Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Splunk Insights for Infrastructure PAYG

Starting from $1.29/hr or from $7,500.00/yr (up to 67% savings) for software + AWS usage fees

Splunk Insights for Infrastructure is available FREE for a 15-day trial and converts to an hourly pricing model. Provides 300 GB of data storage with no limits on number of users, hosts or alerts. Splunk Insights for Infrastructure PAYG (SII) is an analytics solution that provides a seamless experience... See more

Customer Reviews

10
Create Your Own Review

Its AMIs make it easy to spin up a Splunk cluster or add a new node to it

  • By Engineercb47
  • on 01/15/2019

It is mostly centralized logging, a whole bunch of BI metrics, and an aggregation point, which we have adulterated for some PCI data.
It does meet our use case for the most part.
What is most valuable?
We like the dashboard creation and the ease with which we can harness the APIs to create custom BI dashboards on the fly. This adds most value for us. The nature of some of our microservices that I have run on the cloud are mixed workloads, wherein with the flow of data, it can change over time. In order to adjust for this, and cater to the needs of some of our internal customers, BI dashboards need to be created, tweaked, and modified. Also, doing this by hand is next to impossible. Therefore, we have strung all of this through a programmatic pipeline, which s something which we like because it is easier for us to harness it utilizing the API.
What needs improvement?
For on-premise, it's more about optimization. With such a heavy byte scale of data that we are operating on, the search for disparate data sometimes takes about a minute. This is understandable considering the amount of data that we are pumping into it. The only optimization that I recommend is better sharding, when it comes to Splunk, so that data retrieval can be faster.
With the AWS hosted version, we have not hit this bottleneck yet, simply because we are not yet at the multiple terabyte scale. We have hit with the on-premise enterprise version. This is a problem that we run into every so often. We don't run into this problem day in and day out. Only during the month of August through October do we contend with this issue. Also, there is a fair bit of lag. We have our ways to work around it. Between those few months, we are pumping in a lot of data. It is between 8 to 10 terabytes of data easily, so it is at a massive scale. There are also limitations from the hardware perspective, which is why it is an optimizing problem.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
On the cloud, we are pushing through less than half a petabyte of data. So far, it has been fairly stable because it runs on all the underlying AWS infrastructures. Therefore, we have had no issues at all. In terms of availability or outages that we've experienced, there haven't been any. We've been fairly happy with the overall landscape of how it works on AWS.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
On cloud, we absolutely like it. Splunk AMIs make it easy for us to spin up a Splunk cluster or add a new node to it. For our rapid development and scale of deployments in terms of microservices and the number of microservices that we run, we have had no problems here.
On-premise requires a lot of planning, which happens on a yearly basis. We have Splunk dedicated staff onsite for on-premise to help us through this.
We have 450 people making use of Splunk in our organization, and there was a bit of knowledge transfer needed on how to write a Splunk query. So, there is a bit of a learning curve. Once you get over it, it is fairly simple to use. We also have ready-made Splunk queries to help people get started.
How is customer service and technical support?
We do deal with technical support on an ongoing basis. They can definitely do better from a technical point of view. Their only purpose working onsite is to make sure that our massive set of Splunk clusters are online, and the clusters are tuned well enough to work well.
We would expect the technical support people onsite to be subject-matter experts of Splunk. We have seen in a few areas where we have been left wanting more, wherein some of our engineers happen to know more than them in terms of some of the query optimizations, etc. This is where we think there is a fair amount of improvement that can be done.
What about the implementation team?
We wrote the automation to bootstrap everything onto AWS, which was fairly easy. As long as we had all the hooks going into AWS, and we had the SDK. So, we did not have too much trouble getting the bootstrap up and running.
What was our ROI?
Some of the insights that we have obtained as a part of using Splunk have greatly helped us in increasing our revenue in terms of selling our products.
We have seen a decent ROI. For the month of October 2018, when we had a product launch, we were able to query and generate BI dashboards on the fly. This was huge, and not possible two and a half to three years back because it was more of a manual process. Now, with APIs being available, it is very simple to tweak or write a small piece of glue code to go ahead and create a new dashboard for a business unit to make near real-time decisions to focus more on other geographies when launching the product.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
I wasn't there when the evaluation was done. When I came on board, this product was handed down to me, and we have not evaluated any other solutions or products since then.
What other advice do I have?
Make sure it fits your use case. Be clear about what you want to achieve, get out of the product, and how you want to integrate it. Once you tie the solution into your systems, it is not trivial or easy to walk away from. Therefore, due diligence needs to be made to understand what your requirements are before choosing a product. Some companies may not even want to host, and prefer to go the managed services route.
We have it integrated with every product that I can think of.


