Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle Learning Management System

Onlearningpoint | Moodle 3.5

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03.0.20 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

281 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Farid M.

Using Moodle for online learning and flipped classroom

  • September 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle helps to deliver learning material, assign homework. It allows the students to submit their assignments online, and allows the teacher to grade them. Moreover, it assists the teacher in implementing flipped classroom methodology.
What do you dislike?
The user interface is poor. The settings need to be organized and decluttered.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle solved the problem of teaching during the COVID19 closeout. Also, I solved the problem of differentiated learning by using Moodle in implementing flopped classroom methodology.


    Higher Education

Moodle is user friendly.

  • September 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Moodle allows my students and me to collaborate and conduct teaching and learning.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how many clicks it takes to move an item when building courses. It's a very tedious process.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle allows my students and I to have contact outside of the classroom. I can post announcements and send emails from one spot.


    Fadi K.

Online Learning made easy

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Friendly UI.
Easy to share documents and create interactive rooms and building quizzes and exams
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike about Moodle at all but it may be a little difficult for the new user moodle
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
E-learning through remote sharing documents and online taking exams
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Efficient platform to use...once you get used to the UI you won't have a problem doing ur activities


    Spencer B.

Learning Management in College

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I used Moodle as a student for the five years I was enrolled at the University of North Carolina at Asheville. I appreciated that Moodle allowed my professors to build their entire courses inside the program so that I wasn't trying to keep track of lots of different programs and resources.
What do you dislike?
I found the calendar on Moodle challenging to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a history major, I submitted most of my work in the form of essays. I liked that Moodle supported various file types as attachments instead of requiring me to write my pieces in the program itself.


    Matthew B.

A central source for all course material

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The platform acts as the central repository for all our course material for my local university. Students do not have to venture outside of the platform to access all their course material across the university. The platform does not restrict material outside the software platform and is quite accomodating to embedding links and even custom pages to fit your custom needs.
What do you dislike?
It can be complex for a non-techie. I have seen members of other faculties have issues that they end up taking to the helpdesk for resolution. It does require a dedicated team to administer and support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
During the pandemic is served as even a remote quiz administration system. I was able to set up quizzes and write the project brief to measure the student's performance and ensure that they understand what was delivered to them during the remote lectures. Also, the lectures were embedded on the platform using Blackboard Collaborate platform.


    Higher Education

It is Easy to Learn to Use

  • August 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When I used it, it was helpful to upload student grades and assignments.
What do you dislike?
The layout was hard to follow for me and the students. It didn't have a seamless interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I no longer use it. But when I did, I used it to share grades with students which was helpful.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'm not sure if it has been updated. Moodle is easy to learn but doesn't look and work as great as Canvas.


    Higher Education

Reasonable

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle provides an opportunity for a variety of content to be implemented--discussion boards, tests, quizzes, files, etc, all in one place. Moodle is simple and does not have tons of bells and whistles to navigate through.
What do you dislike?
Aesthetically, moodle is lacking. It is not intuitive, and it was challenging to transition from more user-friendly platforms to this platform.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle has helped the transition to totally online education be smoother than previously thought.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need an economical solution to online education, this is an option to consider.


    Dr Paula B.

Moodle meets the need for students in South Africa

  • August 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A variety of plugins, great tools & layouts, settings that manage most situations, easy user interface for lecturer and student, and a good mobile app. There are easy integrations to existing systems.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes upgrading versions is complicated if you jump a few release versions and requires a number of manual processes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The mobile app has allowed our students in areas with limited connectivity to access and download content and quizzes to the app while on campus and then engage the content offline. There are a number of question types in the quiz tool that accommodate a large variety of assessment needs, including embedding a scenario video and requiring application type responses, and the flow and page layout of the quizzes can be managed to facilitate this. We can validate our assessments through the quiz statistics. We can easily monitor student engagement patterns.


    Matt G.

Most inexpensive way to get an LMS up and running, but maybe too many features

  • August 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Price can't be beat! You can either stand up a server yourself or pay for hosting at very reasonable costs. We're equipped for 500 users at under $100 a month in hosting, with backups, etc. For us, we use an LMS for our customers to take sporadic training so typical LMS pricing models didn't make much sense. This was the only way to afford a proper LMS and use it externally.
What do you dislike?
There are SO MANY options because it's open source. It does so many things that will be for some obscure use case or problem. It definitely suffers from a lack of product oversight and guidance to be simple. The approach really seems to be to allow for every use and feature imaginable and that makes features hard to find, uncover, and use, even if they are a more standard LMS feature.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed to host e-learning (SCORM files produced in Articulate), track progress, assign courses, etc. but for our customers, without paying a per-user license fee as that becomes prohibitively expensive when paying for all end users of a largely--adopted platform like ours. Moodle allows us to do that without breaking the budget, and also has enough help/support out there that we can do this all self-directed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'd use a third party host that specializes in Moodle if possible. This will let you likely get a free trial but also you don't need to involve your own dev or engineering teams whatsover and all the backups, etc. can be someone else's job. I'd also make sure you have buy in from your team and someone to be the point person in styling and owning moodle to become the SME as it is fairly complicated.


    Primary/Secondary Education

I’ve used Moodle for developing and maintaining an elearning LMS and it was great.

  • July 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Having the ability to create your own plugins
What do you dislike?
Limitations on editing and styling. Thats it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle helped me solve reporting problems and giving the end user what he needs in an online learning experience.