Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 11.0.1-0

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

108 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Smooth data management but could be better.

  • November 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It makes ETL pipeline integration easier. Provides data security and faster data preparation.
What do you dislike?
Data size limitation and pretty expensive when dealing with large datasets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Faster query execution and better data management


    ROHIT V.

Its fast , scalable , Data science ready , Most advanced Database ever made.

  • November 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Compression , encoding , K safety , 24x7 data loads , Fast , scalable , Machine learning , language support
What do you dislike?
Very less Learning resources to learn Vertica.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it in Business intelligence , Data science , to Store and Process the data and get insights.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I must say it is awesome database , it can fulfill all your need. Vertica is the future for Data processing.


    Archana M.

Vertica review

  • November 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica 's kafka and spark connectors
Connectors are really nice
What do you dislike?
Gets expensive with huge amount of data
Thus pricing is one of the reason
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Banking field especially in fraud detection


    Financial Services

Speed and Low cost

  • November 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed of queries and the low cost of ownership.able to take real time streaming data without much preprocessing latency.
What do you dislike?
The management console including GUI is lacking features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have been at the forefront of digitisation transformation. As collection distribution and using data is critical for us.we have developed a single converged platform to help clients transition.


    Semiconductors

Vertica is very good in case of huge transactions. We can easily manage vertica servers.

  • November 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Environment is too good. The way to design the vertica architecture is awesome and we can easily get the health of vertica systems.
What do you dislike?
If any disasters, recovery is bit slow. I have observed only one issue, nothing else.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have recovered vertica servers many times. Main benifit is monitoring is too good compare to other big data solutions
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, I can recommend to use vertica product


    Karthik Murali H.

A strong tool for processing BIG Data

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Quick processing time.
Faster query handling
SQL integration is easy
What do you dislike?
No easy to access community forums
Takes time to get answers for queries or issues from the communities
Limited client knowledge to get them onboard instead of Hadoop or SQL server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Social Media analytics with Sentiment analysis
Processing data that is >10 million rows is quicker in Vertica and aggregation of granular data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in need of a database , but still using outdated technologies like SQL server which can still has its limitation while processing large data sets ( in excess of 10-15 million rows) across 50+ tables, Vertica can be a great tool to process this information and bring out key insights and do analytics on the data. The power of analaytics is only as good as how fast you can process the data and how quick the results come in .


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Solution Architect

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Columnar store is both retrieval and storage makes it scalable and good for large set of Data.
What do you dislike?
We do not have a IDE where we can view the Structure which would be user friendly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were able to store huge data and it allowed us to extend same set of data with multi columns from multiple site. It helped us in consolidating and retrieving data.


    Computer Software

Engineering & Technology Leader work with data for results driven outcome

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is good for both structured and unstructured data mining, however, I find the performance is on the lower side when I evaluated.
What do you dislike?
The pricing is heavy in comparison to the rest of the available options in the industry. However it assures the SLA that I've seen it affordable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were trying to evaluate the big-data of Patent data globally that we want to aggregate, ingest, mine for inference, and be able to search the big-data along with the Marklogic. I've seen Vertica was beneficial with the prototype that I was able to quickly demonstrate and use. However, the pricing was a bit let down to us during this recommendation.


    Diego Alberto F.

Great product, sometimes a little slow for processing

  • November 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the easiness to write in vertica’s SQL language. It’s very intuitive and easy to understand.
What do you dislike?
In my experience the processing time was long sometimes. The queries were running but taking to much and failing due to insufficient resources.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data Queries mostly. It helped me for summarizing big sets of data into transformed and ready to use data outcomes
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be aware of how efficient your queries are before running them.


    Mohit P.

Vertica analytics platform

  • November 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The computation power and the SQL parser
What do you dislike?
Cloud support is not upto the mark as other competitors
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
An analytics platform which help in making business decision