Proactively monitor threats and reduces threat footprint, though professional support is too expensive

  • By ParampreetSingh
  • on 01/14/2019

It was used for security event management on landscape hosted over AWS.
It helped the organisation to proactively monitor threats and reduce its threat footprint.
What is most valuable?
Deployment server for deploying changes in one go.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is quite stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
No.
How is customer service and technical support?
Professional support is great, but too expensive. Otherwise content published over website is good.
Which solutions did we use previously?
Not applicable.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Do proper estimation on log ingestion per day as that will impact pricing and licensing.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
It was the customer's choice.
What other advice do I have?
It provides a great range of plugins and one can really take great advantage of utilising inbuilt dashboards to derive the desired monitoring.


We were able to create a catalog of dashboards and have a holistic view at all levels, understanding our business better

  • By Tony F.
  • on 01/09/2019

We use it for logging and troubleshooting.
How has it helped my organization?
Every team immediately created their own Splunk dashboard, and all the product owners were ecstatic about this. We were able to create a catalog of dashboards and have a holistic view at all levels. We could understand our business much better. Real-time errors, which were buried in emails before now, surfaced up on dashboards. Even our executives could understand this, and it changed the way teams thought about alerting and reporting. It allowed us to send out real-time notifications to integrate with Opsgenie, and it changed the way IT works.
What is most valuable?
The dashboards are the most valuable feature. We like the ability to drill in and see what queries are under the dashboard, build new visualizations, edit the querying, and see the reports. The dashboards are very intuitive and similar to SQL. They are easy to set up and get running.
What needs improvement?
The query language is pretty slick and easy, but it is not consistent in parts. Some of it feels a little esoteric. Personally, some of my engineers are coming from SQL or other languages. Some things are a little bit surprising in Splunk and a little bit inconsistent in their querying, but once you get use to it and once you get use to the field names and function names, you can get the hang of it. However, if it was a bit more standardized, it might be quicker to get it up and running.
I would like additional features in different programming models with the support for writing queries in SQL or other languages, such as C#, Java, or some other type of query definitions. I would also like a better UI tool for enhancements of advanced visual query editors.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is pretty stable, though it has gone down from our usage. We do need to keep an eye on our query volumes. Right now, it is too easy for a user to write a query, run it, make it available in polling mode (real-time mode), and bring down the server. Some more safety alerting would help and be beneficial.
We do have to educate developers on how to not blow it up. It is a little to easy to write an expensive query and overly stress the system. This could be improved. Overall, once you have people who know what they are doing, it is very stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
Our environment is on-premise, and it is big. We have a couple hundred users. However, it was slow and unavailable at times before we trained all the engineers on how not write a long, constantly polling query.
How is customer service and technical support?
Our internal tools team did work with the Splunk support team extensively. I was not directly involved, but from my point of view, they were able to fix and resolve issues within a day or less, so they have been okay
How was the initial setup?
It is early days right now to evaluate the integration and configuration of Splunk in our AWS environment. We are just starting to integrate it with regular stuff. While I think it is okay so far, I really do not have enough information.
What was our ROI?
Most of our return on investments have been through faster error resolutions. Our meantime to recovery has dropped for issues. We can often fix things before the customer notices them. Whereas, when logging was done custom by each team in non-standard ways, it would take days to resolve issues that are now resolved in sometimes minutes.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We knew we were going to go with Splunk. It was the leader and the one we liked. We didn't consider any others since Splunk met our needs.
We chose Splunk because of the ease of the UI, querying, and creating dashboards. It has a standardized query language, which a lot of the IT staff were already familiar with it. It was the market leader from our prospective for our needs.
What other advice do I have?
Go with Splunk. A lot of people know how to use it because they have experience with it. It works well. While it has some pain points, it provides reports and data visibility.
It integrates great with Opsgenie, PagerDuty and Slack. We love the Slack integration, as works great with the Slack alerts.


