Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6.10 Minimal HVM

Technology Leadership Corporation | 1.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

196 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    George K.

Centos for everyone

  • August 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centos it's a free version of Redhat and you can have an OS to do all your test
What do you dislike?
It does not have compatibility with all packages
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly RedHat issues on which I do not have license


    Simon K.

Its the my preferred web hosting servers and OS

  • August 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is the my preferred web hosting server and operating system on web server. It ensures that users have a secured operating system. Best part is that it has got great features and its very economical to use.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such. May be support on issues can be improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS as this is my preferred web hosting server and operating system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it. Its nice and stable and free.


    Elena G.

Great operating system for all your web hosting needs

  • July 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's basically a free version of the highly successful RedHat Linux distribution. You can get almost same features for free, without paying thousands of the dollars for the technical support. If you're technically savy, and you do, as otherwise you won't use Linux, it's exactly what you need. If you need a support, the CentOS community is pretty active and knowledgeable, so you won't be in trouble. My decision to select that flavor of Linux for our needs was mostly informed by my previous experience with the RedHat systems . All the packages that I need were easy to find and install using the yum.
What do you dislike?
It's mostly question of taste. You need to get used to the Redhat-specific tools, like yum package manager. You can get into some troubles configuring selinux as well. Due to the presense a lot of Redhat-specific stuff, the system is not lightweight on memory and processor resources.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I mostly use CentOS as a web-hosting platform for the nginx web server, used together with gunicorn to host django web applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You could look at another distributions like Debian - they are also worth your consideration.


    Computer Software

High Speed database server similar to RH Linux

  • June 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS can be used to interconnect different webservers. This is quiet a stable and a robust operating system.
What do you dislike?
Updates to the server are time consuming
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is useful as a Webserver and a Database server.It helps for application development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly secure and user friendly OS. Please go for it.


    Jonathan M.

One of the best OS for anything

  • June 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its easy to management, so much versatil, one of the most stable Sistem for business infraestructure,
What do you dislike?
if you use graphical tools its little heave.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for solved network service like dns, dhcp, webserver, backup solution, monitoring network.
Its stable os, update and easy to management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
make a good sizing for the implementation, and know what service you need


    Information Technology and Services

Enjoy Linux environment With CentOS

  • April 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is providing a rich base platform for open source communities to build upon. It dose't need to pay license fee to set up a test environment. It is much better than the rest and it is free no more dependency on license.
What do you dislike?
This is a wonderful thing, there is nothing to dislike it, even it is much easier than the other Operating systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I do it in office work and I do it with all the assignments in which I do not have any problem It is very smart and also a battery saver It does not hang even in video conferences, playing games or working on different windows it is easy to operate.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very good and very cheap and it is very easy to operate, it should be used to every organization and it should be recommended to everyone.


    Maximiliano P.

The best open source Linux server OS

  • March 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is stable, robust, has most of the advantages RHEL has and it has few compatibility issues. The updates and maintenance of the community is strong as well. You will find most of the issues you might encounter already posted on serveral forums all around the web.
It is my first choice for servers running RDBMS, BI suites, Python scripting, etc. It has great memory handling and is one of the most used Linux server OS.
And last but not least, it's free.
What do you dislike?
The documentation is somewhat limited and not always clear.
You have no support other than the community and your knowledge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are implementing MicroStrategy latest versions, Web servers, WAS, RDBMS such as MySQL, PostgreSQL, Oracle, Hadoop distributions such as cloudera and many more.
I've even used it for Radius servers and Pentaho server for ETL. Even a Wiki with mediawiki software.
It's memory handling and stability makes it a great choice, it's uptime is excellent and it is easy to tune.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to use the OS for lab cases and in Virtual Machines prior of trying to implement or use in a production environment. I like to get knowledge by hands on cases and is the way I always recommend.


    Justin S.

Enterprise Linux for enterprise-grade stability

  • March 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is built for stability from the ground up, and it shows in the release model: there's an initial release, and not a whole lot changes for the next ten years. In an age where competitors like Microsoft and Apple are rushing to shove new features out the door as soon as possible, it's a refreshing change of pace.
What do you dislike?
The stability inherent in CentOS can become something of a downside over time as its core components become outdated. However, this is less of an issue with recent releases like CentOS 8, where the "application stream" architecture lets you install more recent versions of software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're using CentOS almost anywhere we use Linux in our server infrastructure - CIFS file servers, backup servers, VPN servers, and so on.

As compared to Ubuntu, which I know some people prefer, we've found that CentOS is more stable, easier to maintain (since there are great certifications for it), and I imagine more secure based on the fewer number of security issues reported in CentOS.


    Computer Software

Secure and Reliable

  • February 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Updated repositories, Firewall, SELinux, performance.
What do you dislike?
GUI Interface. GUI version of CentOS can be much better when competing with Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Database, Mail Server, Samba Share, FTP, NFS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use CentOS especially for MySQL, Zimbra Mail and Web Server


    Wireless

Free Linux flavour OS

  • January 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
-Stable and Fast operating system
-Portable file system
-Yum utility or repo
What do you dislike?
In case of crash, we can retrieve root directory files only by another CentOs root user .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
-Execution of python scripts
-Bash file execution
-Using it as application server by deploying tomcat.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
-Best terminal interface
-Stable and free OS
-Installation through yum is easier.