Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

MySQL

Jetware | 170503-mysqld_5_7_18

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,568 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Melissa Y.

Excellent SQL client for Windows

  • June 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's my defacto SQL client on Windows. It has all the functionality I need. Whenever I find myself using another SQL client, I always end up wishing I could use MySQL instead. The interface is intuitive and I love the way the screen is set up with my tables and schemas on the left half, and the editor and output window on the right.
What do you dislike about the product?
Very little. This product is well made and I'm always happy to use it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Connecting to our internal data warehouse and retrieving exactly what I need couldn't be easier with MySQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Absolutely use this product. It does everything splendidly and there is a ton of support online for any troubles you might run into.


    George William L.

Very powerful backend control for SQL

  • June 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy cloud access from anywhere.

All the same control as some of the desktop options.

Rather easy to use with a minimal but functional ui.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not mobile responsive

Not exactly pretty, but it does the job well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Quick access to sql databases for apps which use sql as backend data storage (such as Drupal, WordPress and many more)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn Sql language fully.

Learn the few little idiosyncrasies that are different than other sql gui.

The app is free.


    Tegan J.

Great program for a beginner

  • June 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the easy and intuitive UI layout and design. It looks sleeker and more professional that other SQL clients I use so when given the choice, I would select MySQL over other products. MySQL was the first program I used when I started using SQL.
What do you dislike about the product?
It would be nice if it was easier to set a default schema, so then when you open the program you're already connected to the database you use most frequently. When I started on this product a coworker set the default for me, and I haven't been able to figure out how to change the over-arching default since.

It would also be nice to have a copy and paste feature that copies the headings from the columns too. I use another SQL client that has the ability and it's much more convenient than exporting the data to get the column headers with the data itself.

It would also be nice to have the automatic highlighting when you toggle/scroll across parenthesis and brackets. It really helps (especially a beginner) to see when ( ) and [ ] start and stop.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use MySQL for data collection, summary, pivoting, etc. specifically for reporting purposes. I am a Data Analyst and I pull data using MySQL and format it to be used in reports, or to be used in statistical analyses.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great software for someone who is just starting to dabble with SQL. Color coding on your queries is helpful. UI is intuitive.


    Haince Denis P.

Light tool with amazing features

  • May 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
MySQL server is a light tool. It does not take up too much memory as compared to other database products available. It also provides all the necessary features for a small application to run on and is very reliable and stable.
What do you dislike about the product?
Frankly, there is nothing to dislike about MySQL except for the fact that it is not as scalable as its commercial competitors. The functionality is very much dependent on the add-ons, which need to be updated every time. Also MySQL does not support SQL check constraints.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I typically use MySQL to store my data and perform analysis on it. Recently I have used MySQL for a research project and has really been very efficient. I use MySQL Workbench to all my activities and it works wonderfully well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good database software to start with for learning and running small applications upon.


    Information Technology and Services

Can be a good quality service

  • May 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It already common in language, it has good documentation. I can easily find guide in the internet, you can just type the problem you faced and the internet can help to solve the problem. Basically, I am not to good in SQL but with the guide i can easily finish my work when creating some database. By using mySql there are many possibilities that can make your database easily to learn or readable. But it back to the programmer skill, with good programming skill SQL will become a powerful weapon to make huge database that will be used in the system or game.
What do you dislike about the product?
too much use memory, when load more than 1 million data, it become memory stressing. With low-end specification of computer this become so much trouble when fetch big data in locally and sometimes it become difficult to understand when make big query to fetch the data from the database.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
When creating some system database can become a headache to most of programmers.
I can solve many database problem by using., I work as game programming in this company, by using this I can manage my database. I used this when creating some game that will published in Play Store to make the database, even though its hard to understand but with this my game can be realized more sooner than expected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
when manage database, this is the best way to manage your database


    Artem M.

Open-source, easy to admin, good development tools.

  • April 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Open source and have free community edition. Cross platform and thats why good choice both for development process not on target platform (Windows on dev and Linux on prod) and for companies with heterogenous IT infrastructure.
Have efficient free MySQL workbench tool for development, admin and data migration.
Very fast on simple queries.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not efficient query optimizer: slow queries with "WHERE IN (SELECT ... )" or with a lot of joins and sub-selects in comparsion to for example MS SQL.
Not transactional DDL.
Very slow DDL for big tables, copys all table when adding column, taking a lot of time on big tables. As a result inconvenient agile development and deploy.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Used it as DB for enterprise applications with huge tables.
A lot of documentation and examples for every usecase, a lof of skilled developpers who are familiar with it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Inconvenient DB if you need to serve a big amount of data and have active development process with periodic structure changes of base.
But easy to setup and admin.


    Internet

MSSQL review

  • December 22, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
1-Ability to run multiple queries at a time
2-Ability to log in as a OS user Vs. SQL user
3-It is relatively fast
What do you dislike about the product?
1-IntelliSense-->Complete Word does not function most of the time.
2-Reverting an update/delete is not straightforward
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Business problem: processing images coming from hotel inventories
Benefits: resiliency, high availability


    Chaitanya K.

Mysql for web applications

  • April 20, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Free and Easy to Install.
Scalable and Configurable.

Works great for modern web applications where reads are more than writes.
What do you dislike about the product?
Does not move as fast as the new technology trends move.
Could have supported json datatype and providing database as a service infrastructure.

Configuration changes like tablespace configurations are not evident for small size databases.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A Simple a web application/mobile .
Doing more reads.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Mysql for OLTP which has more reads.
Oracle still outperforms Mysql , but if not oracle. A Choice for a datamart can be Mysql. (Though crunching can be done using Nosql database).