Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

184 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vinay Y.

Veritas Backup exec is best solution for any workload like Physical, Virtual or cloud.

  • November 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CASO and MMS technology
Direct data write on Tape which is not available in some compeditors
What do you dislike?
Backup Server Limitation in Licensing core module
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In Veeam we cannot backup data directly on Tape or on Cloud, but in Backup Exec we can backup


    Punit W.

Having Very Good experience with Veritas

  • November 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Backup to the cloud is best part of Backup exec and simplicity and ease of management.

It has very simple and user friendly console which I like the most.

Recent new license which is very good and easy to understand. ( BE simple license)
What do you dislike?
Almost all the features and requirements are covered by Veritas backup exec and even ransomware protetction is covered by Veritas backup exec.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1) LIcensing part... in past licensing was very difficult to understand but now it is easy to understand


    Suresh U.

Veritas is number one in Backup technology

  • November 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Backups run in fingertips, Fast and smooth, also especially on the restore-very quick
What do you dislike?
Nothing specific, some patch managements
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backups and restores are on-time, reports are very good


    Frank K.

Best backup software so far

  • November 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
flexibility and options for servers and computers are great
What do you dislike?
licensing is very confusing and sometimes a pain
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It provides a good way to backup and crypt sensible data


    Akash M.

Having very good experience with Veritas

  • November 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Management and flexibility.

As Backup exec support virtual, physical and cloud backup through single console which is very easy.
What do you dislike?
Agent-based backup for Physical server backup
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The licensing part was very complex earlier, and now it is easy to understand


    Nilesh S.

Gartner Leader in DataProtection Era

  • November 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Multiple Instant Recovery for VMS option
What do you dislike?
There is no option in the Backup Exec console to view license utilisation
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In case of Disaster recovery, we can start multiple VMs through Instant VM Recovery


    Alan S.

O software é bastante robusto no quesito backup para Vmware, Windows e Linux.

  • November 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A simplicidade de realizar as tarefas e na visualização das atividades.
What do you dislike?
O upgrade de versão poderia ser feito direto pelo software em vez de realizar uma nova instalação.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Nos ajudou a realizar os backups das VMs do meu ambiente de TI.


    Geovanny J.

Ing. Especialista

  • November 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
lo sencillo que es administrar y el licenciamiento
What do you dislike?
No soporta todos los sistemas operativos Unix
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
el tema de los costos es muy buen beneficio.


    Loren S.

I have been using Backup Exec for 20 years!

  • November 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For over 20 years, our organization has been using Backup Exec. From the older versions of the software with our HP tape drives & media to our current environment with Dell PowerVault hardware and LTO tapes, BE has always been a crucial part of our disaster recovery plan. We still have legacy hardware in place and have multiple instances of Backup Exec 2010 R3 still running strong. This version of the software is, without a doubt, one of the most reliable products I have ever used! There were some growing pains with newer versions after 2010, as they tried to modernize the software while unfortunately removing the simplicity that made it great. This is the reason we have stuck with v2010 for so long.

Last year after a server crash, we reinstalled with v2021. I was pleased to find that this version was still easy to use for our daily file backups while having other features for modern IT. Aside from backup to tape, I have also used backup to disk and have successfully backed up & restored a server on Hyper-V. Today, we are on v2022, which looks the same as v2021.

As a registered charity organization, we are always looking for vendors that offer nonprofit discounts. I cannot give enough praise to Veritas for being a TechSoup donation program member for all these years!
What do you dislike?
My only complaint would be when major changes are made to new versions. Adding new features is good, but don't mess with the core functionality that most people are used to and rely on! I have no complaints about the current version.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use it for our daily file backups to tape.


    Johnathan W.

Decades of using Backup Exec

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most useful aspect and benefit to our organization in using Backup Exec is writing to tape to take offsite.
What do you dislike?
What I dislike most is the slow speed of the backup despite our investments in the latest servers and tape libraries. That has caused our backup window to grow excessively beyond a reasonable size.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It addresses the regulatory requirements of ensuring we have our data backed up and taken offsite to ensure we have contingencies and can recover in case of disasters.