You can run reports against multiple devices at the same time

  • By Enterpri4059
  • on 01/01/2019

We use it for log aggregation.
If you have a large number of devices, you need to aggregate log data to make more sense of it for parsing, troubleshooting, and metrics. This is all we use it for.
If I need to track logs for certain application, I will push all of those logs to Splunk so I can run reports on those logs. It is more about what you are trying to do with it and what you need from it.
How has it helped my organization?
We use it primarily for troubleshooting. We had an issue with SaltStack recently and were able to look for the same log entry on a thousand servers simultaneously, making the process easy.
What is most valuable?
The ability to create dashboards.
You can run reports against multiple devices at the same time. You are able to troubleshoot a single application on a thousand servers. You can do this with a single query, since it is very easy to do.
What needs improvement?
When you get into large amounts of data, Splunk can get pretty slow. This is the same on-premise or AWS, it doesn't matter. The way that they handle large data sets could be improved.
I would like to see an updated dashboard. The dashboard is a little out-of-date. It could be made prettier.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It's been very stable for us. Most of our stress in not from Splunk, but from disk I/O, like input and output for the disk that you are writing logs to. We have had more issue with our own hardware than Splunk.
You have to make sure if you're writing an enormous amount of data that you have your I/O sorted out beforehand.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It scales fine. We haven't had any issues scaling it. Our current environment is about 30,000 devices.
How was the initial setup?
The integration of this product in our AWS environment was very simple. We just forwarded our logs to it, and that was about it.
It has agent-base log forwarding, so it is very simple, not complicated at all. This process is the same from on-premise and AWS.
What was our ROI?
If you have a large number of servers, even a few hundred servers, then you need to track specific data and log information from a lot of servers. You can either go to each server individually or set up jobs to ship those logs somewhere with rsync or Syslog. The other option is use Splunk and push them all to Splunk, then from Splunk you can just create alerts and run reports against all that data in one place with a single query rather than having to do all that work repeatedly. It saves us a lot of time, just in man-hours, and being able to look at hundreds or thousands of servers simultaneously.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
Splunk has no real competition. It is just Splunk, and that is it.
What other advice do I have?
Build your environment a lot bigger than you think you will need it, because you fill it up quickly. We log somewhere in the neighborhood of two to four terabytes a day per data center.


It is easy for our developers to use if they want to search their logs. Something should be built into the product that if you're close to your license, then it shuts things down.

  • By Kenn B.
  • on 12/24/2018

We use it for application log monitoring.
It is a logging product. Our application generates log files, then we upload them to Splunk. We run their agent on our EC2 instances in AWS, then we view the logs through their product, and it is all stored on their infrastructure.
How has it helped my organization?
We have used the alerts for a lot of things. They gave us the ability to kind of make an alert simply. So, we did one for SQL injection. We also had some services which were problematic that would fail, but we figured out what log line that we could look for, so it was easy to make an alert for that.
What is most valuable?
Its usability is the best part. It is easy for our developers to use if they want to search their logs, etc.
What needs improvement?
A problem that we had recently had was we licensed it based on how much data you upload to them every day. Something changed in one our applications, and it started generating three to four times as many logs and. So now, we are trying to assemble something with parts of the Splunk API to warn ourselves, then turn it off and throttle it back more. However it would be better if they had something systematically built into the product that if you're getting close to your license, then to shut things down. This sort of thing would help out a lot. It would help them out too, because then they wouldn't be hollering at us for going over our license.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
Stability has been great. I don't think we have ever had an outage from it.
We don't do a lot of searching. If there is somewhere with problems, it will probably have to be with a lot of searches, and we don't have that. We don't have many developers searching every day. It is mostly when there is a problem, then we use it for diagnostics. So, we don't put a large search load on it. However, the reliability of it has been great. It hasn't been down for us at any point.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It seems to have worked out great. We haven't had any problems yet.
How is customer service and technical support?
I haven't used the technical support.
Which solutions did we use previously?
Before Splunk, we used Kibana and Elasticsearch. Sometimes, with them, logs wouldn't even be there. We have received an infinite time reduction there. We couldn't use what we had before, so Splunk being there and working does a lot.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration with the AWS environment was easy. They had the documentation. All we had to do was get their agent running on our EC2 instance, and their documentation was good for that. It worked, which was great.
The product is also integrated with PagerDuty, Slack, and AWS. Those integrations are good and seamless.
What was our ROI?
It has made life easier for us through use, then by troubleshooting problems. It reduces the cost of the intangibles.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The pricing seems good relative to the other vendors that we have had here. However, they need to find ways to be more flexible with the licensing and be able to deal with situations where we start generating more logs. Maybe having some controls in the Splunk interface to turn it off, so we don't have to change anything in our application.
We have an existing contract with Splunk, so it makes sense to stay with them for now. Our license is for a 100 GB/logs a day.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
There are a lot of vendors in the space at the conference this year. Therefore, we probably talked to six or seven different ones, and the market seems to be consolidating. The market's metrics and log monitoring all seem to be rolling up into a single provider. It looks like that is what will be happening in the next few years.
Right now, there are a ton of different smaller providers doing little pieces of this and that. All the big players, like Splunk, New Relic, and Datadog, seem to be rolling them all up into one offering.
What other advice do I have?
Implement something and watch how much data you are sending to it, then have some way to shut it off without redeploying your app in case things get hairy.


