Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

184 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Construction

Backup the backup

  • June 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
good value for the money and easy to setup basically idiot proof to configure. this easy concept makes it a great tool for the novice user and small business owner trying to maintain documents including customer manifests in a safe orderly manner.
What do you dislike?
that protection is linux server protection; not all linux servers offer 24hr support unlike majority of windows vendors, which isn't always good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
backup employee payroll and other pertinent information for our company; the benefits include the basic fact it isn't as expensive as some of the other backup solutions out there
Recommendations to others considering the product:
it depends on your company needs.....and cost expense in researching backup solutions honestly....the ease of use and setup makes this a win-win...


    Praveen N.

Typical Backup Solution

  • May 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Technical Customer care support is pretty good and in fact very quick at responding. Can open support tickets via Veritas support portal or via phone or by online chat too. On Level 4 critical System production down, support will respond in minutes and try to solve the issue. Backup Exec is able to backup virtual Machines and physical servers too.
What do you dislike?
Very Expensive compared to other backup solutions available now in the market like Veeam, Altero which also have some backdrops like unable to backup physical machines but good comparable solutions. Veritas license for each module is very expensive. Need to buy license for each agent and a server core license and if at all if we need to use more than 1 drive to run the backups , we need to buy extra Library expansion option licenses along with core license.
In present days we have many issues with backing up several servers and with sql server instances. Support asking us to create separate jobs for drives on the servers and Sql server or My sql instances, which doesn not make any sense and after doing that too, the jobs fail. The jobs success has become very inconsistent now a days. We are on Backup exec 16 and they say that they cannot support SQL server 2017.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Getting backups for all critical production servers, of course with few flaws. Can recover files in granular level from backups and able to backup database instances and applications along with drives.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ask veritas for a test license to try and see if your backups are consistent before buying the solution


    Public Safety

veritas backup Exec review

  • May 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the stable back up utility which can support regular backup.
What do you dislike?
I hate that it doesn't support well on the local network backup.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I solved my local computer regular backup with Veritas Backup Exec.


    Richard M.

Could be so much better.

  • May 09, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Interface is clean and easy to use.
Jobs, storage and scheduling is easy to set up.
External storage devices are easy to add.
What do you dislike?
Very poor first-line support
Several bugs found but Veritas seem incapable or unwilling to acknowledge them, seem to have no way of reporting them either, I was directed to a page for suggesting Functionality and Ideas.
Cannot use incremental or differential jobs on a NAS as BE cannot install agent.
Registry hack needed to make some reports function correctly.
Job failures reported when job has actually succeeded.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Complex backup schedules working alongside other backup solution vendors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Product itself is not too bad but support is very lacking. Read up on software problems before purchasing.


    Education Management

As complicated or simple as you need it to be

  • May 02, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The user interface is intuitive and gives you access to all the features you use the most
What do you dislike?
Error reporting is often difficult to decipher
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have implemented a disk to disk to tape backup system which it manages with minimum fuss and excludes those files we have deemed unnecessary saving backup space.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a granular control of what needs backing up then this is a good product but if you just backup everything there are cheaper products on the market


    John S.

Simple to use backup solution

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Backup Exec is very user friendly. Whether you want to perform a push installation of a backup agent, backup a server, or do a restore, all of the functions are easily accessible from the main console. The software also allows you to perform agentless backups of virtual machines.
What do you dislike?
It would be nice if Backup Exec included an option for cloud replication.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are able to backup our critical servers, and easily restore any files as the need arises.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Backup Exec is nice if you are looking for an option to simply backup your servers.


    Patrick L.

Backups that work with little problems

  • April 23, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Setup is simple and backup jobs can be created quickly including mass installation of backup agents.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it is hard to update to newer versions of the server software with out total reinstalling it
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Service and support when needed and 24/7 flawless backups to tape it disk or a combination of each


    Consumer Goods

BackUp Exec Software

  • April 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use. very user friendly and the wizards make it easy to do the task you need done
What do you dislike?
Sometime it send false positive messages
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backing up our everyday servers


    Gopinath S.

Veritas Backup Exec is nice data protection product

  • April 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity and easy to install and protect data backups.
What do you dislike?
No comment. No such feature which I disliked.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ability to protect the server infrastructure along with the operating system.


    Terry M.

Backup - the way to go

  • April 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really prefer the disaster recovery aspect of the software. We also have multi drives but I don't know much about that
What do you dislike?
I had a little trouble creating the SDR disk. But I believe it was my own issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The simplicity of the program allows more than a few admins can be available in emergencies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A good name that you don't really have to pay more for the name!