Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

22 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Marklogic is a centerpiece in our architecture

  • March 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MarkLogic is both a repository and a search engine. It handles XML data natively.
What do you dislike?
Some of the search / indexing capabilities need improvement. Its physical architecture is not ideal for cloud deployment (although it works just fine).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use MarkLogic as our main search & retrieval engine for all of our content
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider both your search requirements and your retrieval requirements when evaluating tools in this space. Consider you content enrichment requirements and your performance / latency requirements for getting new documents indexed and searchable


    Tony A.

Architect and Developer for custom systems using MarkLogic

  • March 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system is very robust and with version 8 has removed much of the arcane manual tuning that was needed in older versions. If you are storing and manipulating XML documents, it is very simple for the amount of power it gives you. MarkLogic has excellent documentation and support ecosystem. There are usually other people who have encountered similar issues in the past and their development mailing list is active. Their recent integration with REST, JSON and node.js has substantially simplified building integrated systems on top of MarkLogic. With the recent additions of Active Directory and JSON as first-class-object, it is possible to build a system from the ground up very quickly using only MarkLogic and world-class front-end tools like AngularJS or EmberJS. MarkLogic's support for fully ACID transactions is very rare in the NoSQL market and their reliability is significantly better than anything I've encountered in the open-source NoSQL ecosystem.
What do you dislike?
MarkLogic has moved somewhat away from the pure XML world and has not kept up to date with XQuery 3.0, XProc, XQuery Update Facility, etc. They seem to prefer to enhance their proprietary features rather than implement additional standards compliance into their product. I would like to see them improve some of their basic functionality like normalizing their API and refactoring some of the more confusing areas (HTTP FORM handling, native file read/write/delete, etc.).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used MarkLogic as a Document Database in a NoSQL environment to support Fortune 500 customers. We have build custom web-content-managment, component-content-management, document archival and publishing. We have also used MarkLogic as a centralized metadata repository to integrate with governmental databases for purposes of normalizing data governance across a large civilian federal agency.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MarkLogic is best utilized by a team that is knowledgeable in XML / XQuery technologies. Despite their inroads in JSON and REST, the learning curve for people without significant XML experience is quite steep. However, if you have invested in XML / XPath / XQuery / XSLT knowledge, then you can be up and running in MarkLogic very quickly. MarkLogic is a great alternative to non ACID compliant distributed databases like DynamoDB / Cassandra / MongoDB. The enterprise version is pricey, although for personal projects, education and non-profit uses they do offer substantial discounts and the community edition still supports the important NoSQL and ACID features.


    Information Technology and Services

Powerful document repository

  • March 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Native XML interface and support for XML Query and Javascript. High quality XML Query documentation.
What do you dislike?
Adding indexes can be very time consuming.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Document storage and search. Because MarkLogic is a document database, it is well suited to our content, which consists of billions of legal documents.


    Maria R.

Marklogic User

  • March 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Marklogic is the only Data Base that is both operational/transaccional and data store.
NoSQL databases have a long way to go.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that I don't like, but they can have a better marketing approach.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Storing the information properly


    Sandile K.

What MongoDB should have been

  • March 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MarkLogic has the best features of a document-based database - convenience, concision, composability - with enterprise features that real businesses - professional grade support, ACID compliance.
What do you dislike?
Document-based databases will always struggle to compete with the queryability and stability of traditional RDBMSes. As it turns out, SQL is a tough query language to compete with.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MarkLogic is a really great way to build stable prototypes where you don't what the schema of your data will end up looking like. This is how I've used in the past.


    Insurance

Marklogic is an Enterprise Document Database which support all the latest features reliably.

  • March 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Marklogic is a very Stable product and reliable for transaction based data storage. Its searches are very fast and it support latest trends in NoSQL databases. I believe its one of the pioneers in newer features being introduced in a NoSQL Document Database. The latest of its hottest features is its Semantic based searches. More than the product i think the support offered by their team is really great. I have never waited for more than 24 hours to get my answers on any queries. Some of its legacy features are security , geospatial and backup and restore features which are time tested and more robust. Its newer features other than Semantic are bitemporal, Hadoop support, AWS support etc.
What do you dislike?
I think more people need to be made aware of this awesome product. Its less familiar. More easy integrations with Legacy systems should be created.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it to solve healthcare data analysis and processing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to determine where the capabilities of this product has the highest value in your organisation.


    Legal Services

Versatile and stable product

  • March 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The efficiency and quick response from the search engine is pretty amazing.
What do you dislike?
For bigger clusters, we have noticed issues while performing complex searches. The complex NEAR searches would surrender and throw errors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Works as a search engine and document indexing with multiple language search support. Has been a very stable and reliable product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a stable and reliable engine, MarkLogic would be your answer.


