Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

70 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mohan T.

Blending KV store and structured queries in highly multi-tenanted enterprise SaaS app

  • July 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We like the raw performance of the KV store, but with the flexibility to run structured queries across json documents using N1QL. Version 4.0 brings secondary indexes which allow us to boost performance and reduce our need for the map-reduce views. CouchBase also allows the developers to choose the consistency expectations per call this enables us to take advantage of high performing calls when consistency is less important. CouchBase is ridiculously easy to setup, manage, add/remove nodes, rebalance etc. The dashboard gives you detailed insight into the cluster, which reduces the management overhead.
What do you dislike?
Very little so far, some minor bugs in the Java SDK, but we have been pretty much on the bleeding edge for releases in our development process.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Highly scalable metadata store, with the need for high geographic distribution.
We have benefited from reduced development and devops costs.


    Simon T.

Fast and Versatile

  • July 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Concurrent read / write performance at scale is great for key-value workloads (both volatile and persistent). The product is easy to install and monitor. The docs are mainly good. The support from Couchbase is also good if you pay for it, giving access to senior engineers when needed. The View Indexing functionality is also powerful (though still doesn't feel as mature as the core KV functionality - e.g. administration/tooling).
What do you dislike?
Though clusters have been mostly reliable we have had some problems with some of the failover and elastic scaling functionality - e.g. cluster not recovering from nodes failing or when rebalancing after cluster changes. The python client was way behind .NET/Java for a long time but i think this situation has now improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Memcached-type workloads for large data sets (~1TB) with heavy read/write and persistence. User data store (inc. XDCR for global data consistency across regions). Mainly using .NET and python clients.

Consistently high read/write performance for datasets scaled out across multiple nodes is probably the main benefit from our perspective. Memcached compatibility is also useful for consolidating existing caching solutions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for high performance key-value workloads. XDCR and view functionality also powerful.


    Computer Software

Global Data Store

  • July 14, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple, easy to use API. Fast access to data.
What do you dislike?
The GUI interface could allow larger documents to be viewed. I was able to hack the code to allow this, but it should be configurable instead.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Caching datasets, global data store accessible across datacenters, etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try the free trial version, it's great!


    Information Technology and Services

Couchbase is really awesome!

  • July 10, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
i like that couchbase is an extremely fast nosql database
What do you dislike?
cannot think of anything negative to say about couchbase
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
mostly financial
Recommendations to others considering the product:
definitely consider couchbase


    Oded S.

Easy product, scaleable and robust

  • July 07, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The easy setup and deployment, every development against it.
What do you dislike?
no query capabilities (n1ql should solve - but its not out yet)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
huge amount of data written from end users
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When you need a big data documents without the need to correlate too many times, use couchbase and not relational DBs.


    Information Technology and Services

A NoSQL product that lives up to its promise

  • June 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use - The ability to scale easily by simply adding more nodes to the cluster. One of the key requirement for us was to maintain throughput while the cluster was undergoing changes and we were surprised at how easy it was to add and remove nodes to the cluster. The support staff was also very experienced and helped us from development to deployment in production.
What do you dislike?
We were one of the early adopters and the Java API was not quite stable as we had hoped. We ran into issues around recoverability on the client side when we ran through various network scenarios. The couchbase support was very helpful and they fixed the provided solutions in very short time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were trying to store and retrieve session information while trying to maintain very high throughout in the range of 10000~20000 transactions per second. We set out evaluating quite a few NoSQL solutions (MongoDB, Cassandra) at the time but none of them scaled to the level as couchbase.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Couchbase is based on a very reliable memcached product that is used in many places. The cluster is easy to build/manage and does not require a dedicated database administrator as compared to other NoSQL products.


    Glenn W.

Really performant solution and an easy entry into NoSQL

  • June 22, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The performance of the solution is really good, we're very happy with TPS and the availability of the service.
What do you dislike?
Issues with the client in our environment - .NET - lots of problems with memory management and client blocking causing headaches, as well as some incompatibilities between languages (we also use Java client)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Increasing speed and capacity of our transaction processing platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Whilst a little rough around the edges and lacking some key innovations available in other providers (ODBC access being one) we have found it one of the best solutions in the NoSQL domain.