The most valuable feature is its centralized log analytics

  • By Gavan M.
  • on 12/19/2018

The primary use case is for log analytics. Although, we have been using it as a hammer which hits all the nails. We have sort of overused it in some areas where it doesn't need to be used.
How has it helped my organization?
We have a one stop dashboard for health of some of our services where you can click in and it takes you to other dashboards that have custom near real-time metrics that show the application's health. From there, you can drill in to see the real deep dive example of what is happening in your environment. It has reduced our time to resolve incidents.
What is most valuable?
The most valuable feature is its centralized log analytics.
What needs improvement?
The historical data extraction needs improvement. I would like the capability of taking data and having it trend longer. Splunk is good about viewing data within the last seven or 14 days, but if you want to see a year-over-year trend, you have to do a lot of work to get to that point. If there was a better way to extract the data point and put it into a long-term viewing ability for a year-over-year analysis, then compare that to your other business metrics. That is what I am looking for, as an example, for a call center you want to see the time it takes for your customer to be handled on their need comparatively to the system performance that is happening, then overlay that data.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We put a lot of trust in it. It has been pretty rock-solid outside of a couple of changes that we made. Upgrades sometimes don't always go smoothly, but otherwise the system performs, and operates.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
When we were trying to implement an enterprise solution on-premise, we had scaling issues. It was very difficult to search the data retention beyond a few days. A lot of talent was given to the ability to go into AWS and scale with our need. We still had to do some administrative things to prevent consumers from trying to search all records for all time in very inefficient searches. This could sometimes bring our core system functionality to a halt, so we had to do some user administration in it.
How is customer service and technical support?
I don't engage with the support directly. Another member of my team does. Any time that we have needed support, he hasn't had an issue opening a ticket and receiving the help that he needs.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration in the AWS environment was pretty good. They have a consumption method for pretty much every service. They might be able to do a little better at advertising different patterns for best practices for different service, but overall there's a method to get everything.
What was our ROI?
We have had a reduction in the time it takes to resolve issues and correlate what has failed. This has significantly helped.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We looked at the Elk Stack, Kibana, and Sumo Logic.
We chose Splunk because their cost is better, the maintenance factor is a little higher, and the core functionality is higher than what other products provide. The core functionality is out-of-the-box. E.g., with a Toyota Scion, you can customize the parts to make it whatever you want, but it's a lot of work to get there. Where if you buy a Cadillac, you pay the Cadillac's price, but it's a Cadillac. It will work right out-of-the-box.
What other advice do I have?
It works well when searching logs. If you looked to try to do things beyond this, the problem that we ran into is that we treated it as the hammer which hits all nails. That is not really feasible, and there are other tools out there that can do more specialized things.
User administration is key. Trying to prevent users from being able search records all the time is a huge problem. You need a tight approval process on dashboards, making sure the dashboards are queried in the most efficient way possible.


It is a place for all our logs and everything goes in one place.

