Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

OpenText | 24.2.0-1

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

206 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marketing and Advertising

Great performance, reasonable cost and low maintenance.

  • May 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the fact that is mostly low maintenance with great performance with a good set of features.
What do you dislike about the product?
At times the designer generated incremental design causes issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Vertica for all the reporting and analytics needs. We also use it for some large application queries and it performs reasonably well under a lot of different scenarios.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely give it a try if you are looking for a good data warehouse that can scale with your business needs. I highly recommend the product.


    Hospital & Health Care

Blazing speed Big Data on Commodity hardware

  • April 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Rapid responses, ability to handle large volumes of data, scalable and works on commodity hardware
What do you dislike about the product?
Not ideal for high velocity transactions
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Analytics solutions to Physician and Payer organizations. No need for a full time DBA to support a Big Data solution.


    Internet

Vertica is the most obvious choice for on-premise data warehousing

  • March 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We've tested and tested and benchmarked and benchmarked and every time Vertica comes out ahead against competing technologies (OSS or proprietary) in terms of raw throughput and concurrency handling. We've even seen it rival highly optimized in-memory analytics engines for latency under certain scenarios. This makes it the obvious choice for us for any sort of general OLAP or dashboarding task.
What do you dislike about the product?
We tend to push Vertica pretty hard and have a tendency to automate everything (we use chef for provisioning), which means we have had to write our own tools or adapt Verticas' to our purposes fairly substantially. This is no deal breaker, but it would be nice if they invested more time in the admin UX.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Vertica is our core analytic database offering and as such is central part of the compute fabric. The fact that it is so efficient and flexible in this regard means that we leverage it behind many applications, limiting tech sprawl and allowing us to go to market faster and with fewer support staff.


    Information Technology and Services

Hybrid Storage Options are making Vertica more versatile

  • March 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Recently added features - Complex Data types, Delegation Tokens, Hierarchial Partitions,
Upcoming features
New Storage options - EON on Prem, EON on GCP, Enterprise on GCP
libhdfs+ erasure coding support, DBD lite, Parquet enhancements
What do you dislike about the product?
Copy cluster not possible across heterogeneous clusters
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OLAP analysis and reporting


    Airlines/Aviation

Best columnar database in the market

  • March 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I haven't seen any other database in the marketplace that can beat the performance of Vertica
What do you dislike about the product?
Currently it takes a lots of time to re balance the cluster, when you add or remove a node.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Big data analytics; That results in better customer satisfaction.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for more scalable version, then use EON mode.


    Ben W.

Vertica Rocks

  • March 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ability to optimize for load and query performance.
The community support is unparalleled.
What do you dislike about the product?
The default optimizations are mostly useless and don't seem to 'know' the underlying data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Speed and scale - plain and simple
I am solving the problem of database as a service for an enterprise application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are serious about big data, use Vertica


    Computer Software

Powerful, efficient, fast SQL Database

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Using and querying Vertica was extremely simple, and easy to learn. Vertica allowed me to visualize datasets in new and interesting ways and, if necessary, apply statistical calculations to my datasets. Vertica allowed our company to scale billions of rows of data easily as well which gave our company the technical infrastructure necessary to grow.
What do you dislike about the product?
Environments to query Vertica required a bit of extra setup and configuration, it was not as turnkey as other SQL databases, and sometimes connections would get lost; however, shelling into Vertica was just as effective if outputting datasets was the core goal.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Vertica stored almost all the data that our company collected for its clients. I worked with Vertica to obtain any sort of records about my clients and whatever activity we collected for them and used that data for any number of purposes from implementation, QA, and reporting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you will be rebuilding Vertica datasets at any regular cadence, ensure ETL processes are ironclad as data rebuilds across large sets of data can cause significant shifts which can take a long time to complete.


    Emon H.

Fantastic Analytical Tool

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use, performance, Return on Investment, Machine Learning and Analytics capabilities
What do you dislike about the product?
We've been very happy with Vertica since we started using 6 years ago, no there is nothing to dislike
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Building next generation telco analytics toolsets
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vertica offers a lot of support for their prospective customers to try out all the important features before buying. I'll suggest anyone considering to buy to use that opportunity.


    Telecommunications

Powerful technology, Query speed

  • March 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Query speed, Vertica analyze and respond in a record time New features that have been developed, such as Machine Learning and branching

We initially chose Vertica because of its superior performance and query speed, but we now realize there is so much more we can do. Vertica’s machine learning capabilities will help us analyze network performance, predict capacity constraints, and ensure the best quality service to our customers
What do you dislike about the product?
So far we have no inconvniniece with the product, this means there is nothing to dislike about
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Vertica delivers drastically improved performance for regulatory compliance and enables an eighty-five percent reduction in fraudrelated costs vs last year
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ask for a demo (POC) and evaluate the improvements and speed


    Hospital & Health Care

Scalable, high-speed database on commodity hardware

  • March 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ability to grow a database in either compute or storage with commodity hardware is very valuable. No other database comes to mind for speed of inserts or selects at this scale.
What do you dislike about the product?
The documentation has improved over the years but there is less information than some competitors. There aren't as many users of this database products compared to others so the community is somewhat lacking.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Vertica solves the problem of storing petabytes worth of data while actually being able to join across datasets in a timely manner. This allows for discoveries that couldn't be made otherwise.