Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 10.1.1-6

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

103 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Hybrid Storage Options are making Vertica more versatile

  • March 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Recently added features - Complex Data types, Delegation Tokens, Hierarchial Partitions,
Upcoming features
New Storage options - EON on Prem, EON on GCP, Enterprise on GCP
libhdfs+ erasure coding support, DBD lite, Parquet enhancements
What do you dislike?
Copy cluster not possible across heterogeneous clusters
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OLAP analysis and reporting


    Airlines/Aviation

Best columnar database in the market

  • March 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I haven't seen any other database in the marketplace that can beat the performance of Vertica
What do you dislike?
Currently it takes a lots of time to re balance the cluster, when you add or remove a node.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Big data analytics; That results in better customer satisfaction.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for more scalable version, then use EON mode.


    Ben W.

Vertica Rocks

  • March 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to optimize for load and query performance.
The community support is unparalleled.
What do you dislike?
The default optimizations are mostly useless and don't seem to 'know' the underlying data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Speed and scale - plain and simple
I am solving the problem of database as a service for an enterprise application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are serious about big data, use Vertica


    Computer Software

Powerful, efficient, fast SQL Database

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Using and querying Vertica was extremely simple, and easy to learn. Vertica allowed me to visualize datasets in new and interesting ways and, if necessary, apply statistical calculations to my datasets. Vertica allowed our company to scale billions of rows of data easily as well which gave our company the technical infrastructure necessary to grow.
What do you dislike?
Environments to query Vertica required a bit of extra setup and configuration, it was not as turnkey as other SQL databases, and sometimes connections would get lost; however, shelling into Vertica was just as effective if outputting datasets was the core goal.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica stored almost all the data that our company collected for its clients. I worked with Vertica to obtain any sort of records about my clients and whatever activity we collected for them and used that data for any number of purposes from implementation, QA, and reporting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you will be rebuilding Vertica datasets at any regular cadence, ensure ETL processes are ironclad as data rebuilds across large sets of data can cause significant shifts which can take a long time to complete.


    Emon H.

Fantastic Analytical Tool

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, performance, Return on Investment, Machine Learning and Analytics capabilities
What do you dislike?
We've been very happy with Vertica since we started using 6 years ago, no there is nothing to dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building next generation telco analytics toolsets
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vertica offers a lot of support for their prospective customers to try out all the important features before buying. I'll suggest anyone considering to buy to use that opportunity.


    Telecommunications

Powerful technology, Query speed

  • March 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Query speed, Vertica analyze and respond in a record time New features that have been developed, such as Machine Learning and branching

We initially chose Vertica because of its superior performance and query speed, but we now realize there is so much more we can do. Vertica’s machine learning capabilities will help us analyze network performance, predict capacity constraints, and ensure the best quality service to our customers
What do you dislike?
So far we have no inconvniniece with the product, this means there is nothing to dislike about
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica delivers drastically improved performance for regulatory compliance and enables an eighty-five percent reduction in fraudrelated costs vs last year
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ask for a demo (POC) and evaluate the improvements and speed


    Hospital & Health Care

Scalable, high-speed database on commodity hardware

  • March 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to grow a database in either compute or storage with commodity hardware is very valuable. No other database comes to mind for speed of inserts or selects at this scale.
What do you dislike?
The documentation has improved over the years but there is less information than some competitors. There aren't as many users of this database products compared to others so the community is somewhat lacking.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica solves the problem of storing petabytes worth of data while actually being able to join across datasets in a timely manner. This allows for discoveries that couldn't be made otherwise.


    Hospital & Health Care

Vertica enables Cerner's Big Data Analytics

  • February 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are inserting 1B rows per hour now. This data is easily consumed by a mixed mode of users. It has enabled Cerner to conduct deep analytics across all of our technical stacks resulting in reduced client incidents.
What do you dislike?
Hard to perform backups. If user pools are not continuously evaluated and monitored, large queries can bring the database to its knees. Still have not perfected a single node out situation. A single node out has put us into a downtime.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Full analytics and visibility across our technical platforms. We have been able to do predictive fingerprinting and monitoring/auditing off of our data. We have approximately 1.1 PB of operational data used across multiple organizations.


    Luis H.

It leverages machine learning and predictive analytic features to help preprocess data

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The primary use case is as an analytics database on EC2 instances.
How has it helped my organization?
* We gain insights into data in real-time with blazing, fast SQL analytics across exabytes of data.
* It maximizes cloud economics with Eon Mode by scaling cluster size to meet variable workload demands.
* It leverages machine learning and predictive analytic features to help preprocess data.
What is most valuable?
It maximize cloud economics for mission-critical big data analytical initiatives.
What needs improvement?
It needs integration with multiple clouds.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
I have implemented it on Amazon EC2 instances with medium IT workloads.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It has an elastic scalability solution.
How was the initial setup?
It is easy to integrate with EC2 instances.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
It is fast to purchase through the AWS Marketplace.
The pricing and licensing depend on the size of your environment and the zone where you want to implement.
What other advice do I have?
It is a complete solution and a also good solution for EC2 instances.


    Internet

Vertica is immensely useful for structured data

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
High amount of uptime
Clear documentation
Great python modules
What do you dislike?
I have no complaints about Vertica, but I do slightly prefer mysql due to syntax preferences
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data analystics