Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

180 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Decent solution but not the best on the market

  • April 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Provides a good fairly easy to use backup solution for you and your customers.
What do you dislike?
More time and resource intensive that some of its competitors like Cohesity.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were able to back up our systems and restore if there were any issues from patching or stog applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at Cohesity and other competitors, they may fit your needs more and provide a better software.


    Gosi M.

Veritas Backup Exec

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup and use, ability to recover both physical and virtual workloads, baremetal recovery to dissimilar hardware or across various virtualisation platforms
What do you dislike?
so far so good, however every product has minor challenges that ultimately are addressed with time
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backing up of our customers' core infrastructure with quick recovery time objectives and strict recovery point objectives
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Veritas Backup Exec is a well looked after product that has been protecting customer data since the days of early computing. Over the years Veritas Backup Exec has evolved into a mid market solution.


    Computer Software

360 Degree Protection with Veritas Backup Exec

  • August 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not only Backup Exec protects various environment from Virtuall, Cloud , Physical it also integrates with Info Map to give holistic view of what we have in our DC as well as cloud which allows to take appropriate actions with regards to data management
What do you dislike?
I hope they come with feature withing BE to failover servers using Azure & AWS native tools right with in the management console
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are trying to consolidate data management and at the same time make the data highly available when needed. With this we are able to achieve compliance and uptime
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If anyone looking for data management solution Veritas BE is definately a good choice also its integration with Information Map make it a formidable solution


    Jamie J.

Reliable daily backups for server clusters

  • August 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Veritas Backup Exec is one of the most well known backup software solutions in the industry. One of the things I like best about it is the fact that, unlike some newer software platforms, it supports an array of legacy hardware backup solutions (such as tape backup) in addition to modern offerings like hot-swappable hard drives or even cloud backup repositories.
What do you dislike?
While reliability is good overall, I do occasionally run into issues that need attention to resolve. It's tough though to say definitely if those issues are necessarily to do with Veritas Backup Exec as opposed to the associated hardware the software is controlling, but nonetheless it hasn't been entirely hands off. That being said, when issues have risen, the tech support for Backup Exec has been truly excellent. They respond quickly and are quite knowledgeable in solving issues. They will also happily connect remotely to either walk you through or even actively perform the steps required to get you back up and running fast.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Veritas Backup Exec is an integral component of our complete backup and redundancy plan. It allows us to maintain a reliable set of both on-site and off-site backups and replications. It also allows for simple restore methods that are used in the event of disaster recovery or even for simple user errors such as accidentally deleting or modifying files or folders on our servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have any legacy hardware you want to continue to use for backups, I would highly recommend considering Veritas Backup Exec.


    Hospital & Health Care

Great, simple, care free back up

  • July 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that when I first set this up I had so many options of where I could integrate my storage through, Azure, Google cloud platform, ASW. It made me feel like I wasn't locked down. Once up and running the process is seamless and took the worry of losing data away from my mind so I could focus on other things.
What do you dislike?
My only complaint is that initially I had some trouble figuring out the software, all of the ins and outs. I cant fault the company, I just feel there was a bit more to learn than I had expected but this is due to all of the options I had which is a good thing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problem I am solving is a catastrophic loss of data with no redundancy. This software takes that worry from my mind and eliminates such thoughts. I never have to worry with this software running.


    Verified User in Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Happy with the backup system we use!

  • July 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the consistency of the product. We have used it for quite some time and rarely have any issues. We used the product back when it was Symantec Backup Exec. Symantec sold to Veritas.
What do you dislike?
I wish my company would allow cloud backup! Currently my company prefers to store all of our data in house on tape drives on our physical DR system with another vendor.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Local backup of all server system data. We run a physical backup of our data every evening.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest sitting through a demo and reviewing the pro's and con's of the solution they offer. The software will work out of the box, it's just a matter of some basic training and education to run it.


    Construction

Backup the backup

  • June 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
good value for the money and easy to setup basically idiot proof to configure. this easy concept makes it a great tool for the novice user and small business owner trying to maintain documents including customer manifests in a safe orderly manner.
What do you dislike?
that protection is linux server protection; not all linux servers offer 24hr support unlike majority of windows vendors, which isn't always good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
backup employee payroll and other pertinent information for our company; the benefits include the basic fact it isn't as expensive as some of the other backup solutions out there
Recommendations to others considering the product:
it depends on your company needs.....and cost expense in researching backup solutions honestly....the ease of use and setup makes this a win-win...


    Praveen N.

Typical Backup Solution

  • May 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Technical Customer care support is pretty good and in fact very quick at responding. Can open support tickets via Veritas support portal or via phone or by online chat too. On Level 4 critical System production down, support will respond in minutes and try to solve the issue. Backup Exec is able to backup virtual Machines and physical servers too.
What do you dislike?
Very Expensive compared to other backup solutions available now in the market like Veeam, Altero which also have some backdrops like unable to backup physical machines but good comparable solutions. Veritas license for each module is very expensive. Need to buy license for each agent and a server core license and if at all if we need to use more than 1 drive to run the backups , we need to buy extra Library expansion option licenses along with core license.
In present days we have many issues with backing up several servers and with sql server instances. Support asking us to create separate jobs for drives on the servers and Sql server or My sql instances, which doesn not make any sense and after doing that too, the jobs fail. The jobs success has become very inconsistent now a days. We are on Backup exec 16 and they say that they cannot support SQL server 2017.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Getting backups for all critical production servers, of course with few flaws. Can recover files in granular level from backups and able to backup database instances and applications along with drives.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ask veritas for a test license to try and see if your backups are consistent before buying the solution


    Public Safety

veritas backup Exec review

  • May 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the stable back up utility which can support regular backup.
What do you dislike?
I hate that it doesn't support well on the local network backup.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I solved my local computer regular backup with Veritas Backup Exec.


    Richard M.

Could be so much better.

  • May 09, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Interface is clean and easy to use.
Jobs, storage and scheduling is easy to set up.
External storage devices are easy to add.
What do you dislike?
Very poor first-line support
Several bugs found but Veritas seem incapable or unwilling to acknowledge them, seem to have no way of reporting them either, I was directed to a page for suggesting Functionality and Ideas.
Cannot use incremental or differential jobs on a NAS as BE cannot install agent.
Registry hack needed to make some reports function correctly.
Job failures reported when job has actually succeeded.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Complex backup schedules working alongside other backup solution vendors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Product itself is not too bad but support is very lacking. Read up on software problems before purchasing.