  • By Security1747
  • on 12/16/2018

We use it for log analysis and alerting, and our stock analysts use it.
I have used the product for more than five years. Then, in the cloud, I have used it for probably a year. It scales better in the cloud than on-premise.
How has it helped my organization?
It is a place for all our logs, and everything goes in one place. The stock analysts and security people use one single dashboard (one single location) to check our logs.
What is most valuable?
* Easy indexing.
* The solution is faster.
What needs improvement?
Every product needs improvement. If we can get a faster product, we will take it. There are new services which are coming up. If Splunk can catch up with the speed of Amazon, and with the integration, instead of us waiting for another year or so, that would be good.
We would like more integrations with other cloud products, not just AWS, e.g., Azure.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is good. We stress it at 98 percent.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The AWS scalability is pretty good. We currently have it running on three servers.
How is customer service and technical support?
Other teams have told me that the technical support is pretty good.
How was the initial setup?
For the few integrations that we have already made, these have been easy to do.
What was our ROI?
We have seen ROI.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Splunk is not free.
What other advice do I have?
I would recommend trying different stuff based on your company's needs and log types.


It has helped with troubleshooting, making it easier

  • By Tomi J.
  • on 12/16/2018

We use it mostly for log monitoring, and also for trying to raise alarms.
How has it helped my organization?
It has helped with troubleshooting, making it easier. Now, we have one place where we can find logs and errors. There is no need to go to the actual server to search for the log file.
What is most valuable?
It provides logs in one place, so they are easy to find. It collects the logs from multiple places, then you have just one place where you see the whole flow from the front-end to the back-end. This is the best thing.
What needs improvement?
The search could be improved. Now, it is a bit difficult to write search queries because they become quite long, then maintaining those long search queries is a quite challenging.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
I have not had any issues with it, and we have the whole banking infrastructure running on it.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is okay as far as I have seen and used it. We have dozens of different environment environments using the same Splunk instruments, and it has been able to scale.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have not used technical support.
What other advice do I have?
Splunk's website is quite useful. You can find a lot of information on it. I would recommend to use it and try to figure out the product's features and what you can actually do with Splunk. You can do a lot of things with Splunk, but you need to know what to do first.


It has a big user base, so the community is useful

  • By Jerry C.
  • on 12/16/2018

We primarily use it for SIEM.
What is most valuable?
It has a big user base, so the community is useful.
What needs improvement?
The community surrounding the product is okay, but I would like more material supplied by Splunk around some more common integration stuff. I wish there was a bigger library, because we are building stuff. Where I often feel like other people have done things before, we are reinventing the wheel. While it is not a core piece of our organization and it is not a priority, it does inform our SIEM platform. It would be nice if there was a little more cookie cutter solutioning inside of it, and that they would take a little more time to shake it out.
The first year and a half was a little wacky with its usefulness, but now it is a solid piece of our infrastructure.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We don't have any issues with it now. We had some issues in the past, but we chalked those up to user error. We didn't know what we were doing at first.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We haven't had any issues with it.
How is customer service and technical support?
I haven't heard any complaints about the technical support.
How was the initial setup?
The integration with all our tool sets felt like we were reinventing the wheel, which was a pain point for us.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
It would be nice if the pricing were cheaper. However, we did purchase it.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We evaluated Alert Logic and Splunk. We still use both products heavily.
We have different use cases for the products. At first, Splunk was free, so we started to take more advantage of it.
What other advice do I have?
Do your homework and make sure it fits your needs.
The product is pretty good. We are pretty satisfied with it. It does what it does.


It is stable and scalable. It is also easy to configure.

  • By Roman B.
  • on 12/12/2018

We use it for logging, essentially for auditing and troubleshooting errors in production and finding out what happened.
I have used the product personally for five years and at my current company for a year and a half.
How has it helped my organization?
I haven't had any problems with it so far.
What is most valuable?
There are a lot of plugins to integrate this. The client site login is pretty extensible and probably cost-effective. Plus, it is easy to configure.
What needs improvement?
I would like some additional AI capabilities to provide additional information about things going wrong and things going well.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is very stable. We have not had any problems.
We had to upgrade when it was on-premise, but then we went to cloud version, which is very good.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It is pretty scalability, even though we have a lot of logs. It runs well.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
I assume that the pricing is reasonable, because if it was too costly, there are other alternatives. However, with some of the other solutions, you have to spend time on them and manage them yourself. It might also take you three times to get it right. So, Splunk may be more costly upfront, but in the long run, it saves on time and man-hours.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?


showing 1 - 10