Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

185 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Johnathan W.

Decades of using Backup Exec

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The most useful aspect and benefit to our organization in using Backup Exec is writing to tape to take offsite.
What do you dislike about the product?
What I dislike most is the slow speed of the backup despite our investments in the latest servers and tape libraries. That has caused our backup window to grow excessively beyond a reasonable size.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It addresses the regulatory requirements of ensuring we have our data backed up and taken offsite to ensure we have contingencies and can recover in case of disasters.


    Computer Networking

Comprehensive backup solution

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Backup Exec's cataloging of all backups is extensive, and makes it easy to restore on a granular level.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some of the more advanced and potentially useful features are not easy to implement. Sets of simplified step by step instructions that would apply in common scenarios would be very helpful.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Insuring that I can always recover from files that were accidentally deleted or corrupted. It is also a strong line of defense against ransomware and other malicious attacks.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Works well with small data backups

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Highly recommended for small backup jobs.
What do you dislike about the product?
Doesn't work well with large data backups, over 2 TB, as jobs sent to tapes tend to timeout and not back up data. Never really know if I have a good backup unless I restore it onto another device. Most backups jobs tend to be incomplete on large backups, and I have to cancel them; some run for 2-6 days, only partially backing up or without backing up anything.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
None, at this time, have had these issues for years since purchasing software. I was told not to allow backups to upload by one of your Techs. He said that was causing the problems, but that hasn't made any difference.


    Mark B.

Powerful and intuitive software that fits into just about any environment and backup need

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the intuitive interface and the flexible aspects of the software, which combine into a powerful yet cost-effective tool that my staff can understand and utilize to manage our backup and restore environment.
What do you dislike about the product?
What I dislike is the forced upgrades to the software to maintain support. The upgrade process isn't over burdensome; it is just that they take time and effort to validate the changes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Veritas Backup Exec to backup, archive, and restore data. So far, we are local datacenter-based server environment. In the future, as we will be moving servers to the cloud, it's nice to have a software/solution partner who is able to support our needs in that area, as well.


    Julio V.

Protección en la nube

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Poder respaldar tanto dentro de la empresa como por INternet y en la nube
What do you dislike about the product?
No tiene integracion con VRP ni NetBackup
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Proteger el ambiente virtual y poder recueprarlo en la nube


    Automotive

Excellent backup tool for small/medium business

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I've been using BackupExec since 2010, and I can notice that during these years, the version was improved and got more new functionalities focused on small/medium businesses. I like their support and also keep contributing to making this tool better.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some errors presented during backup or restores are not fully clear and need some detailed information. Even with the excellent GUI, sometimes I think that the error messages are too generic, and it's necessary to investigate deeper to get the root cause.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The GUI was improved since 2010 version, and I noticed that since 16 version, it's more focused on any IT specialist with backup skills can operate it. Also, the licensing method is very clear now.


    Johnny H.

Powerful yet cost effective backup software.

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Once everything is set up and scheduled it is a fully hands off backup system.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes expired backups do not automatically delete and require manual intervention. This can cause your cloud storage bill to be higher than necessary if you use cloud storage.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup Exec allows me to have offsite backup using AWS in the event of a disaster. No physical media to deal with is a wonderful thing.


    Larry F.

25+Year Backup Exec user

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It works even better than it is advertised too. The tech support when needed is superb
What do you dislike about the product?
Some of the notifications can be slightly confusing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It allows for inexpensive offsite storage as well as for cloud backups


    Chemicals

Muy contento y satisfecho con el producto.

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
La facilidad para crear un trabajo de backup.
What do you dislike about the product?
Ultimamente tuve que configurar un espacio de backup S3 y era algo confuso, porque tuve que añadir el certificado. Fué facil encontrar la solución en la ayuda de Veritas.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Me resuelve mi backup diario en multiples dispositivos.


    Real Estate

A solid backup solution

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Veritas Backup Exec works well, is reasonably intuitive to configure, can remotely install the client applications quickly, and has good reporting capability. It's a solid backup solution for business.
What do you dislike about the product?
The email reporting could be a bit easier to configure. There are settings in more than one location per backup job and can result in multiple daily emails for the same thing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It allows us to have a single console for managing our backups.