Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 10.1.1-1

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

102 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Engineering & Technology Leader work with data for results driven outcome

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is good for both structured and unstructured data mining, however, I find the performance is on the lower side when I evaluated.
What do you dislike?
The pricing is heavy in comparison to the rest of the available options in the industry. However it assures the SLA that I've seen it affordable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were trying to evaluate the big-data of Patent data globally that we want to aggregate, ingest, mine for inference, and be able to search the big-data along with the Marklogic. I've seen Vertica was beneficial with the prototype that I was able to quickly demonstrate and use. However, the pricing was a bit let down to us during this recommendation.


    Diego Alberto F.

Great product, sometimes a little slow for processing

  • November 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the easiness to write in vertica’s SQL language. It’s very intuitive and easy to understand.
What do you dislike?
In my experience the processing time was long sometimes. The queries were running but taking to much and failing due to insufficient resources.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data Queries mostly. It helped me for summarizing big sets of data into transformed and ready to use data outcomes
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be aware of how efficient your queries are before running them.


    Mohit P.

Vertica analytics platform

  • November 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The computation power and the SQL parser
What do you dislike?
Cloud support is not upto the mark as other competitors
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
An analytics platform which help in making business decision


    Muhammad Omer A.

Vertica is one of the most incredible database system to use for data warehousing.

  • November 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The columnar approach and storage of data in projections to quickly access the data most frequently queried.
What do you dislike?
The limitation of manually clearing up ROS containers when a query is interrupted (due to network issues) and needs to run again.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using vertica for Data warehousing for Business Intelligence. The quick data fetching and response time, the query optimization, the data storage and compression are some of the fine things and benefits of using vertica.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do go through the documentation. Everything is there if you want to know anything.


    Computer Software

Very robust and production ready database option

  • November 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The lightweight compared with other similar databases in the market
What do you dislike?
Nothing in particular. I think is a very nice product with required capabilities in place
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Create a proper data lake on prem. Main benefits around speed and performance obtained
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Is a very good database for data lakes and business intelligence in general. More over if you compre with standard relation databases


    Internet

Great

  • November 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the visualisation features are the best.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such, I did not find thing is concerning
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sales channel optimisation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
All good


    Computer Software

Best DB for OLAP

  • November 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance, columnar features, transaction
What do you dislike?
Most of the industry moving towards clouds,it will be great you guys can asap
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OLAP application


    Financial Services

Review on Vertica Technology

  • August 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best about Vertica is it has 99.99% availability and 100% consistency. It has got powerful tools like Vertica Backup and Restore utility which helps recover single table or schema or cluster from past backup images. The most admirable is its K Safe Feature due to which it helps maintain the consistency among the nodes. If a node goes down it does automatic sync as well. It also has Database Designer which will help you tune your SQLs and suggest optimized projections. To add icing to the case it has management console its GUI interface as well which helps you monitor multiple clusters using the same GUI . It has got nice online support as well in case of issues.
The incidents of cluster down specifically to the projects I support had gone down 100% . If one node goes down still due to Ksafe feature your entire cluster remains up and available to the business. Over all on personal grounds a very reliable and useful products that any Organization can rely on.
Note : This is my genuine personal opinion only for the product I have worked hence the candid feedback.
What do you dislike?
About its upgrade path and just supporting 1 release backward compatibility if you upgrade your cluster.
Also cross environment restores for the cluster having different names but same nodes restores should be made possible that are having different names. So entire snap can be restored.
Note : This is my genuine personal opinion only for the product I have worked hence the candid feedback.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
100% cluster availability issue is resolved. Maintenance down time is reduced. Also business functions are executing per expectations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Over all a good product worth it for the money you spent.


    Jitender T.

A Good Columnar DB solution for analytics needs

  • August 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Columnar storage, Various inbuilt optimization and performance improvement techniques.
What do you dislike?
Support for complex data types isn't too mature.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analytics and reporting needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good columnar DB solution with optimized reads and performance improvement capabilities for queries.


    Maja P.

Very fast and scalable analytical RDBMS.

  • August 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is fast analytical distributed DBMS. This kind of architecture, which enables parallel processing, gives scalability through concurrent loading and querying data while also ensuring data availability in case of node failure. Also, it uses advanced encoding and compression structures which ensure saving storage space - significant feature in the world of data warehouse.
Personally, I consider that the best feature Vertica provide is it's completeness , which gives the user many possibilities through in-database developed funcionallities, and integration with other systems and tools, the different ones regarding loading data as well as the ones using data for analytics.
What do you dislike?
Regarding of memory consumption during query execution, Vertica requires substantial amount of prior techical knowledge to write memory-optimized queries. This includes knowledge about Vertica specifics, i.e. projections, encoding, resource pools. On the other side, when one improves his technical expertise, Vertica is by far the best choice of analytical database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica helped us solved the problem of loading vast amounts of data through ETL tools because it enabled us to create concurrent loading streams thanks to it's distributed architecture.
Also, Vertica in a very easy manner, enables integration not only with ETL tools, but also with visualization or tools regarding streaming data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vertica is excellent when company has huge amounts of data, concurrent loading streams and extended needs for data visualisation and reporting. When learning more about tehnical concept and structures, one sees all the more possibilities this DBMS offers for the support of various bussiness cases.