Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 20230131

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

1,237 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rajesh C.

Ubuntu - the developer first OS

  • November 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The power we have while using Ubuntu is unimaginable. It is as if we are the creators of the software. The ability to customize it as we want and the ease with which we can install third-party software is simply superb.
What do you dislike about the product?
Well, there is something which I don't like a bit. It is the amount of power the user has while using it. When the user doesn't know much about all those commands and if they simply run commands found online without much knowledge of them will not be good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The main problem that Ubuntu is solving is, it is taking away all the unnecessary (or too much) graphics from the user which is present by default in a few other software. It is giving that option to the user and is letting them decide what they want.


    Pratyush A.

The Gateway To Linux

  • November 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Sleek functioning, small size, free of cost and easy to use for an entrant into the world of Linux.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not too many business softwares- equivalent of word, powerpoint, photoshop etc.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu allowed me to move into development and host web apps easily. It allowed me to transition into using Linux by first choosing Ubuntu which is not as detached from Windows as some of the other advanced Linux kernels like Kali.


    Vanshika T.

Super fast and open source OS for developers

  • November 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Most of our system runs on Ubuntu. It is a free and open-source OS for everyone. The best thing about Ubuntu is its accessibility through the terminal. We can do every tasks through the terminal, which can be done in Windows. This OS is the best practitioner of coding for developers. It is easy to use and a super fast OS. We can customize it as per our needs too.
What do you dislike about the product?
Ubuntu is a little bit hard for Windows users. It is not designed for non-IT people as this operating system has no graphical interface. It is totally run over the terminal or coding interface. Other than that, I don't think it has any flaws in this operating system.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mostly in my company, we work on Ubuntu as it is a powerful OS without GUI interface. The non-IT person didn't interfere with the technical person's work, as Ubuntu is a secured OS due to its terminal interface. It is cost-effective too. Ubuntu operating system is providing professional growth and becoming more productive day by day.


    Gaurav K.

Ubuntu a great OS

  • November 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu is very similar to Rehdat Linux, and commands are straightforward like any other Linux. The main attraction towards Ubuntu is its freeware license. Earlier we were on Windows server and then we plan to move it to linux, then idea came up to our mind is to switch to ubuntu and if things goes well then we can go for Oracle Redhat Linux. But we are soo comfortable using ubuntu that we dont want to switch to any other OS.
Security wise its superb. Support is also very nice. Even we can get troubleshooting commands of ubuntu while searching it on any engine.
What do you dislike about the product?
As of now, Ubuntu is fulfilling all our criteria and we have achieved more than what we thought so we dont have any dislikes about this product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Earlier we were on Windows server and then we desperately want to migrate to linux. Then idea came up to our mind and we switch it to ubuntu and in our initial days we thought if things goes well then we can further migrate it Oracle Linux. But we are soo comfortable using ubuntu that we dont want to switch to any other OS.
In wndows there were many security concerns which were fixed in Ubuntu. And if we will talk about performance, then its way better than windows


    Michael C.

OS of choice for experimental servers.

  • November 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
A well-maintained linux distro that handles all the traditional server elements easily and without any extra effort. When working on our experimental server software, we don't have to worry about a package we need not being available or compatible.
What do you dislike about the product?
Being open source, and adding the packages you need can create security vulnerabilities, especially if you lose track of all the packages in use so you don't eventually realize you are still using something with a known issue that could have been removed or secured. It can also be challenging to teach someone else to use with no GUI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using Ubuntu for the experimental server gives us more control and the capacity to modify the operating system itself as needed easily. The cost (or lack of) also makes it easy to install on any new or existing equipment.


    Fabian Q.

easy to use

  • November 09, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to use and manage by installing packages
What do you dislike about the product?
When a package is not available on ubuntu repo it may be difficult to install
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
server to manage our services


    Lucrecia P.

Best tried linux flavour!

  • November 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Powerful, stable, friendly and especially safe.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing to complain until now, it has everything needed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Less licensing costs, more secure, robust and stable operating system.


    Madhav P.

Lighweight OS

  • November 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
the optimization is very good unlike windows in ubuntu every app which is not running in the foreground is putted to sleep when running in the background no extra processes running and no extra loss of battery life
What do you dislike about the product?
Many software are not available on Linux if u type the wrong command for something in the terminal very bad things can happen which can essentially destroy your OS
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can easily code and many developers-based applications and software are easily available from Linux which is a choice of OS for developers having full control of my OS is very helpful


    Karen A.

Best free operating system

  • November 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu is one of the solid linux builds. And the good thing is it is free, and it is very stable compared to it's analogs. It has one of best UI-s and a very good terminal.
What do you dislike about the product?
I hate the "auto updater" thingy. Unity is laggy. Sometimes kernel is getting broken. Hussle to install any third party applications(like in all linuxes). Does not support L2TP VPN natively
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is the one creating free of charge operating system to use, so you don't need to pay for the operating system to use on a computer. And it's pretty much applicable for any computer


    Computer Software

Awesome open-source alternative for the Windows Ecosystem

  • November 05, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
If your activity is not bound to specific Windows-only applications, Ubuntu can be a good OS chose for your office computer. It has a lot of packages available via snaps or repos, it has a big and active community and it gets shipped with different graphical interfaces. It's easy for everybody to adopt an Ubuntu flavor that matches their preferences in terms of GUI.
What do you dislike about the product?
You don't need to be a Linux admin or a hacker to use an Ubuntu desktop, but you must have a bunch of computer skills, in order to solve the different issues that might occur.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is providing a free OS alternative for computers. If you don't need to use specific software, like AutoCAD, Photoshop or others, you can save the money you would pay for the software licenses.