Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

123 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Veritas Backup Exec

  • February 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Veritas BE has a solid core engine that has a proven track record. It has flexible configurations and licensing.
What do you dislike?
The recent re-write performed by Symantec when they owned it. Tooksa clean GUI and added too much to it. GUI performance took a hit with the rewrite.

Support renewal policy is too rigid. If you don;t renew within the given timeframe (I believe 30 days), ou need to buy new licenses. No flexibility for late renewals. Good reason to go to a competitor.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup of data.


    Internal Consultant in Information Technology and Services

Backup Exec

  • February 03, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Backup exec is like the distant unwealthy cousin of NBU. It has helped me in scheduling backup with minimal intrusion and highly reliable.
What do you dislike?
The fact that it cannot integrate and that it does not have an appliance any more. having an appliance made my Dedupe much easier.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Scheduled Backup, high availability, compliance
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Backupexec should be the first choice for all the windows shop companies. The integration option to cloud later with veritas is an added advantage.


    Maria B.

Excellent Solution for a Reasonable Price

  • January 31, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use and set up. We use on standalone servers and Microsoft Hyper-V. Reliable and works well with an over-the-network NAS server. I have been using this product in various environments for over 12 years, and I have had only minimal problems. that were easily resolved.
What do you dislike?
The program can slow down and it can be difficult to figure out why. Sometimes it is a network problem and others it is the NAS itself. It would be helpful to have some troubleshooting. It does require quite a bit of memory to keep it running smoothly, but works well on a virutal machine, so that was not a problem for us.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are backing up all of our servers and saving the data over our WAN to a remote elementary school. Saves us time and money from using backup tapes and paying a company to store them offsite


    Depak P.

Thorough back up software

  • January 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to use, a few clicks and you're pretty much away
What do you dislike?
Time taken to restore items a bit longer than a previous role but that may have to do with the tape drive being different.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ease of use, simply grabbing the folders you need to back up made short work of keeping our data secure. Time saved.

Restoring although took a little longer than expected was still very easy to use. All in all an easy application to work with.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Choose the right backup tapes. We had a few non starters before finding ones which worked for us.


    Ricardo C.

do what we need

  • January 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For us, it is simple ,usefull and fast to use.
What do you dislike?
at this time, we do not have problems with Veritas.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we have all data backed up.


    Mark M.

Backup Exec is the one for you!

  • January 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This product is versatile and allows you to backup mostly any platform, OS or App. I have used various versions of this for many years and its always been reliable and dependable.
What do you dislike?
The pricing model is challenging and can bring tears to your eyes as the years move on, Their model started many years ago with the option to allow you to connect and remote backup alot of platforms and now I find some of the features have been stripped and added as cost options!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Moving from a script based backup system in one case to this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check what you need regarding all the addon products. Its easy to be oversold and you may need a decent supplier to advice you. Find one you trust.


    Larry P.

Using Backup Exec

  • January 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The new version we are currently using (2016) has overcome many of the issues we had encountered in previous versions. We had been looking to replace the platform before testing this version.
What do you dislike?
We do have some issues with external storage connectivity. These issues have improved since we moved to the 2016 version.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
BUExec is the centerpiece of our developing disaster recovery plan. It is providing reliable backups (and restore operations when needed).


    Emmauel E.

Backup Solution for Mid and Small office

  • January 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is one or the easy solutions in the market. Veritas is always improvement them self. The Microsoft support is the best.
What do you dislike?
The support for cloud is still a work in progress.
The console can has some room to improvement.
They need a web console.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
When you need a backup solution that almost not need support you have more time to work in other things.
Working with MIcrosoft's based architecture is simple with Backup Exec
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The relation price vs utility is the best


    Nick B.

Backup Exec for Physical Backups

  • January 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and easy to restore files when users delete/corrupt them.
What do you dislike?
Backup exec has some issues handling our virtual environment, hence why we're using it for physical only.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Saves the end user when careless mistakes are made to files. Saves hours of time recreating files.


    Benjamin K.

Solid Backup Solution

  • January 17, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The GUI is intuitive and easy to use. Backup jobs process at a decent speed relative to the size of the backup.
What do you dislike?
It can be a challenge to get the storage configured correctly the first time around.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
By setting up multiple jobs across multiple devices we have reduced our backup window substantially.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a solid program for the price. Fairly easy to setup aside from the storage, and there are enough whitepapers and articles on Symantec's website to solve setup issues.