Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Amazon Linux

Micro Focus | 12.0.1-0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

156 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vikas K.

As i have worked on the projection it will help the to get the faster data processing by optimizing

  • July 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Projections and functions to query data.
What do you dislike?
Performance and scalability. Its required high memory to query data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data warehousing with very effective procing and that is every business want to do.


    Yash P.

My Vertica Experience

  • July 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The UI is quite user friendly and easy to understand.
What do you dislike?
Nothing for now. I haven't yet explored that much to comment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It provides many useful big data services and supports languages like java and python.


    AKSHAY R.

A very satisfied programmer ,curious on how you guys achieve this

  • July 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance.
We can process millions of records and the aggregation operation is also super fast.
Also, the insert operation is not taking that much time. The usage of CTEs which actually her stands in analogous to temp table operation is also very useful.
What do you dislike?
A native development environment and absence of parameters and absence of stored procedures. It would be better if you could provide all these and along with some profiler service.
Plus the performance is very poor if we use UNION ALL operation that too with the same data set.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
First of all it's super fast.
I don't know how you guys do that and I couldn't see any perfect documentation on this as well.
The aggregation operation is so fast that we are planning for data streaming rather than ETL and we hope the same performance will be there as well.
We are processing millions of records within milliseconds using Vertica, and there is no considerable variation in performance even when we use "OR" conditions in filter, which is one of the bottlenecks in conventional RDBMSs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Absence of parameters and stored procedures leads to extensive use of dynamic queries, which should be handled by the backend


    kapil m.

4 years of experience with using vertica for our BI tool Lumenore.

  • July 03, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
All the syntax and function naming speaks for themself on top of that good documentation always comes to the rescue they also have very active and huge community for helping in case.
What do you dislike?
no multi-line insert statement is kinda stopping us sometimes need some tweaking around to find the exact solution which will work perfectly It is inherent problem when you comes to columunar DB.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we need to store a huge amount of data in the database and query some of it at a time. while querying few column from big database it takes constant amount of time when using vertica
Recommendations to others considering the product:
best for data storage and bi tools


    Sweety W.

Vertica review its trustworthy and data oriented

  • May 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica provides comprehensive live on demand and in person training covering self placed training and instructor lead classes , webinars and certifications
Gets customer to problems or bottleneck
What do you dislike?
One things that person should know is new structure
Not successful in cloud busine transformation
Cannoy say its best in industry yet
Recent changes Leadership changes
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Problems could be solved using best cloud solutions and engineering solutions benefits would be to reach that milestone to achieve desired goal and employees can learn new technologies
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go with it


    Gianluca B.

It's great DB

  • May 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is real fast query engines, scalable and easy to use it
What do you dislike?
At the moment nothing, I like it very much
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Performance per query of millions of tuples


    Divya S.

Experience with Vertica

  • May 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really liked the way Vertica manages the huge data and partition concept.
What do you dislike?
Resource management process as it admin have more chances to prioritize the accounts
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data unavailability issues and data mismatch issues mostly


    Paul M.

Demanding but great course

  • May 02, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a comprehensive review of the essential knowledge you need to understand the more fundamental concepts in Vertica. It reviews from hardware to administration.
What do you dislike?
The workspace was not properly configured, thus I had to reconfigure some network parameters (node names) while doing the configuration file in the backup module. Sometimes, the course is slow-paced, especially in the hands-on labs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Three businesses that belong to the firm I work on have Vertica as their main database storage system. The infrastructure is designed to work in development and production environments. Of those three businesses, only one has been able to fully deploy into production and that was possible only through Vertica. This is especially relevant because Vertica has full integration capabilities with BI tools like Tableau and is the only way to show data to executive users


    Francis Suthakar A.

Experience with Vertica

  • May 02, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Bring the value to the business to attract the customer based on the right time accurate analysis in a faster way using Vertica.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike since all are valuable
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Handling huge data and getting the right KPIs after processing and analysing the data


    Financial Services

Great performance and great community

  • April 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The performance for my use case at my work at one of my previous companies was very good given it is a column based DB. Also, for different usecases and learning new stuff, the community and documentation was an immense support.
What do you dislike?
I think there should be a provision to have an extensive managed service tieup with cloud providers which will further help ease off development rather than self-managing the DB.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was working on high scale big data problems involving a lot of columnar transaction data and most queries we hit generally involved picking up a subset of those columns. The performance was very good for our use case.