Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

212 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Analytical and united view for logs

  • August 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It provides united view of logs from multiple servers that is best
What do you dislike?
It doesn't maintain the history of logs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are having load balancer which have two log files l, so to get a united view of logs we use this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Provides a perfect matrices and analytical view of logs.


    Mauricio S.

Great for logs analysis and bugs detection

  • August 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can track and view logs in real time, really helpful. I like the feature where you can create a custom view of a set of logs (with custom filters, column parsing and more).
What do you dislike?
It gets complicated to use or know all the available features that Datadog has. Interface is tricky to use sometimes. Some filters are hard to use if you haven't mapped all the fields.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Logs tracking in real time, with the possibility to filter in various ways when needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out! It is going to the right direction. But still some interfaces and ux to fix and make more understandable. However, it performs well and it is really useful. Real time logging works well.


    Hart Q.

Monitor each instances on the cloud

  • August 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Datadog is a tool that's very easy to use, with a very complete interface and enough options and features make possible all our requirements. It includes dashboards where you can check how is the development of the process in real time. Customer service is another great thing from Datadog, as it's always helpful with any of our questions. Whenever you encounter any specific issue, they will always be responsive to you.
What do you dislike?
When I'm working on creating new dashboards, it's always hard to do it and it tends to run really slow and take several minutes before actually start working. I thought it was something that had to do with the computer, but then I discover it happened in every computer where Datadog was setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In the IT department of my business, Datadog is used to set and trigger alarms when our systems perform a specific task. We integrate it with ServiceNow and results has been great, as it allows us to monitor each one of our instances on the cloud from anywhere we are, and we can still store and index the Datadog alerts.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Datadog is a great solution for system management. I would recommend it for companies with many computers and specific requirements, that knows exactly what they want to monitor. It's also suited for companies with complex systems, as it will help them to monitor its performance in real time and take the best decisions possible.


    Justin R.

Great all around monitoring tools and good customer support

  • July 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Datadog provides a multitude of integration to monitor anything you probably need with a simple config. They also offer infrastructure and application monitoring all in one tool for great dash-boarding capabilities.
What do you dislike?
The APM tool is still young and can have some issues. Their development has been great to work with and listens to our concerns when they arise. They are very transparent in what they do and work on via github.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We spend our time actually building meaningful monitoring vs managing a monitoring system. The Watchdog and Anomaly detection have been great additions as well that can be super handy in finding issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at using something like terraform to version control your monitors and dashboards. In a large organization it can get out of hand quickly without version control. Also always do a soft warning before an alert.


    Rex J.

Excellent monitoring tool

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The monitoring ability allows us to debug and troubleshoot our data and also be used to present analysis to upper management when needed
What do you dislike?
There is a high learning curve to get the initial onboarding configuration process to be working, which typically requires a developer or someone with extensive programming experience to set up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We monitor the end to end support for our applications and use this data to debug, troubleshoot and analyze the information to be used for presentations


    Harry P.

Monitor your public cloud with APIs

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Datadog allows us to handle all in one single platform, as its system is based on handling centralized data. The most important operative processes tend to be mechanical and, therefore, easy to use even for people with low experience with this tool. Whenever you have a question about the functionality of the software, it has a very extensive API documentation all of your questions will be answered.
What do you dislike?
Datadog has a steep learning curve, but this can be solved with regular practice and training. Although it offers several integration options, the integration with AWS present some issues, as some configurations has to be done manually. Other than that, we have no more troubles in this matter, but I still think there's a lot of room for improvement.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Datadog was deployed in IT department, and we use it to monitor our public cloud, as it allows us to check in real-time our cloud-based with APIs. Any sub-team across the IT department uses Datadog to gain insights into the platform and read any sort of information with its respective metrics, such as container, ELB, memory usage, network stats, etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Datadog is great for setting up monitors and alerts, so you can get notifications on any underlying issue ahead of time before a major failure occurs. If you require a tool for monitoring instances in the cloud, this will be great choice for you. The graphs, dashboards and alerts will give DevOps members complete control over the performance of the system.


    Chris O.

Monitor your machines performance

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
At first, Datadog may seem like a complex product, but you can get use to it with practice. When you get to know it enough, it will provide you full control of your system. Their RabbitMQ support is excellent, as it offers good insight into queues. The APIs allow you to interact with the data quickly and effectively and it's definitely this API functionality what makes Datadog one of the best monitoring tools on the market.
What do you dislike?
I think Datadog could improve in some aspects, such as its logging capabilities, that seem weak compared with other similar solutions, like Splunk. This should be simplified, as it’s one of the more frequent processes in Datadog. Also, I wish Datadog could be as dynamic as other monitoring tools, such as Icinga and Prometheus.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Datadog is used in the IT Department, specifically in the DevOps sector, to monitor our machines performance in general and to create dashboards to analyze our system in real-time in case of debug issues. Datadog allows you to easily slice and dice stats on a good-looking dashboard, and we can gather out information from Datadog and use it to monitor our services respectively. Datadog has definitely saved the integrity of our machines and servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Datadog is an amazing tool for monitoring systems. If that's what you're looking for in your business, Datadog is definitely for you and it will provide you with the best service for a monitoring solution. Also, price is very good, considering how much it offers and prices of the competition.


    Kent L.

Excellent use of monitoring for our cloud services

  • July 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Extremely well detailed analytics for our cloud services
What do you dislike?
A little bit on the pricier side, so we need to scale back on our usage at times
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use this to monitor our cloud services, primarily for our VR infrastructure.


    Clark P.

Daily provisioning tasks after maintenance

  • July 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Datadog shows short, simple and easy-to-understand graphs to give an appropriate overview of the system's performance, which is great because it turns something that’s really complex into a very simple visual representation that can be understood quickly. It can be integrated with Cloud Watch, so you can monitor even without the agent installation, a very cool asset of an already powerful tool. Also, it provides a lightweight agent on hosts.
What do you dislike?
Datadog is an expensive software compared to other similar tools, like Zabbix and Icinga. I think it should come with a custom query language, which could be very handy for programmers. Also, it would be great if they could reduce the delays in monitoring agent response time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Datadog is used in the IT Department, specifically by the Critical Incident and Network Ops teams to identify, tag, and respond to alerts within the company. It provides a variety of data to manage and maintain the existing infrastructure for internal and external sites and applications. This software is very useful for daily provisioning tasks prior or after any maintenance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Datadog to any company, regardless of its size, that wants to get a deeper understanding of their systems and services. It works perfect for projects where you want to determine what quantifiable data would lead to success. I think Datadog would be unappropriated for financial information. On this case, I would recommend using a specific tool for that.


    Aleksandr K.

Best Metrics

  • July 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to configure everything on the DataDog. If I want to add some metrics and visualize it, I can easily do that in a matter of few hours. Really good documentation and well written. I also enjoy the support team that is always ready to help out with any problems.
What do you dislike?
I don't really like some of its functionality with alarms and notifications. I think it could be better improved. But overall, I really enjoy it more than any other tools that I have used in the past. Easy configuration and integration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solving different problems with Datadog:
- visualization of data;
- metrics monitoring;
There are certain benefits I have realized so far:
- best visualization that can be achieved with more work hours with ELK stack, but Datadog has more functionality that one can tune ELK on to have;
- easy integration with other tools and notifications to Jira, email, Slack, etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think it's heading to the right direction but Datadog needs to work on its documentation.