Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

OpenText | 24.2.0-1

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

206 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Semiconductors

Vertica is very good in case of huge transactions. We can easily manage vertica servers.

  • November 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Environment is too good. The way to design the vertica architecture is awesome and we can easily get the health of vertica systems.
What do you dislike about the product?
If any disasters, recovery is bit slow. I have observed only one issue, nothing else.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have recovered vertica servers many times. Main benifit is monitoring is too good compare to other big data solutions
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, I can recommend to use vertica product


    Karthik Murali H.

A strong tool for processing BIG Data

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Quick processing time.
Faster query handling
SQL integration is easy
What do you dislike about the product?
No easy to access community forums
Takes time to get answers for queries or issues from the communities
Limited client knowledge to get them onboard instead of Hadoop or SQL server.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Social Media analytics with Sentiment analysis
Processing data that is >10 million rows is quicker in Vertica and aggregation of granular data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in need of a database , but still using outdated technologies like SQL server which can still has its limitation while processing large data sets ( in excess of 10-15 million rows) across 50+ tables, Vertica can be a great tool to process this information and bring out key insights and do analytics on the data. The power of analaytics is only as good as how fast you can process the data and how quick the results come in .


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Solution Architect

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Columnar store is both retrieval and storage makes it scalable and good for large set of Data.
What do you dislike about the product?
We do not have a IDE where we can view the Structure which would be user friendly
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were able to store huge data and it allowed us to extend same set of data with multi columns from multiple site. It helped us in consolidating and retrieving data.


    Computer Software

Engineering & Technology Leader work with data for results driven outcome

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Vertica is good for both structured and unstructured data mining, however, I find the performance is on the lower side when I evaluated.
What do you dislike about the product?
The pricing is heavy in comparison to the rest of the available options in the industry. However it assures the SLA that I've seen it affordable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were trying to evaluate the big-data of Patent data globally that we want to aggregate, ingest, mine for inference, and be able to search the big-data along with the Marklogic. I've seen Vertica was beneficial with the prototype that I was able to quickly demonstrate and use. However, the pricing was a bit let down to us during this recommendation.


    Diego Alberto F.

Great product, sometimes a little slow for processing

  • November 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the easiness to write in vertica’s SQL language. It’s very intuitive and easy to understand.
What do you dislike about the product?
In my experience the processing time was long sometimes. The queries were running but taking to much and failing due to insufficient resources.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data Queries mostly. It helped me for summarizing big sets of data into transformed and ready to use data outcomes
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be aware of how efficient your queries are before running them.


    Mohit P.

Vertica analytics platform

  • November 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The computation power and the SQL parser
What do you dislike about the product?
Cloud support is not upto the mark as other competitors
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
An analytics platform which help in making business decision


    Muhammad Omer A.

Vertica is one of the most incredible database system to use for data warehousing.

  • November 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The columnar approach and storage of data in projections to quickly access the data most frequently queried.
What do you dislike about the product?
The limitation of manually clearing up ROS containers when a query is interrupted (due to network issues) and needs to run again.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm using vertica for Data warehousing for Business Intelligence. The quick data fetching and response time, the query optimization, the data storage and compression are some of the fine things and benefits of using vertica.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do go through the documentation. Everything is there if you want to know anything.


    Computer Software

Very robust and production ready database option

  • November 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The lightweight compared with other similar databases in the market
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing in particular. I think is a very nice product with required capabilities in place
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Create a proper data lake on prem. Main benefits around speed and performance obtained
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Is a very good database for data lakes and business intelligence in general. More over if you compre with standard relation databases


    Internet

Great

  • November 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
the visualisation features are the best.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing as such, I did not find thing is concerning
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sales channel optimisation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
All good


    Computer Software

Best DB for OLAP

  • November 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Performance, columnar features, transaction
What do you dislike about the product?
Most of the industry moving towards clouds,it will be great you guys can asap
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OLAP application