Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 20210415

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

876 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Shailendra Singh R.

Most user friendly Linux distribution

  • January 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very improved Linux distribution with modern and clean UI, accessibility features etc
What do you dislike?
The application store lacks alot of famous softwares, even those which are available for Linux. Also, there's a learning curve if switching from other OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Great for deploying server side applications and for penetration testing, etc with common modern features.


    Akhil .

Best Linux Distribution

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu's GUI which resembles the Windows operating system is fabulous. If someone is new to Linux, the first distribution to try and use is Ubuntu. The GUI, the preinstalled applications, ease of use, and the support for a wide variety of devices is truly awesome. Most of the software can be installed directly through the terminal, using the apt package installer. With a single command, a user can install the software. For developers, this distribution is heaven. Developers interested in learning about the operating system should try this distribution. Any modification can be made to not just the applications but also the operating system itself. Everyone is free to redistribute the Ubuntu operating system with any number of modifications. Support for machine learning, data engineering, and artificial engineering is great. Since this is a Linux distribution and not many people are there who are using Linux based operating systems, the number of malware and viruses is also less. In very rare cases there are cyber-attacks happening on Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
Two things that I don't like about Ubuntu. The first thing is the ubuntu package manager. Only one software can be installed at once. Whereas in Windows operating systems, a user is free to install any number of software concurrently. Second, if someone is looking forward to playing games on Ubuntu, I would like to tell you that this is a Linux distribution, not so many good games are made that run on Linux operating system. Apart from games, a lot of software that requires high GPU are not made for Linux and hence not accessible on this operating system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the Windows operating system, a developer is not able to feel the liberty and power of working in an open-source space. The free to download and edit open-source software on this operating system is truly exceptional. The learning experience of the command-line interface is truly amazing. Personally, I use this mainly for machine learning and data engineering. The support of TensorFlow and python in this operating system is amazing. Never regretted using this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
First and foremost, a person should have knowledge about the terminal and working experience with the command-line interface. If someone is looking to switch from Windows to Linux, then this is the best Linux distribution for you. Open-source support is great but at the same time, there may be bugs in the software in the open-source space. Machine learning enthusiasts and data engineers should use this Linux distribution.


    Ashutosh K.

Ubuntu a operating system which should you use

  • January 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu provides one of best ui which have less distraction, it is best for programmers
What do you dislike?
It has somewhat difficulty in operating for beginners
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use to develop software using Ubuntu os. It is lesser distractions
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You must consider if you are developer


    Education Management

ubuntu for high security.

  • January 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
i am using ubuntu for high security. It is not accepting third party applications.
What do you dislike?
Unable to use the third party applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No one can hack ubuntu. Anti- hacking is the most benefit thing.


    idoko f.

OS for Software Engineers Ubuntu

  • January 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The fact you can't just install any application and also base on the fact that it is more compatible with almost all IDE you can think of and the security is nice and to crown it all it is open source
What do you dislike?
some times it does hang which is really a pain in the ass
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basically, use in building machine learning models and writing java and python algorithm
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend ubuntu highly most especially if you are a DevOps or machine learning Engineer


    Information Technology and Services

Best linux for beginners

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has just equal amount of GUI which helps new users to easily get a hand of linux environment with not much trouble
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu should have a better exception handling for network issues and they must improve upon showing progress of task conpletion. (like a simple file copy)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am not currently solving any problems with ubuntu.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just keep exploring and find out ways to find a workaround when stuck. There are plenty of solutions available online


    Karan D.

Has improved significantly over the years

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the user interface in Ubuntu. A beautiful interface along with linux security is amazing.
What do you dislike?
I would love to see support for more applications. I definitely miss using skype and outlook on Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is an extremely good OS for machine learning and I use it primarily for that.


    Martino Nauli R.

Ubuntu for daily use

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I'm ubuntu-desktop user since their first release (4.10), what I like best from ubuntu is it's community, and easy to use. although when I write this review ubuntu has reached 20.10 release, but I'm still comfort with 18.04.
What do you dislike?
at early release, lot's of hardware and printers won't work correctly, but since ubuntu 14.04 that problem began to solved one by one.

But sometimes when you do major version upgrade, your ubuntu installation will broke, so I recommend do backup of your datas, and do clean install instead of upgrade.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
my main work is software developing, ubuntu has provide many developer tools ready to use, and many of them is free-software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ubuntu is easy to use from entertainment to production needs


    Computer & Network Security

Best operating system to use.It is very stable compare to other Linux OS

  • January 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use and i like the stability of this OS.
What do you dislike?
Not very good for people who like to do gaming.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it mostly for programming purpose and development
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you want to use linux os this one is best go for it.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu

  • January 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
forums, open-source, lighter and faster; it is the good programming and also for any kind of data science analyses because of high compatibility with software and dependencies.
What do you dislike?
UI can be better, we can use microsoft suite or other windows apps
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using it on daily basis. being a programmer i enjoy working on it.it's boot time is very less and it is a light weight software.