    Keith B.

Searching and Serving up millions of pages of content in 117 different languages and dialects.

  • March 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have millions of pages of content in 117 different languages and we use MarkLogic to ingest, enrich, search and retrieve content and data in XML, HTML and JSON formats.

We have been able to cut our website development times in half to one tenth the typical development time of typical three tier architectures because of the content specific languages, tooling and tight integration we are able to achieve using MarkLogic.

The number of people required to administer and maintain our MarkLogic databases is a small fraction of what we would employ for relational databases or other no-SQL offerings.

MarkLogic was built from the ground up to store, search and enrich large volumes of content in a variety of languages. It is ACID compliant. In fact, it is the only noSQL offering that is ACID compliant.

We currently run MarkLogic both on premise and in the cloud. We used both physical hardware and VMs in clusters so that we can bring up instances to scale for expected increases in traffic.



We are able to search, combine and serve up content on the fly for 190 different websites ... and growing.
What do you dislike?
Ingestion from a relational database can be difficult. Would like ability to ETL content into MarkLogic and out of MarkLogic.

Current offering of SQL is limited. This is slated to be fixed in next version.

The power and flexibility of the XQuery language to write websites and search content is phenomenal. But it is difficult to find developers willing to commit to learning a language they have heard very little about. Those that do can typically be productive in under 2 weeks but many developers have a mental block in this regard. MarkLogic has added JavaScript as a development language to over come this roadblock but JavaScript lacks the much of the power of the XQuery language.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are a world-wide church with over 15 million members. We serve up millions of pages of content daily in 117 different languages, and our list of languages is growing monthly.

We were able to build a platform on top of MarkLogic for our flagship websites and then extend their capabilities for multimedia and dynamic content. We can query and combine various content to build pages in milliseconds and we have built webservices that allow users to markup and highlight content and persist their annotations indefinitely.

Some of our websites that currently use our MarkLogic platform are:

https://www.mormon.org
http://www.mormonnewsroom.org/
http://josephsmithpapers.org/
https://www.lds.org
https://scriptures.lds.org

We currently have MarkLogic clusters and instances both in the cloud and in premise.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MarkLogic is the database the United States government uses to store the entire Library of Congress. It is also the database that the NSA uses to suck in the internet and search it for terrorist activity.

MarkLogic was built from the ground up to store, search and enrich large volumes of content in a variety of languages.

MarkLogic is ACID compliant. In fact, it is the only noSQL offering that is ACID compliant.

We currently run MarkLogic both on premise and in the cloud. We used both VMs and physical hardware so that we can bring up instances to scale for expected increases in volume.


    Chhean S.

Scalable Platform Document Database, App Server, and Enterprise Search rolled All-In-One

  • March 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MarkLogic is built from the ground up as a No-SQL XML document database, application server, and automatic built-in indexing for enterprise search. It scales horizontally because it was designed with a Map/Reduce architecture.
As XML documents are inputted, an on-disk index is built automatically based on every element. And so this leads to performance gains when trying to do simple xpath searches for various documents.
It installs, configures, and deploys very quickly and easily. Scaling it horizontally by adding more nodes is not as difficult compared with other structured RDBMS systems.
Many types of APIs and languages are available to make it easy to quickly build web services or applications: REST APIs, Xquery/XSLT Functions, Javascript, Java API, Node.js API, and XCC. There is also a Hadoop Connector API.
What do you dislike?
Even though the architecture is built on Map/Reduce, it can be difficult to build a batch process application that does things like ETL (extract, transform, and load). MarkLogic does provide a framework called CPF (Content Processing Framework) that is designed as a pipeline framework to transform documents through different stages. However, there is little documentation on how to appropriately scale this framework horizontally. It can be done, but requires some work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Search and manage all your information in one place. MarkLogic is a good central repository to manage all of your unstructured content and semi-structured documents.

It is the only viable solution for many content publishing applications that want success performance. The development time and costs for these types of applications was reduced significantly (sometimes by as much as 80% savings) compared with past failed projects built with traditional or open source tools.

It can act as part of data governance for all metadata within an organization as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider leveraging XQuery/XPath as part of your application development to realize many of the full capabilities. Also, XQuery is a Functional Language. And so many developers need to alter their thought process when it comes time to implementing code.


    Legal Services

Great XML database with lots of potential

  • March 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Triplestore database
XQuery and XPath compatability
What do you dislike?
RDF capability is still in early stages and needs to be thought out
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Datawarehouse; integration of multiple source feeds of one and dashboard of data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good understanding of requirements: take a great care before looking at high data input feeds.