    Michael K.

Great product with a lot of potential - with some growing pains, however

  • June 19, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The potential for scaling applications for growing needs. Their GUI makes administrating and viewing statistics on clusters very easy. One of the most powerful GUI's I've seen for a substantial product like this, that is also available to the general public for free (depending on your use case).
What do you dislike?
The documentation for some (if not all) of their SDK's lacks, considerably. I've posted and ready many threads on their official forums that showcase this unfortunate situation. I still don't understand the overall sales pitch of these memory-based document storage products being a replacement for orthodox SQL technologies. There's a time and place for both, respectively, and for them to even co-exist.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Session management has (literally) grown out of control for our web applications. Being that we use PHP for most of our web hosting environment: we've struggled with maintaining and managing our session data across all servers in a practical way. Couchbase has been tasked with managing our session data, which increases throughput, considerably, and allows us to easily scale growth with our users, with little to no development cycles invested.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely engage the developers of Couchbase in their forums. While they may not always respond immediately, they do respond. There is also opportunity for you to learn and share with other users who are adopting the product when posting in their forums.

Try to refrain from skipping the developer guide. There's a lot of good information and terminology you should familiarize yourself with before trying to implement Couchbase. This goes for even asking people for help. You need to understand what you're asking help on before you claim there's an issue.

Also, keep in mind that you're not going to transition your data from your SQL solution, into Couchbase, overnight. It's not practical, feasible, and most likely not even necessary. Try to think of areas of your environment that could truly benefit from fast I/O operations that take advantage of the physical memory in your cluster(s).


    Joseph O.

I developed an ETL solution to integrate Couchbase Data with our data warehouse using views.

  • June 15, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Python API is pretty good for data access and view deployment. It took me a little while to figure out how to do what I wanted because there weren't a lot of examples out there on how to do what I wanted, but once I figured it out it was pretty good. Indexes on the data build very fast, so if you know what you want, and how the data is structured you can pull out the data pretty quickly.
What do you dislike?
There is no security. Either you have access to do anything or access to do nothing. I should be able to give a user access to view the documents without having access to also delete all of the documents. Some people would like a GUI for creating views or viewing of the data. It is not that intuitive to many since it requires knowledge of javascript versus sql which most any data analyst knows. Even a better GUI for viewing a few documents would be nice. If I could just sort the documents by one key of my choosing it would be so much easier. Point in time recovery of a database is not really feasible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using couchbase to store session data, configuration data, and also as a document store for event data. It is very good for the first two, and not so great as an event data document store if you have data that needs to be secure in any way. I love the speed of accessing the data if you know what you want.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider what couchbase is good at storing and retrieving documents. If you are implementing it for that purpose and you don't necessarily care about securing the contents of the documents then it is very good. If you need to rebalance a large repository this can be very time consuming.


    Arik G.

Architecting a scalable solution for asset management, including analytics

  • June 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Couchbase is a very good solution for high velocity read/write operations. The ease of setup, deployment and integration beats any competitor currently out there (after experience with Cassandra, MongoDB, DynamoDB). Performance, when performing simple read/write operations is great.
What do you dislike?
The offering is still immature in terms of secondary indexes, complex queries (although the recent N1QL GA in Couchbase 4.0 goes a long way).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The business problems solved are around offering a very fast deployment for a new solution (NoSQL migration) from a previous SQL based one - to offer the performance KPIs we were after. The benefits of using Couchbase was that given the ease of deployment and integration, getting the Executive level to back the solution up was pretty easy , on top of the trivial benefit of getting a very scalable , fast, schemaless solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Think of the simple solutions first. Couchbase shines when performing index based read/writes - and less when performing complex queries/secondary indexes (e.g. Vies). This will probably change due to N1QL