Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CloudBees Core

CloudBees | 2.138.1.2

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

9 AWS reviews

External reviews

159 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

End to end software delivery

  • December 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Compare to Jenkins it is more manageable and works better for the large scale operations teams. It has more security features and better flexibility. Also, it offers a better pricing model.
What do you dislike?
Less variety of plugins especially when you need to deal with the enterprise systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It would be a great option if you need to resolve elasticity and escaling issues while contributing to application orchestrations. Well integrated and manageable with Kubernetes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For enterprise-scale working with professional services at least in infrastructure, setup will help to avoid issues later on and works perfectly if you have everything influx.


    bryan t.

Cloudbees saved my a$$ on my upgrade on our new server (my first upgrade killed the old server)

  • December 05, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The cloudbees support representatives are well versed and knowledgable. They often will fill in the gaps that the Jenkins and plugin documentation have, especially when the person trying to work through it is not a Java programmer -- like me. It's been a challenge at times decifering where things go. But everytime I have had a question, I have been able to ask someone at Support, and received an answer quickly. I have learned alot about the Jenins system in the few months we have had Jenkins Support.

I love their attention to detail and step by step instructions. One of the first tickets I opened with them was to perform an upgrade to our current jenkins system. I received back a laundry list of things to check, steps to take, and the availability of a 30 minute phone call to review any questions or concerns I had with the process / procedure.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, the documentation can lack certain information, like where the file is that you need to update, or how to execute a specific script.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed to add specific functionality to give my team the same capabilities we had on our original jenkins installation (that I trashed and only partially restored) after we merged our work with another department's Jenkin's installation.

CJS gave me the details on the plugin I needed to add, and then helped me plan out my upgrade with specific step by step instructions to ensure that I had a rollback plan in case there was an unexpected conflict or issue during the upgrade.

This was especially meaningful for me as our group had previously been using a very old version of Jenkins that I attempted to upgrade prior to obtaining a support contract with Cloudbees. The upgrade attempt crashed the server, and it took several days to get the server back up and running. At that point, I was still having issues with Jenkins and finally was able to get the program up and stable enough to provide only the most basic services.

As I learned more about jenkins, and what we could do I realized that we would need a more up to date solution. That was when I discovered that another department in ITS had a jenkins installation. I arranged for us to work with them, and we moved our projects over to be handled on that server. Unfortunately, in doing that, we lost an importatant piece of functionality that we had on our old decrepit jenkins server -- auto code deployment.

And thus began the work to upgrade the new Jenkins server, which I am thrilled to say went off without a hitch!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are running your own Jenkins server and using it for critical functions, it is well worth having a support contract. The money you spend today will save you misery tomorrow.


    Railroad Manufacture

Using Cloudbees Jenkins Distribution in a small instance for development purposes

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Knowing that it is stable, backed by Cloudbees, and can upgrade to a supported instance more easily (which I've recommended we do). I also like the Jenkins advisor, assurance program, and beekeeper upgrade assistant.
What do you dislike?
For our small instance, we went with a docker image of cloudbees. Upgrades aren't complicated, but would be nice to do them directly from the GUI all the time. When I did perform an upgrade, I ended up losing some data (some build history).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
build automation and continuous integration helps increase productivity and find issues early


    Eugene B.

Adequate build system, a bit hard to maintain and provision.

  • November 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Custom CloudBees plugin like HA mode and secrets.
What do you dislike?
Setup and administration is complicated 18 years old legacy code is still there.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CI\CD with a transition to k8s managed services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep the good work.


    Banking

Secured pipeline experience

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Cloudbees Core helped me manage plugin dependency and versions with out of box capability. Earlier it was difficult to upgrade multiple plugin but beekeeper helped to mange it. Also managing the security is much easier with cloudbees core.
What do you dislike?
We have offline servers where client master are running independently and we have seen there are multiple attempts in logs to authenticate connection with CJOC which cannot be easily disabled and required removal of few plugins, whereas it could be a toggle option in settings.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Plugin Management is easier and time saving
Improved Security
Technical Training and Support


    Christopher C.

Benefits for the non-expert Jenkins user, but not necessarily the advanced user

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Access to experts when it comes to Jenkins Core product. Read that carefully - the core product. Most plugins are open source and often change without warning. While Cloudbees will give you a best effort, they have not been able to show me added value in diagnosing issues in their Core product. The support team has gone above and beyond to help me with issues that are not directly related to their Core product when I am in need -- one day to go as far as helping to diagnose a networking issue with internal routes in EKS so that we could successfully install the product.
What do you dislike?
Using YAML to configure and set up Jenkins instances is ugly and error-prone -- this should be remedied soon by a helm chart. When we bring problems to the Support Team, they really don't help us to solve the issue -- in fact, we were told once to do it another way instead. Trying to evaluate Electric Cloud was a very discouraging experience -- we were never allowed to actually use the software, only to have it made up and delivered to us, which doesn't help our evaluation of the tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The best part of using Cloudbees Core is that I can manage multiple Jenkins instances without having to manage each node individually. Backups are also easy, though restores are still a very manual process.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to host Jenkins and don't have in-house expertise, you could benefit from this option. Otherwise, it is just as easy to set up Jenkins Open Source.


    Program Development

great ci/cd support and pipeline

  • November 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
cloudbees core devlier great set of tools. it helps me deploy and build faster our stack.
What do you dislike?
it took me time to get used to the ui but once i got it, it went way faster
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
all of our teams need access to jenkins and deployment, it helps with the access and keep up with who did what.


    Banking

Powerful, but pricey

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple provisioning and management of dedicated masters for separate teams using CloudBees Jenkins Operations Center. CloudBees Role-Based Access plugin made managing permissions at a group and folder level extremely easy without having to deal with regular expressions wizardry.
What do you dislike?
The cost per user and the licensing terms requiring a license for anybody that has access to our source code repository whether or not they ever login to CloudBees can make CloudBees Jenkins prohibitively expensive. During our ~3 years as a customer, CloudBees EOL'd the product we were using twice with no migration strategy other than building new and scp'ing job configurations from the old environment to the new environment. Licensing term changes (per executor to per use) also substantially increased our costs which was frustrating.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It made provisioning a segregated CloudBees environment for new teams very easy without having to try to manage each master individually.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be aware of the licensing terms and how that can balloon your costs.


    Brian yu z.

good and smooth customer support

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This ticket system for cloudbee is the feature I likes best.
What do you dislike?
sometimes the repsonse time is a little slow. When you ask customized questions, sometimes they unwilling to answer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
cron time customization.


    Arindom S.

Good support, could improve focus on popular plugins issues

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the way support personnel reach out to the user and partner to simulate the issue before providing a resolution or recommendation.
What do you dislike?
Issues with Plugins are not supported. Instead CloudBees product were pitched.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins Auth and Core issues