Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 12.0.1-0

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

156 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Joe G.

Long time, happy Vertica customer

  • August 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Columnar storage makes for fast data access. Lots of storage on fewer nodes. Use of projections is an intuitive way to manage tables and help optimize queries. Great customer service, very responsive! Most importantly, they LISTEN to their customers! They are very responsive to problem inquiries, work closely with me and my fellow DBAs to figure out problem causes and solutions, and when an opportunity arises for a fix or an enhancement to the product, our combined solutions end up in the product for other users to benefit from! I have never had that experience with any other company.
What do you dislike?
It has taken a while for Vertica to come up to speed on getting their product to fully take advantage of all the benefits the cloud (AWS, Azure, Google, etc) has to offer. But with their latest versions they are finally there!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have a wide and varied use of Vertica across the company. ETL/ELT processes, more intense reporting queries, and API queries requiring high concurrency and lightning fast response times. Vertica is able to handle all of it! We are moving data over from another data warehouse product as well, and are seeing query time reductions immediately, and exponential cost savings over the other product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go through with a POC, it will open your eyes to the benefits Vertica will have on your system. And when working with competitors to do side by side comparisons, make them disclose what and how much hardware they are using to run the comparison queries against Vertica. It's not always apples to apples, and it is not always disclosed unless you ask!


    Dario A.

System Architecture Executive Manager

  • August 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
High performance, high availability, low cost of maintenance
What do you dislike?
It would be nice to have a larger Vertica user community in Brasil
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using it as the main big-data repository for the results of the electricity market accounting process in Brasil. The performance provided by the platform allowed us to make data queries in hourly granularity available to our user base over the Internet.


    Internet

easy analytics for everyone

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
administrating vertica, extending vertica, ongoing development
What do you dislike?
poor performance on wide tables, missing predicate pushdown for custom source udf, missing ssl support for python udf, slow replication performance on load_snaphot with 10K+ tables in catalog, poor hash join performance comparing with greenplum or clickhouse
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
product analytics, ab testing, operational analytics, preparing data for production services (moderation, antifraud, client reporting, ...)


    Computer Software

Vertica Used By Netcore

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed and Response time, Easy to scale. Able to handle millions of records response in fictions of time.
What do you dislike?
Licensing Module, It Should be Pay As Use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Segmentation for the large number of records can be done in seconds. IT Support AWS S3, which saves lots of cost.


    Computer Software

Data engineer using vertica for database

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It Column-based analytical functions, this gives us the flexibility to work with massive data, and it makes our query fast and easy. Another point is its k-safety. It saves our data from any node failure
What do you dislike?
If we can say wrong about Vertica, then it's not good. Still, the area where Vertica can update itself is the connector for its clients
because when we use Vertica with a new version for spark like 3.0, then it has not better connectivity with Hadoop and spark. We have faced so many issues while connecting our spark application.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have created a Business intelligence tool for clients where we have to save massive data and process/query it very fast for a response. I think in this Vertica help's us a lot


    Venkata Krishnam Raju P.

Best analytics database in the Market.

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Dustributed computing , analytics functions. And It's continues improvement in the product. ML inside database improvement.
What do you dislike?
In enterprise mode lot of downtime required for node additions and rebalancing of large Database. To avoid this issue, EON mode architecture is suitable.

Update and delete statements are minus points in vertica due to these statements delete vectors will create. Lot of these statements will effect negatively on DB performance.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It reduced lot of ETL jobs and user query runtime.


    Martin I.

A great tool, if you are database person

  • April 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The setup of the environment, preloaded parts, gui of the tool
What do you dislike?
Some of the questions are more about exact values in the data rather than teoretical.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was doing the certification exam only


    Banking

Vertica certification review

  • March 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very insightful and learner-oriented videos. Excellent slides.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the questions in knowledge checks were too technical and narrowed down to just finding the output of the code on the screen. I'd rather have more conceptual questions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have gained a mass of new skills in database designing.


    Waseem P.

Vertica - A Modern Data Analytics platform.

  • February 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
DBD - fabulous Optimization tool.
The Training material is excellent, easy to understand and Free.
MC, the Vertica UI is good. I would like to see how it performs in truly enterprise environments.
ANSI SQL. Perfect choice. Something others like Cassandra, messed up.

The most important aspect of Vertica is the underlying technology. Robust and focused on Data analytics.
What do you dislike?
I wont say dislike. I would like to see how security of objects works in detail.
Another aspect I would like to understand is how it is setup. I mean I believe the software is setup on shared infrastructure. [or maybe not, need clarity here]. For BFSI and Telecom sector, this is an area of concern.
Again, I need to improve my understanding. I have no dislikes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Vertica is prime solution for Data analytics platform.

I believe Vertica is an excellent platform for data analytics. the architecture lends itself extremely well to use Vertica for Data Marts, analytics platform, IoT and maybe even for ML.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If Data Analytics is something you do, give Vertica a look.
Its architecture lends extremely well to Analytics.

Only the mighty Exadata with a powerful hardware integrated strongly with Oracle RAC is a viable option.

If you are on non Oracle cloud platforms, Vertica is easily the best choice for Data.


    Marketing and Advertising

Powerful and convenient analytical db

  • February 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Query performance on big data sets are great
What do you dislike?
The transition between different size of clusters is a pain in the ass
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Store and process efficiently big scale of analytical data.