Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic Beaver

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,395 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mark P.

Debian without the sharp corners - stable and easy to work with

  • December 15, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the fact that Ubuntu is based on Debian and inherits the excellent package managemnt features as well as the stability first philosophy. what Ubuntu adds is a bit more rational usability and focus on easy of implementation and features for end-users.
What do you dislike about the product?
I can't think if anything I particularly dislike about Ubuntu other than the UI, which is not as important to me as I use it as a server/dev environment. The UI I feel they just wanted to deign something that was different to Windows and OSX and force their own deign forward. Of course it's possible to rip it out and install another desktop, but then you might was well just use Mint or another linux distribution.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu brings me the power of a linux based operating system with out so much messing around with drivers and configuration just to get the basics working.


    Computer & Network Security

Ubuntu - The best linux experience

  • December 13, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu is the simple yet best begineer friendly OS. It provides the various easy to use tools and easy command terminal. It is more convenient than any other OS and one of the best community to help if you stuck somewhere.
What do you dislike about the product?
Ubuntu lacks the ease and guide for first time users. Basically, how to use the terminal as ack of interaction with command.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu makes and increase convenice with use of the application and open source softwares.


    Education Management

Ubuntu: A Robust and Versatile Operating System for All

  • December 09, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu's standout features include its stability, security focus, and user-friendly interface. With an extensive software repository, high customization options, and a developer-friendly environment, it caters to a broad user base. The active community support further enhances its appeal, making Ubuntu a reliable and versatile choice in the operating system landscape.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some users have expressed concerns about Ubuntu's transition from Unity to GNOME, occasional resource usage on older hardware, perceived limitations in desktop customization, and privacy-related features such as data collection. These points, however, are subjective and may not impact all users equally.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Desktop Computing:
Ubuntu is well-suited for everyday desktop use, offering a user-friendly interface, a variety of applications, and a stable environment for tasks such as web browsing, email, document editing, and multimedia consumption.

Software Development:
Ubuntu is a popular choice among developers, providing a robust platform with a terminal, extensive command-line tools, and support for various programming languages, making it ideal for software development and coding projects.

Server Hosting:
Ubuntu Server Edition is widely used for hosting websites, databases, and applications. Its stability, security features, and support for server applications make it a preferred choice for server deployment.

Educational Purposes:
Ubuntu's open-source nature and accessibility make it suitable for educational environments. It provides a platform for learning programming, system administration, and other computer science-related subjects.


    Sharon A.

ubuntu is very useful for Usage and Performance.

  • December 09, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu Security benefits from the Linux security model and has a strong security infrastructure. So for the server usage and security reasons are very usefull. I am using ubuntu for Devops because of deploying softwares we can use ubuntu servers .
What do you dislike about the product?
Unity desktop environment and about the size of Snap packages and the resources they consume.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The source code of the operating system is freely available for anyone to view, modify, and distribute also for their stability and security. This is particularly beneficial for servers and systems that require high reliability.


    Sattwik M.

One of the most useful Linux Based operating System

  • December 05, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It helps to run Linux operating system in my windows operating system. It is easy to implement during our practical classes. We usually used this operating system in our college days.
What do you dislike about the product?
If your computer system has a lower RAM like 4GB then it will hang your PC. Otherwise it is great.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps to integrate Linux operating system with our windows system. So, we don't need to buy a new system with Linux. It helps to use both operating systems in a single computer system.


    Annas H.

UBUNTU in IT

  • December 04, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu stands out for its stability, security, and scalability in the IT industry. Its open-source architecture empowers developers to customize solutions, fostering innovation. Ubuntu Server's efficiency and reliability make it a preferred choice for building robust telecom and technology infrastructure, ensuring seamless operations and optimal performance
What do you dislike about the product?
Ubuntu's drawbacks include desktop environment variability, resource intensity on older hardware, limited proprietary software support, a learning curve for new users, occasional driver issues, software center limitations, and potential enterprise support costs. Despite these, Ubuntu's strengths in stability, security, and customization make it a compelling choice for many users.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu solves the problem of costly operating systems, offering a free, open-source alternative. Its stability and security benefit users by providing a reliable platform for diverse computing needs.


    Hasan S.

Ubuntu prof. Review

  • December 02, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Free open source
Flixible to use (as a programmer)
Doing more tasks in short time using shell scripts execution
What do you dislike about the product?
-needs users good in programming
-not all softwares are supported and some popular softwares aren't compatible with it like ibm packages..
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's really good for networking and security servers setup


    Wasim A.

Ubuntu: A Versatile and User-Friendly Linux Distribution

  • December 01, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of Use:

Ubuntu stands out for its user-friendly interface and intuitive design, making it an accessible choice for beginners and experienced users alike. The desktop environment, GNOME, offers a clean and streamlined interface that is easy to navigate. Additionally, Ubuntu provides a wide range of applications and tools pre-installed, covering essential tasks such as web browsing, email, and document editing.

Stability and Reliability:

Ubuntu is renowned for its stability and reliability. It undergoes rigorous testing to ensure smooth operation and minimize bugs and crashes. Regular updates and patches further enhance its stability and security.

Software Ecosystem:

Ubuntu boasts an extensive software repository, offering a vast collection of applications and tools. The Ubuntu Software Center provides a user-friendly interface for searching, installing, and managing software. Additionally, Ubuntu supports the installation of software from third-party repositories, expanding the available software options.

Community Support:

Ubuntu benefits from a vibrant and supportive community. Online forums, documentation, and tutorials provide ample resources for users to seek assistance and resolve issues. The community's contributions also enhance the development and refinement of Ubuntu.
What do you dislike about the product?
Areas for Improvement:

While Ubuntu excels in many aspects, there are areas for improvement. Some users may find the GNOME desktop environment to be resource-intensive for older or less powerful hardware. Additionally, the default installation of Ubuntu includes some bloatware, which can be unnecessary for some users.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used it for software developemnt and entertainment.


    Rajat V.

Best OS for development.

  • December 01, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of usability for development and coding faster
What do you dislike about the product?
Lack of support for some applications like images and video editing-related tools.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps me write the code. I use various tools available in Ubuntu to help me with that.


    Shadab K.

Best opensource linux operating system.

  • November 29, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is very easy to use and the implementation of OS on Computer hardware is easy. I use it every day for my day-to-day task and I have GUI features in it to install it on my laptop as a primary Operating system. It is very easy to integrate with other applications like Nginx, apache2, supervisor, and more. Ubuntu community also provides customer support for troubleshooting.
What do you dislike about the product?
I did not find any dislike in the Ubuntu OS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The main problem Ubuntu is solving is that I don't have to purchase any license for this Operating system just like windows and it also gives full privileges to configure and modify it as per my requirements.