Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Buddy - One-click delivery automation for Web Developers

Buddy | v2.2.11

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

76 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Samuel K.

Easy to use even if you are not a devops

  • July 31, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's interface and simplicity. It's the first time I'm using a UI to automatically deploy my apps and this was so easy. Has lots of built-in integrations, so it was very easy to setup and so far, very reliable. Currently on my pipeline to deploy a small project. Also their support is outstanding. One day I got an email from them, telling they found some potential error in my repo, using their lint. I could check and fix that, but I definitely wasn't expecting them to be so proactive, specially because I'm on the free plan.
What do you dislike?
Well, I've been using it for the past 4 months and it looks like it's still pretty new, so there are things they still don't have and yet, looks like they are implementing new features very fast.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy continuous deployment for small application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are testing something and don't want to go heads first on paying some app, give Buddy a try. It's very easy to use and so far, has been everything I needed.


    Computer Software

Simple to use Service

  • July 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I found it intuitive to use and never needed to request help from their support teams. Provides a good set of functionality on the free tier for small teams, projects or simply evaluation. I am pleased with the ability to manage pipeline as code or simply configure via their UI. Authentication with Github a plus for me.
What do you dislike?
I was unable to run my golang builds on the free tier, but took the plunge given my satisfaction with the remainder of the features. Am glad I did.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I wanted a hosted CI/CD solution for my freelance work. This has enabled me to just that. On push to origin, my code is built, tested and deployed out to Amazon Web Services.


    Erwin R.

Moved my scripts to Buddy and I love it!

  • July 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very simple to setup, I usually do not enjoy dealing with CI systems, but in this case, this was painless.
What do you dislike?
It is quite pricey the moment you need more than the free tier
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I generate the arduboy.ried.cl website after people contribute in my repo and also compile the firmware portapack.ried.cl, those two tasks were a pain to deal with because they are quite long


    Eduardo G.

Buddy give us the best performance!

  • July 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You will love to develop your integration using buddy!
What do you dislike?
Nothing! Buddy its very sample to use and to integrate with everything!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used buddy with digital ocean simple servers and also robust amazon integrations using buddy, terraform, bitbucket and more!


    Camille H.

Very easy to adopt into existing applications

  • July 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have just a general idea of how to use CI tools so I was relieved to see how easy it was to work with Buddy as opposed to other CI tools we've used in the past
What do you dislike?
I can't think of anything at the moment. It does the job, quickly and easily for me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps me manage frontend libraries


    Dirk-Jan W.

Simple yet powerfull CI/CD system, easy to pick up for beginners.

  • July 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part about Buddy is that its is incredibly easy to pick up on. In no time you have a complete pipeline build in the easy to use UI. Afterwards (if you want to) you can export it to a yml file and put it in your source control. This way its easy to first setup your pipeline but still have the definition in your source control!

You create those pipelines by chaining actions, luckily there are a lot of actions available for almost every situation imaginable.
What do you dislike?
We noticed that a few options from the UI aren't available through the yml configuration, not sure if this is still the case but we haven't really used those features anyway.

It is a bit pricy but we work for customers so they get to pay for our usage.

Last time I tried there was no docker compose support, however having a quick look at the docs there seems to be some progress in this?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Normally we always used Travis for our CI and Heroku to handle the CD part. However the Heroku servers are pretty limited so we had to look for another solution.
In the end we now run on digitalocean but we lost the CD part we were used to, Buddy managed to solve this and also took over as our CI tool since it is so much quicker than a lot of other tools around!


    Contato M.

Buddy Works is Amazing

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Buddy Works is amazing, since 2016 is my main CD/CI tool, saved my life many times, easy to configure, is flexible and have a lot of integrations that make my CD/CI setup easier and faster.
What do you dislike?
The only think is hard is that since i come from Brazil the price is a little bit heavy, but is worth it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Buddy Works made easy to create my continous integration and deployments setup, easy to integrate, integrate almost with every single tool.


    Ajay K.

Make devops and developers to work smoothly

  • July 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Buddy's GUI is really awesome and to create pipeline's using Buddy is really really simple. For a beginner who doesnt understand CICD much, start using Buddy and you will get to know everything related to CICD in a day. Buddy is also constantly improving and new features everyday.
What do you dislike?
For startups, they can reduce the price because they are more prone to pipeline failures and need more focus on pipelines so when they grow, their pipelines grow.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I started using it, I brought this to 3 other organisations. It solved the most value-able part for me at least - "TIME"


    Hari S.

Middle of the pack - limited use for Open Source, ugly yaml, some options in UI not in yaml

  • June 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The UI looks ok, has pages to configure things (should really all be in yaml though for revision control), UI design is better than some other CI systems I've used
What do you dislike?
Limited Open Source support (only 5 repos) so I have decommissioned this on most of my GitHub repos now in favour of other CI systems like GitHub Actions, Travis CI and Azure DevOps which are my top 3 (in that order, I still use a lot of other CI systems too, see https://github.com/harisekhon for a tonne of them).

The Yaml is a bit ugly with capitalized strings and too many explicit options from the generated default template.

Lots of options do not appear in the yaml to revision control, which would be ideal.

It's own quirks, where builds may get cancelled or fail for random reasons that aren't my code, eg. upstream apt repos are temporarily unavailable (unfortunately most CI systems don't detect and retry this properly so you must do some retries yourself).

Badge could be nicer looking, like GitHub Actions, Azure DevOps, Circle CI, Semaphore CI or the shields.io badges (shields.io supports tonnes of CI systems but not Buddy unfortunately, otherwise I would have replaced the "buddy.works" badge in my README.md with a nicer constructed one with flexible text, formatting & icon from shields.io)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CI testing of build automation across disparate environments. You can see lots of my code and builds here:

https://github.com/harisekhon


    Jasper v.

Fantastic, intuitive deployment tool

  • June 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity, availability of common procedures, incredible support, great UI
What do you dislike?
Lack of community - can make it tricky to troubleshoot specific issues at times, but the documentation mostly makes up for this (granted documentation can feel a little light at times)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Large scale production application deployment pipelines to all our dev environments. Using CI to run unit tests on commits to our gitlab repo