Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.6.1 on Ubuntu (Jan 2019)

Esri | 10.6.1 (Patched Jan 2019)

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04.4 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

414 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Arron D.

Great professional choice

  • July 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it has a lot of capabilities and tools to get whatever job you need to get done. Support is awesome.
What do you dislike?
There is a bit of a learning curve like all software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solving metro transit among various municipalities using the software to display data.


    Utilities

A program with continuous learning

  • July 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can do so many things in ArcGIS. There are tons of options on how to do anything.
What do you dislike?
I would maybe like ArcGIS to make suggestions if it appears that you're doing something one way and there may be a better option.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Esri ArcGIS is a perfect program for keeping customers safe when it comes to public utilities. You can map your utilities.


    Nikolay G.

The most common GIS system

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a de-facto standard where you're working with spatial data in most companies.
Pros:
ArcGIS is everywhere, in private and government organizations. If somebody talking about GIS, it's most likely about ArcGIS. If you're experienced with ArcGIS it will be easy to learn how to use any other GIS system. The data formats like shapefiles, commonly used with ArcGIS are de-facto industry standards, that are supported by other GIS software. ArcGIS is one of the oldest systems in the market, so it sets the overall trend of how the GIS industry.
As for my personal experiences, I like ArcGIS it's easy to learn, easy to create great maps, and analyze spatial data. I think that the digitizing editor is easy to use, especially when you need to georeference the raster images, and it's better than in competing software.
You can easily automate your data transformation workflows without the need to learn the coding, using the built-in model builder. If you're willing to learn Python, you can automate even more complex workflows using the powerful built-in Python API, accessible right from the user interface.
What do you dislike?
ArcGIS needs lots of resources, so you need to have a modern computer with enough RAM to be able to use the software effectively. Right now, ESRI in transition between the old 10.x lineup of the ArcGIS ecosystem, to the new ArcGIS Pro. 10.x is almost deprecated when the Pro sometimes still lasks the important features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm mostly using ArcGIS to support geographical research at our university. We use ArcGIS as effective digitizing tool to create new spatial data. Almost all the printable maps that we use in our department were created using the ArcGIS.


    Ahmed N.

ArcGIS Desktop, A Powerful Tool for the Science of Where

  • June 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User Friendly, Powerful, Analysis, Customization, Geoprocessing, Databases, GDB Replication
What do you dislike?
some unexplained crashes and need lots of HW resources
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
working for the NSDI (National Spatial Data Infrastructure) it is the most used SW by the vast majority of our SHs,
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Requires Proper Training, Defining Career Baths affects the way the user uses ArcGIS Familyship.


    Market Research

Best tool for mapping and analytics

  • June 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Scalability for extra capability and Solid geoprocessing framework.
What do you dislike?
Cost is little bit expensive as comparison
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Develop custom application to use Full set of editing and topology tools and ArcGIS Online for mobile apps and webmaps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best tool for analytics


    robert h.

Esri GIS Review by Bob

  • June 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the ability to make quality and accurate maps displaying vital project and site information. the ability to share information, layers, shapefiles, etc. as well as the ever expanding and endless possibilities for analysis
What do you dislike?
still learning how it all works, the numerous ways to manipulate and input data, and the kind of "coding" language of the analysis
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
analysis and planning of community utilities
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The power and depth of the esri and gis software seems endless, however it can be time consuming and cumbersome as you learn how to make the software manipulate and show the data the way you would like to see it.


    Charles T.

SO disapointend.

  • February 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User interface and user friendly... when it works!
What do you dislike?
We buy for more than 13000$ for Esri products. 2 months and more than tweny hours spend to install those, with some help with the support service, i have a long list of trouble.
Very disappointed. Think about it before you buy those
products. I have a strange feeling of being tricked.
the service is incredibly deficient
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can't because i can't use my 13k$ worth ESRI products, with more than 20 hours of works after two mounth.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your are a big compagny, with a lot of ressources, that's the best product.
But if your are a small business, i don't recommanded at all. A long list of trouble, and a weakness service.


    Philip A.

Great for making/editing maps, although very outdated interface

  • November 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great toolset for creating and editing maps, and working with 2D objects and shapefiles
What do you dislike?
Very outdated interface, difficulty to find functions and options
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Map creation, coordinate evaluation


    Philip A.

ArcGIS makes geospatial analysis manageable, although with an outdated interface

  • November 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Makes working with geospatial data and analysis manageable
What do you dislike?
Interface is extremely out of date and needs an modern update to make options easier to find
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Geospatial analysis, 2D/3D modeling, map building, etc...


    Primary/Secondary Education

Incredible powerful geospatial mapping and statistics program

  • November 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Minimum convex polygons and map creation
What do you dislike?
Extensive option menus complicate navigation
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Spatial data visualization
wildlife home range size
survey point generation