I honestly believe they haven't messed with it long enough to fully understand its capabilities. I also don't like that every time I leave a wi-fi spot I get logged out from my blackboard. It is on my mobile device so it shouldn't log you out or give you the option to stay logged in.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I wish classes for these professors or sessions on how to use blackboard would be available because it would make classes advance technology-wise, and enhance the participation of students because of the technology aspect. That being said, I would talk to others who know how to use Blackboard to see what students can do with it, and how to view or save files posted by professors.


    Bobby H.

Back in the day it was the best

  • July 18, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It allowed me to aggregate all my classes into one easy to use software management tool. Had grades, task, and could even submit papers
What do you dislike?
Had a tendency to crash and be buggy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try, still works well


    Charysse S.

A good choice for schools

  • July 04, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard is a solid course management product. It contains many features (more than you'll actually use) and it's easy to find grades and access assignments and documents.
What do you dislike?
The site can be a bit clunky and not all that intuitive to a novice user. Making the course accessible to your students had a series of steps I would never have thought of. For a system so widely used, it requires quite a bit of maintenance and down time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When it works, it's fine. Otherwise it can be frustratingly buggy. You might want to try Desire To Learn (D2L). Fewer crashes and slightly more intuitive.