Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Amazon Linux

Micro Focus | 12.0.2-0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

168 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Dhaval B.

World class OLAP database, Great support team

  • December 01, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Projections feature and rich analytical functions are something I really liked and solved multiple problems
What do you dislike?
No inbuilt Encryption feature, would have better if encryption could be enabled easily
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Building Analytical Dashboard and reporting modules on over huge volume of data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good warehousing DB for most of your analytics workload


    Veerabhadrappa A.

I worked in Vertica almost more than 6years. I found it was good analytical DB.

  • December 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Columnar DB, concepts of Projection, Continued availablity,flextable etc.
What do you dislike?
Updates seems to be slow. We used to follow delete and under concepts.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We did technology transfer from legacy application to new technology, and used Vertica for Trasfermation for data warehousing


    Shrijan T.

Real fast database with horizontal scalability and features like UDx making it more powerful

  • December 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica UDx is one of the best capabilities from which you can extend Vertica based on your custom needs, along with this it's integrated environment for ML models is pretty good which brings analytics on plate in just matter of steps.

Vertica Eon mode is another best function which provides greater scalability without downtime and even saves the cost.
What do you dislike?
Despite pros con is if you want to bring node up after crash all ip address needs to be same or as an alternative you have to update catalogue (which is generally not recommended)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Analytical problem for various dashboard and reporting solutions.

Major benefit is sub second performance, logging integration with Kafka for real-time data syncing etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have analytical workload comprising of realtime and scheduled load and tou need sub second performance, give a try to Vertica as its friendly and cost effective with lot of flexibility and good support.


    Telecommunications

I've been working with vertica for 5 years already. very happy.

  • December 01, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
very powerfully , fast , scalable database
What do you dislike?
sometimes it is overkill for small systems.
Pooling is not always makes the difference
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we are using it as production db and DWH. It performs good for those porpuse.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
sure


    Sheetal C.

Columnar storage datawarehouse on cloud

  • December 01, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MPP architecture
columnar compression
high performance
What do you dislike?
Data size limitations
high pricing
limited options for querying clients
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data warehouse, backend for BI and Analytical tools


    Anshuman S.

Genuine review for Vertica users

  • November 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like it most because it's different from all other regular database. It's a columnar database while others are row based. So searching is easy if DB size is very huge.
What do you dislike?
It's little bit costly compared to other Db.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was using it for data mining. We were using mostly for creating report. It was very quick.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can recommend to other users if they want quick output but their budget should also be high.


    Telecommunications

Vertical Great Performance

  • November 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data loading is faster.vertics supports big data
What do you dislike?
Performance wise slow.it can't support in memory operations
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data Analytics 1M dollars saved
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it to handle billions of data


    Banking

Vertica is a powerful tool for Data ware house technology. I have been working nearly 2 years.

  • November 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance and robust. Excellent clustering technology if one of the nodes crashes automatically it will regenerate a new node.
What do you dislike?
I would say there is nothing we can say dislike and this is a wonderful product for DW.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mostly this has backup issues other than that I never faced any issue.


    Marketing and Advertising

this is very fast DB, good column compression and since it's SQL it is relatively essay to use

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
fast aggregation for bid data
no downtime when you add new column to existing large table
good compression
good function documentation
What do you dislike?
some time the optimiser is not good it may select to not the best way to get the data, and this is not that simple to improve the query.
join with large table are slow
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
analytic aggregation over very big tables


    Computer Software

Great analytical database, great performance.

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like performance and volume of data it hold.
What do you dislike?
Node goes down or crashes in occasions and need manual intervention.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using as Analytical database to store data in fact and dimensions tables for reporting purposes.