Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

187 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Consumer Goods

BackUp Exec Software

  • April 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is easy to use. very user friendly and the wizards make it easy to do the task you need done
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometime it send false positive messages
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backing up our everyday servers


    Gopinath S.

Veritas Backup Exec is nice data protection product

  • April 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Simplicity and easy to install and protect data backups.
What do you dislike about the product?
No comment. No such feature which I disliked.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ability to protect the server infrastructure along with the operating system.


    Terry M.

Backup - the way to go

  • April 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I really prefer the disaster recovery aspect of the software. We also have multi drives but I don't know much about that
What do you dislike about the product?
I had a little trouble creating the SDR disk. But I believe it was my own issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The simplicity of the program allows more than a few admins can be available in emergencies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A good name that you don't really have to pay more for the name!


    Anirudh K.

Backup and recoevry for small environments

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Its is a very simple backup tool to manage
What do you dislike about the product?
It is not very feature rich as compared to other tools
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Taking backups for small regional sites having 2-3 servers at each location
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its is good for backing up small infrastructure


    Entertainment

One stop shop Backup solution

  • January 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Veritas Backup exec is a one stop shop for backup requirements. From system backups to granular level file backups
What do you dislike about the product?
Little expensive compared to other products
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Exchange database backups, AD backups, file server backups
Recommendations to others considering the product:
N/A


    Ian R.

SImple to use and setup and it works.

  • January 03, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is easy to setup and keep up to date. It has been easy to add additional servers. When I needed to restore data, it has been there.
What do you dislike about the product?
I find that licensing can be confusing. It has told be I should be using VM features every time I add a virtual server, but I am not license for that version of the agent.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The software keeps an update copy of the servers and data I back up. I have been able older versions of files and do complete bare metal server restores when needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a great product for nightly scheduled backups. If you need instant recovery points and many VM, I would recommend Veeam or Zerto.


    Computer Hardware

Works well, highly recommend

  • December 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's fast, does what it's supposed to do and does it well.
What do you dislike about the product?
The user interface could use a little work to be simpler.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Allows backup of live Exchange Server.


    Government Relations

Common Backup Software

  • December 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
With the latest Backup Exec backup software, comes the abilities to store your backup to the clouds (AWS). The backup software enables you to backup your VMs and dataset. What I mean by dataset is the grandular backup say c:\folder instead of the VMs.
The wizard that guides you to do the backup is straight forward, but it's really up to you to customize your type of backup (Differential, Incrmental, Full, Schedule, and Email Notification). It's not too complex. The customer service that you get is great. I recommend customer service if you have questions.
What do you dislike about the product?
What I don't like is not being able to create a backup group with the same schedule and place the backup VMs or dataset into them. I would have to create each backup hosts individually which is awful. The previous versions, I forget which one, had the ability too. I don't understand why it was taken out. In addition, backup is not deduplicated at the block or file level. I have proven this point to the customer service and they verified that it wasn't even though the product says it is deduplicated.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Finding a backup software that can allow for backup for a fraction of the cost of a more robust application. The costs of saving is money. That's why we have it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If the company wants to save money with a backup software, get Backup Exec. However, there's a price for the low cost. That price is recovery of your data. It will take time to recover and backup your large data.


    Hospital & Health Care

Inexpensive Backup Software

  • November 09, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's designed for small data Backup and Recovery. With that, it saves you money on a backup software. I also like that you can now integrate AWS as a Target. It's fairly easy to use Backup software. The support you get is A+.
What do you dislike about the product?
I do wish that the reports interface can be improved. It's too complicated for me to customize reports. Almost every reports that I have to collect data needs the vendor to support me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The business problem is having a low cost backup software to provide DR of data. The benefits is having to restore data when needed without paying so much for a backup software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for small data size backup.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

BackupExec used in 18 locations

  • October 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's easy to use and configure. The graphical interface is attractive and intuitive
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing relevant. In most cases, there are only hardware-related issues
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used it to back up various servers including SharePoint 2010 & 2013 farms.
The ability to perform granular restore is many times useful.