Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 11.0.1-0

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

108 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Emon H.

Fantastic Analytical Tool

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, performance, Return on Investment, Machine Learning and Analytics capabilities
What do you dislike?
We've been very happy with Vertica since we started using 6 years ago, no there is nothing to dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building next generation telco analytics toolsets
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vertica offers a lot of support for their prospective customers to try out all the important features before buying. I'll suggest anyone considering to buy to use that opportunity.


    Telecommunications

Powerful technology, Query speed

  • March 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Query speed, Vertica analyze and respond in a record time New features that have been developed, such as Machine Learning and branching

We initially chose Vertica because of its superior performance and query speed, but we now realize there is so much more we can do. Vertica’s machine learning capabilities will help us analyze network performance, predict capacity constraints, and ensure the best quality service to our customers
What do you dislike?
So far we have no inconvniniece with the product, this means there is nothing to dislike about
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica delivers drastically improved performance for regulatory compliance and enables an eighty-five percent reduction in fraudrelated costs vs last year
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ask for a demo (POC) and evaluate the improvements and speed


    Hospital & Health Care

Scalable, high-speed database on commodity hardware

  • March 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to grow a database in either compute or storage with commodity hardware is very valuable. No other database comes to mind for speed of inserts or selects at this scale.
What do you dislike?
The documentation has improved over the years but there is less information than some competitors. There aren't as many users of this database products compared to others so the community is somewhat lacking.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica solves the problem of storing petabytes worth of data while actually being able to join across datasets in a timely manner. This allows for discoveries that couldn't be made otherwise.


    Hospital & Health Care

Vertica enables Cerner's Big Data Analytics

  • February 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are inserting 1B rows per hour now. This data is easily consumed by a mixed mode of users. It has enabled Cerner to conduct deep analytics across all of our technical stacks resulting in reduced client incidents.
What do you dislike?
Hard to perform backups. If user pools are not continuously evaluated and monitored, large queries can bring the database to its knees. Still have not perfected a single node out situation. A single node out has put us into a downtime.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Full analytics and visibility across our technical platforms. We have been able to do predictive fingerprinting and monitoring/auditing off of our data. We have approximately 1.1 PB of operational data used across multiple organizations.


    Luis H.

It leverages machine learning and predictive analytic features to help preprocess data

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The primary use case is as an analytics database on EC2 instances.
How has it helped my organization?
* We gain insights into data in real-time with blazing, fast SQL analytics across exabytes of data.
* It maximizes cloud economics with Eon Mode by scaling cluster size to meet variable workload demands.
* It leverages machine learning and predictive analytic features to help preprocess data.
What is most valuable?
It maximize cloud economics for mission-critical big data analytical initiatives.
What needs improvement?
It needs integration with multiple clouds.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
I have implemented it on Amazon EC2 instances with medium IT workloads.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It has an elastic scalability solution.
How was the initial setup?
It is easy to integrate with EC2 instances.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
It is fast to purchase through the AWS Marketplace.
The pricing and licensing depend on the size of your environment and the zone where you want to implement.
What other advice do I have?
It is a complete solution and a also good solution for EC2 instances.


    Internet

Vertica is immensely useful for structured data

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
High amount of uptime
Clear documentation
Great python modules
What do you dislike?
I have no complaints about Vertica, but I do slightly prefer mysql due to syntax preferences
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data analystics


    Cameron W.

Vertica in a League of its Own

  • May 04, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica query optimizer relies on up-to-date statistics for tables, schema, and the database. The statistics allow the optimizer to determine the most efficient plan to execute a query
What do you dislike?
I am not able to change Profile data, Its saved in the pre made tables provided by creator.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are able to store more data, And customize that data into what we need.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Quires can be made in any fashion as you need
SQL Functions, Each function is annotated with behavior type as immutable, stable or volatile.


    Hospital & Health Care

Great product

  • July 15, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
HPE is one of the few solutions in their space that actually care about making an effective solution for their customers. Most companies just want the flashy new buzz words, but HPE prioritizes the real needs of their customers.
What do you dislike?
There were no particular things I disliked
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moved from Oracle to HPE Vertica, saved massive amounts of money on infrastructure and allowed us to scale.


    Marcello P.

Incredible

  • February 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Before I met HP Vertica, I've worked with a few other column-store databases.

Few were easy to install and use, but were not reliable; others had good performance and stability but were definitely not use to deploy.

After 2-3 hours of deciding to try Vertica, I was running queries on it.

So what I like the best:
- Easy to deploy;
- Easy to Configure;
- Plenty of native tools to help the maintenance;
- Plenty of *clear* documentation to help you though;
- Fast - hands-down, the fastest for hardware I've worked with;
- Small - incredible compression rates to the data;
- Reliable/Stable fault-tolerant and - in my case - no data loss issues;
- No need for planning, analyzing or maintaining table indexes;
- Familiar way of loading data [PostgreSQL-like / COPY]
What do you dislike?
Even though most of the problems I've had were already answered in public forums from the Vertica Communiy - I use the community version -, I feel like there's not a big crowd trying to help or at least trying to make their voice heard online.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using the Vertica Community Version, we were able to increase - sometimes by a factor of 10 - the speed of Data Warehouses queries.

As we didn't have much time to try tens of different databases, Vertica showed handy when it comes to Install/Loading data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read all the documents you can about Hardware Requirements. Even though it looks big, it's a very complete document, every DBA should beware of.

Because Vertica looks from outside a lot like PostgreSQL, users tend to forget some of its specificities when writing SQL queries or doing some other maintenance tasks. So beware of subqueries, data types, row-inserts - prefer bulk inserts - table/column drops, etc.


    Christopher B.

Used for batch logs analysis

  • April 29, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It presents a relational DB feel but works under the hood as a columnar store. We achieved two orders-of-magnitude over several other tools and eliminated the need for pivot tables entirely. The polish and easy of setup also played a big factor in getting me to use it, even though I generally favor open-source solutions for holding data.
What do you dislike?
It's not open-source. I prefer to store data long-term in open-source solutions to avoid lock-in.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was fast enough to build a dashboard on top of while facilitating many huge simultaneous queries without need for pivot tables. It saved us huge amount of man hours as we didn't have to maintain partial queries in tables for represent different views on data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you can afford it, use it. Or if you can keep your internal DB lower than 1TB use that.