Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6.10 Minimal HVM with SELinux enforcing ec2-user user context

Technology Leadership Corporation | 1.1

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

232 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Chandrashekhar Y.

Most secure OS among all

  • January 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
So light weight and so secure. No bloatware and no extra ads. Just work to work. You will find all the necessary software for your daily use and that too in the simplest way possible.

Interface is very simple and clear. There is no fancy thing inside this OS. Just install it and start doing your work.
What do you dislike?
Although interface is simple, I will urge CentOS team to make it little attractive. Make all the software available for this version. Make sure once people switch to CentOS, they won't go away.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a developer in my company and the software or website which we develop, are under great security and we are hereby use CentOS, highly secured and super fast. Optimization of RAM is so powerfull that we don't ever have any lagging issue.

Top of that CentOS doesn't have any bloatware and ads so we are rest assured that we are not exposed to any security.

Being a developer, we don't want to rely on any third party software to work on. CentOS provides all the necessary setup to feel like home.


    Abhishek D.

Best open source OS. ❤️

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about CentOs is that it has all the features of Red Hat EL but FREE.
It is fast, GUI is awesome and works great for Hosting your websites and databases.

Since it is Open source, if you encounter any issue in the system /server, you can just google the issue and I'm sure you will get all your answers.
What do you dislike?
To be honest there is nothing to dislike as such. However, the recent move of Red hat to not provide any further patches is very disappointing. :(
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly web hosting and mysql related issues.
As well Kernel and Operating system issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for using Linux then I would suggest you use CentOs and thank me later. :D


    Bogdan S.

My OS of choice

  • January 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use and it's very stable. The OS of choice in my case for all my servers
What do you dislike?
CentOS will be discontinued and replace by CentOS Stream
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using CentOS for all my servers (DB servers, Web Servers). It can be monitored quite easily, it's really stable


    Aman C.

Grea light weight option for your containerised application OS

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The OS is quite abstract and lightweight which leads to installation of packages as per the need of user. This can help to get an isolated environment for your application running which can make developer life easy to have same environment everywhere.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes finding packages which are needed by the application can be painful and hence leads to hit and trial. In that case, leading to a different OS is not the solution which can slow down th development speed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Containerised application operating systems which helps to isolate the application in a dedicated environment. This is helping to avoid dependencies issue on production servers and parallel processing with different OS running at the same time.


    Binay k.

Stable and secure Linux

  • January 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is very secure and stable system, it has Easy installation process with sensible and secure defaults. Its very stable and reliable.High performance on the average hardware.
What do you dislike?
To maintain maximum stability, software packages may not be the latest and greatest versions but you can easily compile their source code yourself if a packaged version is missing certain functionality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deployed web services ,CentOS runs very basic software and will run much faster than other similar Linux distributions.


    Computer Software

Great for software developers, but doesn't always have the latest update

  • January 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a linux OS, and is great for software developers. The ease of installing any developer tool is great, it's easy to do everything from command line, and not be slowed down by the user interface. Highly recommended!
What do you dislike?
The one biggest problem is that it lags behind other linux OSs in terms of updates. It's behind in the releases, so you might not always have the latest features that linux is coming out with.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using it for software development, and the main benefits I am getting are easy development, paired with lightning fast performance all while I know that my computer is secure.


    Pushkar M.

Cent os for Data science/Analysis

  • January 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is pretty Straight forward to use
Top can be used to see and kill active process
Bash
What do you dislike?
Ram management can be improved further. It sometimes gets annoying to manage user profiles
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using it to run python/R on server for data manipulation, analysis, hypothesis testing and data sharing. Setting up cron jobs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For a simple server managed host/environment. go for it.


    CAT M.

Bye Bye Centos and thank you

  • January 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centos is a real alternative to the Official Redhat Release without the fee related to the license.
What do you dislike?
The distribution will end during 2021 so it is not suggested to still implent this version on Linux in new Projects.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Before the notification of the end of the support in 2021, this distribution granted to me the possibility to have testing labs without the necessity to buy new subscription of RHEL so it saved me from additional costs on some project. The most important benefit after the cost saving is related to the possibility to have a RHEL compatible environment.


    Airlines/Aviation

One of the Best Linux distributions

  • January 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This cent os is nothing but unlicensed version of red hat enterprise Linux..all commands are same..very user friendly..and especially gui experience.its good..thank you
What do you dislike?
Lacks as strong of a user base compare to other distributions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Am using CentOS to launch Linux virtual machine..main benefit is it is a open source and no license needed


    Martino Nauli R.

CentOS alternatives enterprise level server operating system

  • December 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is build from RedHat Linux Enterprise (RHEL) source code, so it has similarities with RHEL and compatible with RHEL community software repositories.
What do you dislike?
Although CentOS is very secure and robust operating system, it still used old linux kernel (because of it's stability) and need a litte effort if you want to implement new linux kernel.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS is the best alternatives for company who want to use RedHat Linux for their server operating system but can't afford RedHat License fee.