Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

123 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Nick P.

Clunky but works

  • January 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
That my data is backed up most of the time
What do you dislike?
The interface is clunky and backups constantly fail and have to be monitored
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am backing up my data in case of emergency restore. Peace of mind is the greatest benefit we have received


    Management Consulting

Solid, Dependable and Flexible

  • January 03, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Straightforward backups, easily configurable and clean. I can keep it basic or crank up the bells and whistles with no effect on performance.
What do you dislike?
It would be nice to even have a 'lite' version of a Mac OS Backup for laptop users to sync in with existing backup solutions. I believe even a more accessible option for mobile, "on-the-go" users would be great. A backup solution for a full travel package user. (Laptop, Cell, Tablet, etc.) that is multi-platform.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Steady backups with no errors. Peace of mind
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you map out your backup needs and network capabilities first. Don't jump in without knowing the size of your deployment, and the strength of your network speed.


    Computer & Network Security

Backup Exec

  • December 22, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
DLO Desktop/Laptop option for mobile users
What do you dislike?
Patches and updates break the package and require support to resolve undocumented fixes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
complete mobile user backup anytime the unit connected to main office.


    Computer & Network Security

Been Using it for years successfully

  • December 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup and does what it should do. Agents are easily pushed to clients and the connections are reliable.
What do you dislike?
Complex interface-Difficult to setup targets on robotic libraries but once you understand it it gets easier
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
General Backup & restores


    Information Technology and Services

Reliable backup solution with a terrible interface

  • December 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature is the ability to create complex backup plans with multiple base backups with daily or hourly incrementals.
What do you dislike?
The interface is awful. There appear to be at least three ways to create backups under different tabs and sections. It is almost impossible to figure out how to restore a single file or an entire drive in an emergency.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am backing up multiple internal and customer systems at two locations. We have been able to quickly recover from deleted files and crashed hard drives.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Become acquainted with the user interface before committing to this product. Backups work well and are reliable. However, in an emergency it is difficult to find the right place to go to restore a file or folder.


    Luke C.

Poor interface. Miss BackupExec 2010

  • December 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Compression rate is good. Speed is adequate for the amount we backup on a weekly basis.
What do you dislike?
The interface design looks like a 5th grader did it. Poorly designed and difficult to get to items that should be readily accessible
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backups and restores are the only problems this solves.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Unless you like complex administration avoid it. TSM is ahead of then.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Backing up couldn't be more easier

  • November 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Backup Exec does a splendid job and makes backing up a simple process
What do you dislike?
Errors occasionally occur but rebounding from such errors is a simple fix
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are getting reassurance that we can reliably retrieve information when it is needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Veritas Backup Exec does a great job at backing up and restoring data.


    Education Management

Backup I can trust?

  • November 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the easy to use backup features of VBE but had issues with the restore capabilities.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that I have been unable at times to connect to the cloud and restore time was longer than expected which is why we had to change to a different system.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am working with a database of guest teaches and placement in schools in the Denver area.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I do not recommend Veritas Backup Exec.


    Plastics

Good backup application with just a little bit of quirkiness

  • November 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I appreciate that Backup Exec has continued to expand the types of media that it can use as backup destination. I also appreciate the fact that Backup Exec is fairly intuitive compared to other backup applications I have used previously.
What do you dislike?
Backup Exec can sometimes be a bit quirky. Backups should for the most part be a set it and forget it type scenario (other than swapping out backup media.). But for some reason, everything would be going fine for awhile and then out of the blue, a job would fail. A little TLC and things would be OK for a bit and then another failure.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Since we have moved to a mostly virtualized server environment, we no longer use Backup Exec for the bulk of our backups, but we still continue to use for for a few physical computers. For these systems, the setup and use is very straight forward.


    Law Practice

Excellent backup product

  • November 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With our current infrastructure. This works excellent. Backup with ease. Has a high end data protection too. Has a simple one click licence.
What do you dislike?
Haven't found a fault yet. So far so good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using it for backups, and cloud.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a one stop easy to use and reliable product.