Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

140 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Daniel L.

Good Backup software for small business

  • August 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to configure. You do not need advanced skills to schedule a recovery plan or data backup. Backups can be configured to use a NAS, SMB, DRIVES...etc. This software is fast and has a deduplicity function. You can backup phisycal or virtualiced environments.
What do you dislike?
Sometines the agent can not be deployed or system services can not be installed with the deployment of the client.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use deduplication and VMWare backup. This is a centralized Backup software, instead of use Windows Backup.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it and make a good plan and configuration, it works.


    Aviation & Aerospace

My Experience with Veritas (Backup Exec)

  • June 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
this is one of the most beautiful software I ever met in my life, I used it for backing up the Data in many companies where I worked before, and before the cloud solutions were founded, I used this software for first time in 2005 - 2006, used it for backing up DCs, MS Exchange server, ISA Server and File Servers
What do you dislike?
just the main dashboard, maybe needs some re-design, but in general it is very Good
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backed up all Data in the companies I worked at, and sometimes I restored the data on disasters, and Data Transfer
Recommendations to others considering the product:
just make some re-design to the Dashboard


    Information Technology and Services

Decent solution but not the best on the market

  • April 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Provides a good fairly easy to use backup solution for you and your customers.
What do you dislike?
More time and resource intensive that some of its competitors like Cohesity.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were able to back up our systems and restore if there were any issues from patching or stog applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at Cohesity and other competitors, they may fit your needs more and provide a better software.


    Gosi M.

Veritas Backup Exec

  • January 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup and use, ability to recover both physical and virtual workloads, baremetal recovery to dissimilar hardware or across various virtualisation platforms
What do you dislike?
so far so good, however every product has minor challenges that ultimately are addressed with time
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backing up of our customers' core infrastructure with quick recovery time objectives and strict recovery point objectives
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Veritas Backup Exec is a well looked after product that has been protecting customer data since the days of early computing. Over the years Veritas Backup Exec has evolved into a mid market solution.


    Computer Software

360 Degree Protection with Veritas Backup Exec

  • August 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not only Backup Exec protects various environment from Virtuall, Cloud , Physical it also integrates with Info Map to give holistic view of what we have in our DC as well as cloud which allows to take appropriate actions with regards to data management
What do you dislike?
I hope they come with feature withing BE to failover servers using Azure & AWS native tools right with in the management console
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are trying to consolidate data management and at the same time make the data highly available when needed. With this we are able to achieve compliance and uptime
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If anyone looking for data management solution Veritas BE is definately a good choice also its integration with Information Map make it a formidable solution


    Jamie J.

Reliable daily backups for server clusters

  • August 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Veritas Backup Exec is one of the most well known backup software solutions in the industry. One of the things I like best about it is the fact that, unlike some newer software platforms, it supports an array of legacy hardware backup solutions (such as tape backup) in addition to modern offerings like hot-swappable hard drives or even cloud backup repositories.
What do you dislike?
While reliability is good overall, I do occasionally run into issues that need attention to resolve. It's tough though to say definitely if those issues are necessarily to do with Veritas Backup Exec as opposed to the associated hardware the software is controlling, but nonetheless it hasn't been entirely hands off. That being said, when issues have risen, the tech support for Backup Exec has been truly excellent. They respond quickly and are quite knowledgeable in solving issues. They will also happily connect remotely to either walk you through or even actively perform the steps required to get you back up and running fast.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Veritas Backup Exec is an integral component of our complete backup and redundancy plan. It allows us to maintain a reliable set of both on-site and off-site backups and replications. It also allows for simple restore methods that are used in the event of disaster recovery or even for simple user errors such as accidentally deleting or modifying files or folders on our servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have any legacy hardware you want to continue to use for backups, I would highly recommend considering Veritas Backup Exec.


    Hospital & Health Care

Great, simple, care free back up

  • July 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that when I first set this up I had so many options of where I could integrate my storage through, Azure, Google cloud platform, ASW. It made me feel like I wasn't locked down. Once up and running the process is seamless and took the worry of losing data away from my mind so I could focus on other things.
What do you dislike?
My only complaint is that initially I had some trouble figuring out the software, all of the ins and outs. I cant fault the company, I just feel there was a bit more to learn than I had expected but this is due to all of the options I had which is a good thing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problem I am solving is a catastrophic loss of data with no redundancy. This software takes that worry from my mind and eliminates such thoughts. I never have to worry with this software running.


    Information Technology and Services

Veritas Backup Exec!!!

  • July 16, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Had the chance of using Backup Exec in my current role. Very user friendly interface. Love the instant recovery feature of VMs. Very fast b/up & restore capabilities. Love it!!!
What do you dislike?
At this point I love everything about it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ability to manage multiple site from single interface with data manage t capabilities.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do give it a try


    Administrator in Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Happy with the backup system we use!

  • July 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the consistency of the product. We have used it for quite some time and rarely have any issues. We used the product back when it was Symantec Backup Exec. Symantec sold to Veritas.
What do you dislike?
I wish my company would allow cloud backup! Currently my company prefers to store all of our data in house on tape drives on our physical DR system with another vendor.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Local backup of all server system data. We run a physical backup of our data every evening.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest sitting through a demo and reviewing the pro's and con's of the solution they offer. The software will work out of the box, it's just a matter of some basic training and education to run it.


    Construction

Backup the backup

  • June 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
good value for the money and easy to setup basically idiot proof to configure. this easy concept makes it a great tool for the novice user and small business owner trying to maintain documents including customer manifests in a safe orderly manner.
What do you dislike?
that protection is linux server protection; not all linux servers offer 24hr support unlike majority of windows vendors, which isn't always good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
backup employee payroll and other pertinent information for our company; the benefits include the basic fact it isn't as expensive as some of the other backup solutions out there
Recommendations to others considering the product:
it depends on your company needs.....and cost expense in researching backup solutions honestly....the ease of use and setup makes this a win-win...