Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 10.1.1-6

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

103 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Data engineer using vertica for database

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It Column-based analytical functions, this gives us the flexibility to work with massive data, and it makes our query fast and easy. Another point is its k-safety. It saves our data from any node failure
What do you dislike?
If we can say wrong about Vertica, then it's not good. Still, the area where Vertica can update itself is the connector for its clients
because when we use Vertica with a new version for spark like 3.0, then it has not better connectivity with Hadoop and spark. We have faced so many issues while connecting our spark application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have created a Business intelligence tool for clients where we have to save massive data and process/query it very fast for a response. I think in this Vertica help's us a lot


    Venkata Krishnam Raju P.

Best analytics database in the Market.

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Dustributed computing , analytics functions. And It's continues improvement in the product. ML inside database improvement.
What do you dislike?
In enterprise mode lot of downtime required for node additions and rebalancing of large Database. To avoid this issue, EON mode architecture is suitable.

Update and delete statements are minus points in vertica due to these statements delete vectors will create. Lot of these statements will effect negatively on DB performance.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It reduced lot of ETL jobs and user query runtime.


    Martin I.

A great tool, if you are database person

  • March 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The setup of the environment, preloaded parts, gui of the tool
What do you dislike?
Some of the questions are more about exact values in the data rather than teoretical.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was doing the certification exam only


    Banking

Vertica certification review

  • March 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very insightful and learner-oriented videos. Excellent slides.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the questions in knowledge checks were too technical and narrowed down to just finding the output of the code on the screen. I'd rather have more conceptual questions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have gained a mass of new skills in database designing.


    Waseem P.

Vertica - A Modern Data Analytics platform.

  • February 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
DBD - fabulous Optimization tool.
The Training material is excellent, easy to understand and Free.
MC, the Vertica UI is good. I would like to see how it performs in truly enterprise environments.
ANSI SQL. Perfect choice. Something others like Cassandra, messed up.

The most important aspect of Vertica is the underlying technology. Robust and focused on Data analytics.
What do you dislike?
I wont say dislike. I would like to see how security of objects works in detail.
Another aspect I would like to understand is how it is setup. I mean I believe the software is setup on shared infrastructure. [or maybe not, need clarity here]. For BFSI and Telecom sector, this is an area of concern.
Again, I need to improve my understanding. I have no dislikes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica is prime solution for Data analytics platform.

I believe Vertica is an excellent platform for data analytics. the architecture lends itself extremely well to use Vertica for Data Marts, analytics platform, IoT and maybe even for ML.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If Data Analytics is something you do, give Vertica a look.
Its architecture lends extremely well to Analytics.

Only the mighty Exadata with a powerful hardware integrated strongly with Oracle RAC is a viable option.

If you are on non Oracle cloud platforms, Vertica is easily the best choice for Data.


    Marketing and Advertising

Powerful and convenient analytical db

  • January 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Query performance on big data sets are great
What do you dislike?
The transition between different size of clusters is a pain in the ass
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Store and process efficiently big scale of analytical data.


    Retail

Vertica 9 Essentials

  • January 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've had a chance to work with Vertica through its evolution from version 2.5.9 to present. The product is able to leverage commodity resources to provide unparalleled performance without loss of stability or data consistency. The engineering and support teams are a privilege to work with and learn from.
What do you dislike?
DDL is blocked during node down events and cluster resizing. I've yet to find a company which does not rely on some form of DDL for regular operations. This limitation mean that despite the database remaining online is effectively a partial outage.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
User Quota's to limit expensive adhoc operations
Granular resource pool definitions to ensure process the intended resources available
VBR is a wonderful tool


    Consultant in Information Technology and Services

Performance

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The peer nodes in a Cluster and distribution of query from the requester to executer
What do you dislike?
Interactive - should be more GUI interactive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
query planning, performance tuning


    Retail

Great technology for compact data storage, real time processing and optimal performance.

  • January 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Columnar storage, projections, Documentation.
What do you dislike?
support, lack of community and stability.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Business usecase, historical data analysis.


    Hospital & Health Care

its a robust Db

  • January 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its robust and very fast and works best with large databse
What do you dislike?
less supported and not much technical communities
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
its help moving things faster and querying faster
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for robust Database