Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 20230131

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

1,237 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mohd A.

Best open source operating system

  • November 02, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The thing about Ubuntu is that it is open source and free to use for everyone. It's new versions are very similar to the Windows or Mac os, and if you have used them then you'll find it very familiar to use.
What do you dislike about the product?
although it's new versions are mostly UI, but still you'll need some learning curve to use it. You'll be using the terminal once in a while to install many things which is also a very good thing but if you are not that much of a tech person then you'll find it a little hard for initial days.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Ubuntu as our daily work operating system for a very long time and it solve all our corporate needs free of costs. we don't need to buy any license to install on many computers and it also comes with libre office which is also a very good alternative to Office suite.


    Chetan J.

Ubuntu Review

  • October 31, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Excellent OS and easy to use and open source and lot of API are available and environment is user friendly.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not have anything to dislike and good to use this OS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Open source and easy to build any software and very much familiar commands we use. widely using the enviromnment.


    Nikhil H.

Powerful,open source and best OS:Ubuntu

  • October 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
When I try to install the new os ubuntu I liked the user experience and it is one of the best, after using ubuntu I never used the previous OS and I deleted that. And it is open source too, easy to install and it doesn't require advanced knowledge experience with Ubuntu we can use if we know some basics command, security is one of the best features they provide.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing, but sometimes when I try to install new software and it will take more time to respond, and also better to add some most used software in the ubuntu software store.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The best about ubuntu is free/open-source, for older laptops, we can also install ubuntu and use it like a pro and its compatibility with hardware are best, it recognizes the vulnerabilities during installation of new softwrae and in my IT experience, most of the my application run on ubuntu server.


    Dhruvil V.

best linux OS

  • October 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu has the finest user interface. It runs smoothly. It is a lightweight operating system and easy to use. The best thing is that it is free for users and has many features that Coders can use.
What do you dislike about the product?
It is a very light operating system, so we can't play games on it. It does not support epic games, and only steam is supported . We can have security issues because it's an open-source OS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
They can add more features. Users have to wait for the new software of ubuntu can be solved. They can improve security in it because it's an open-source operating system.


    Sandesh M.

A popular linux distro

  • October 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is easy to use for users making a switch to Linux from windows.
What do you dislike about the product?
Like any other Linux system, it does have some issues with various device drivers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is my daily driver as a replacement for the windows system. It has brought my old laptop back to life.


    Arun Kumar Jain K.

Very good for open source and developers

  • October 27, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ability to do everything on shell terminal.
Very good developer community support.
Most of the production system runs on Ubuntu.
Lot of packages and libraries which can be very very helpful for developers.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not so good when it comes to designing.
If you are used to GUI or if you are not a developer or from tech/IT background, then Ubuntu is not so user friendly for you
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The native shell helps us in exploring a lot of things. A lot of libraries and packages are available that are super useful for developers.


    Leisure, Travel & Tourism

The best Linux distro for experienced and new users looking for an alternative to proprietary OS

  • October 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu delivers a user-friendly experience that permits first-time Linux users to use the OS without previous training. The user community is huge, and there are many active users in our region. This makes it easy to get support and resolve issues that do occur. Based on my experience with Linux, I can say that Ubuntu is one of the best options for the average user or those new to the Linux world.
What do you dislike about the product?
The main disadvantage is the same as all other Linux distros; unfortunately, some software is unavailable, and some available alternatives don't have the same features or support from the vendors to be safe to use in the long term. Although we have concluded that Ubuntu is the best option for the needs of some team members, it is essential to mention that there are other distros with better performance that adapt better to low-end devices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We bought some devices pre-installed with another Linux distro that, although functional, had an outdated interface and poor support for some of our needs. In the search for an OS that would meet our needs, we chose Ubuntu. This turned out to be the right decision because it was easy to learn for the other team members, and part of our team already had previous experience with the system. In addition, using Ubuntu allowed us to be more cost-effective when purchasing devices and met the team's demands.


    Ujjwal A.

Best Opensource linux available for free

  • October 25, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
This is the best Linux version that the open-source community has developed for us. Not only it's free but all the qualities listed here makes it really amazing to work with
1. App store - Ubuntu App store will have all the required apps for day-to-day use and free to download. It makes life so much easier instead of downloading it via terminal command you can simply click download and it gets installed.
2.No lag or Crash - I have hardly come across any scenario where ubuntu has crashed or given me hard times. Process and Battery management is so efficient that you never have to worry about tasks running in the background. Its extremely lightweight and can be used on any low-end pc or laptop.
3. Virus and Malware - They simply don't exist. If you keep your passcode strong its not easy to break into ubuntu.
4. GUI- On top of Linux it gives really cool and clean GUI which I liked the most.
What do you dislike about the product?
Have hard time installing the drivers, so sometimes my WiFI and wireless Bluetooth automatically disconnect due to driver issues. If there would have been driver support then it would make it the perfect operating system for coders. Zoom have few issues with screen sharing in ubuntu.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu helps me with my all day-to-day task which requires extreme coding and debugging sessions and meetings. It gives me clean access to all the directories of the system. The Ubuntu terminal is a one-stop solution to all your problems. APT_GET commands help me install whatever I want with just a few simple commands.
Helps me with a good and reliable lag-free GUI to navigate and free apps for me to timepass when I get bored. Software like Android Studio and VS code run smoothly on Ubuntu.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu Review

  • October 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu is open-source, and the setup process is a lot easier. Ubuntu is easier to learn with GUI.
What do you dislike about the product?
Limitations of applications. Playing games is tough on Ubuntu. Driver compatibility issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing my server, the software used is open-source, It gives us customization power.


    Rishi P.

What feature of Ubuntu do you like best?

  • October 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu is more faster than Windows since it doesn't run superfluous processes in the background that burn up my RAM, which is what most appeals to me about it. 

Its terminal helps me handle my work-related Git repositories on a regular basis as a programmer. 

And it is considerably safer than Windows. 

Ubuntu is the greatest Linux-based operating system that is beginner friendly and offers one of the best user experiences, in contrast to other Linux-based operating systems that are not as aesthetically pleasing.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have no complaints about Ubuntu, but when I use the 22.04 version, sometimes when I try to use my Bluetooth, it doesn't work. This is the only issue with the 22.04 version; in the earlier versions, everything was fine. 

I'm hoping that the upcoming Ubuntu upgrade will address this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is a great operating system for both servers and desktops. Since I primarily use the desktop version and our company uses Ubuntu servers, I can say that developing on Ubuntu is much simpler than on Mac. Year after year, that OS receives more and more tweaks that are really helpful and change the UX of the system. Since I am a programmer, I can work with IntelliJ, VS Code, and the rest of the cloud stack much more quickly and easily than on Windows.