Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

382 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Dave L.

Quick and easy to get up and running fast.

  • April 07, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB is simple to manage and has built in spacial functions. Retrieving geospatial data for various locations is fast and accurate. The introduction of GeoJSON for JSON-formatting makes it easy to work with your data. Clustering is possible with MongoDB and allows for making your data highly available and provides redundancy as well. MongoDB does not support ACID transactions but it does provide atomic operations on single documents. (eg. you can embed related data in nested arrays)
What do you dislike?
The need for client affinity in a load balanced setup but this is understandable because each mongos instance has cursors and resources specific to them. Ops Manager looks to be fantastic but unfortunately it is only available with MongoDB Enterprise use. MongoDB uses all free memory on the server automatically with no configurable way to limit it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Interactive maps for photo geotagging. Speed has been the main benefit.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MongoDB is a NoSQL solution so be sure it fits your use case. Do not use it if you require SQL. (no joins, transactions or other such structured queries) MongoDB can be a perfect fit for your geospatial data storage needs.


    Computer & Network Security

Great for developers, terrible for mission critical production loads

  • April 07, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very developer friendly. Easy to get started.
What do you dislike?
Would not recommend for large installations due to low priority of data integrity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Highly available blob storage for everything from micro databases to petabyte sized databases.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If data integrity is more important than performance, look elsewhere.


    Lexi V.

Mongo is great for a specific use cases.

  • April 06, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB is easy to get started with, and does well for what it is supposed to be, a fairly robust schemaless document store.

The documentation is mature, there are many drivers available and sample code is abundant.
What do you dislike?
Mongo gives you some aspects of a relational database, allowing the user to do things (like joins through relationship queries) in a way. This is a double-edged sword as applying relational techniques to a object store will just cause pain and suffering. Since most people think in relational databases, there is a lot of relational techniques on Mongo, and thus a lot of pain and suffering.

Beyond that -- Mongo really needs to be in memory to scale well, and forget clustering. So you have to really be sure of the size of your data and the access patterns before committing to Mongo. A lot of people think that "hey, this is schemaless, I don't have to worry about how my data is structured" They end up in the pain and suffering camp.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are doing schemaless ETL of CRM data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you know your data size and usage pattern. Mongo is a tool, make sure you are not using a screwdriver to hammer a nail.


    Denish P.

I'd use Postgres JSONB Over MongoDB

  • April 06, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB is good for initial prototype but if you really want the solution to scale.
What do you dislike?
For the production use, you need something well tested and reliable data store. Postgres JSONB is plausible option to use as documents store along with relational data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Actually, I don't see any business benefit using MongoDB.


    Natalia K.

Good solution for dynamic queries on documents

  • April 01, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Features I find most beneficial are dynamic queries on documents, schema-free, rich data structure
What do you dislike?
Indexes take up a lot of RAM, and not as scalable as some similar solutions, it seems
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Storing dosuments


    Yuheng D.

Reviewing MongoDB in an IoT project

  • April 01, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy for storing JSON format, semi-structured documents. Query runs fast.
What do you dislike?
Not very easy to write the query using a descriptive language. Have to learn how to query in the write semantics. Wish there is a simple api that could be used for query. Haven't tested the performance for large scale data sets either. It is hard ( or sometimes impossible ) to run query on the nested JSON field using a nested search
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use MongoDB as database for a large sensing network project. The benefits it has includes fast query speed, easy to maintain, compatibility for JSON format messages and suitable for storing real-time messages.


    Computer Software

More uses and flexibility than I had first expected.

  • April 01, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the flexibility of usage and the speed of deployment. Also, there is an element of portability that is extremely exciting in terms of possibility for extending the usage of established stores.
What do you dislike?
I have some concerns about scalability, although as yet I have not seen any issues. Usage requires some adjustment/new learning of deployment and coding patterns to get the most out of it, but that is not a special problem for MongoDB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Session and customer data collection, support for SaaS apps
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the documentation and find a good book on using the product. I know it sounds cliche. The practical applications of MongoDB are not unlimited but it can fill several requirements for data storage and retrieval when larger or more traditional DBs are just not practical.


    David A.

Fast, developer-friendly, goal-oriented, uber-flexible. What else can you ask for in a database?

  • March 30, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB hits a sweet spot with requirements call for rapidly developing an application that needs to be fast, scaleable, highly tolerant of change, and has variable data needs. Its document oriented approach opens up possibilities for streamlining application architecture that cannot be easily be achieved with relational databases and even other NoSQL solutions like key/value stores.
What do you dislike?
Getting up and running with MongoDB is extremely easy - download and run. Its ability to scale to huge levels is impressive. But the configuration of a large cluster is not for the faint of heart, as it can become extremely complicated to keep track of hundreds of shards and replicas. However, the MongoDB team is working to solve this issue. The new deployment and management features of the new release of their MMS service makes the task relatively simple.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My main usage of MongoDB has been for log management. However, I am prototyping a single-customer-view type application for opinion leader analysis, and a file archiving solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are new to document-oriented databases, get up to speed on the concepts first so that you don't end up trying to force a relational model into MongoDB. Analyse your application's data access patterns to determine the best data model for your document structures.


    Stephen D.

Stroring Time-series Meter data

  • March 26, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a flexible, scalable, NoSQL database that allows developers to take on many of the traditional database administrator tasks. Although it is very flexible, and allows one to store data how they wish, it also allows one via best practices to achieve some very fast data ingestion when working with more complex distributed environments. Also; you can bring a novice up to speed to work with MongoDB queries relatively quickly.
What do you dislike?
Flexibility can be a double edged sword. Allowing developers to store whatever they want in a database means it is naturally harder to get it out. Also; the tools we are familiar with in relational offerings such as profiling tools in relational offerings are not as mature.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my role; I am focused on using MongoDB as a time-series data store for up to 1 million energy meters.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When it comes to core document stores, MongoDB is the leader and Couchbase Server is a close second. The knock against Couchbase was that it was harder for developers to use and that is still true by comparison. However it was always touted as easier to deploy and maintain. The knock against MongoDB was that it was harder to deploy and maintain compared to Couchbase. However it is far easier to develop against. MongoDB Inc now has an Ops Manager and automation capabilities that really cast a shadow on Couchbase.


    Lan X.

Easy to learn and use, great choice for small projects

  • March 26, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the document storage approach. I can easily save and retrieve an object in json format at one time with MongoDB. No worry about the complex relationships in relational databases. Later if I want to change the attributes of the object, due to the schemaless feature, I can easily update anything. These flexibilities help me to develop fast.
What do you dislike?
One thing I'm uncomfortable with is the aggregation function; it is too awkward to use. Another thing make me feel upset is when to update the document. I have to think about all the possible places that could cause inconsistency after the change and estimate the affects.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MongoDB provides most features I need in my small projects like various web applications. It is quite easy to store and get the json, image or a file.