Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

187 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Larry P.

Using Backup Exec

  • January 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The new version we are currently using (2016) has overcome many of the issues we had encountered in previous versions. We had been looking to replace the platform before testing this version.
What do you dislike about the product?
We do have some issues with external storage connectivity. These issues have improved since we moved to the 2016 version.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
BUExec is the centerpiece of our developing disaster recovery plan. It is providing reliable backups (and restore operations when needed).


    Emmauel E.

Backup Solution for Mid and Small office

  • January 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
This is one or the easy solutions in the market. Veritas is always improvement them self. The Microsoft support is the best.
What do you dislike about the product?
The support for cloud is still a work in progress.
The console can has some room to improvement.
They need a web console.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
When you need a backup solution that almost not need support you have more time to work in other things.
Working with MIcrosoft's based architecture is simple with Backup Exec
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The relation price vs utility is the best


    Nick B.

Backup Exec for Physical Backups

  • January 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use and easy to restore files when users delete/corrupt them.
What do you dislike about the product?
Backup exec has some issues handling our virtual environment, hence why we're using it for physical only.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Saves the end user when careless mistakes are made to files. Saves hours of time recreating files.


    Benjamin K.

Solid Backup Solution

  • January 17, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The GUI is intuitive and easy to use. Backup jobs process at a decent speed relative to the size of the backup.
What do you dislike about the product?
It can be a challenge to get the storage configured correctly the first time around.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
By setting up multiple jobs across multiple devices we have reduced our backup window substantially.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a solid program for the price. Fairly easy to setup aside from the storage, and there are enough whitepapers and articles on Symantec's website to solve setup issues.


    Nick P.

Clunky but works

  • January 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
That my data is backed up most of the time
What do you dislike about the product?
The interface is clunky and backups constantly fail and have to be monitored
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am backing up my data in case of emergency restore. Peace of mind is the greatest benefit we have received


    Management Consulting

Solid, Dependable and Flexible

  • January 03, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Straightforward backups, easily configurable and clean. I can keep it basic or crank up the bells and whistles with no effect on performance.
What do you dislike about the product?
It would be nice to even have a 'lite' version of a Mac OS Backup for laptop users to sync in with existing backup solutions. I believe even a more accessible option for mobile, "on-the-go" users would be great. A backup solution for a full travel package user. (Laptop, Cell, Tablet, etc.) that is multi-platform.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Steady backups with no errors. Peace of mind
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you map out your backup needs and network capabilities first. Don't jump in without knowing the size of your deployment, and the strength of your network speed.


    Computer & Network Security

Backup Exec

  • December 22, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
DLO Desktop/Laptop option for mobile users
What do you dislike about the product?
Patches and updates break the package and require support to resolve undocumented fixes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
complete mobile user backup anytime the unit connected to main office.


    Computer & Network Security

Been Using it for years successfully

  • December 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to setup and does what it should do. Agents are easily pushed to clients and the connections are reliable.
What do you dislike about the product?
Complex interface-Difficult to setup targets on robotic libraries but once you understand it it gets easier
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
General Backup & restores


    Information Technology and Services

Reliable backup solution with a terrible interface

  • December 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best feature is the ability to create complex backup plans with multiple base backups with daily or hourly incrementals.
What do you dislike about the product?
The interface is awful. There appear to be at least three ways to create backups under different tabs and sections. It is almost impossible to figure out how to restore a single file or an entire drive in an emergency.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am backing up multiple internal and customer systems at two locations. We have been able to quickly recover from deleted files and crashed hard drives.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Become acquainted with the user interface before committing to this product. Backups work well and are reliable. However, in an emergency it is difficult to find the right place to go to restore a file or folder.


    Luke C.

Poor interface. Miss BackupExec 2010

  • December 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Compression rate is good. Speed is adequate for the amount we backup on a weekly basis.
What do you dislike about the product?
The interface design looks like a 5th grader did it. Poorly designed and difficult to get to items that should be readily accessible
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backups and restores are the only problems this solves.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Unless you like complex administration avoid it. TSM is ahead of then.