Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

amzn2-ami-ecs-hvm-2.0.20220607-x86_64-ebs

Amazon Web Services | 2.0.20220607

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2.0.20220520 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

271 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vamshi P.

Powerful yet simple cloud provider

  • November 19, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Makes it so easy to bring up an instance. It takes under 30 seconds to bring up a working ec2 machine which is just awesome!
2. Wide range of memory and compute configurations to choose from.
3. per second billing, pay only for what you use.
What do you dislike?
1. Amazon web services has a really outdated UI.
2. With azure coming up with more cost effective plans, AWS need to innovate further.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In our company we use EC2 to bring up instances and run Hadoop and Spark. Instances like r3.4xlarge are exceptional if you want to a powerful cluster


    Media Production

Excellent for Data Science Projects

  • November 09, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very quick to spin up and highly configurable
What do you dislike?
For large data projects, price and speed don't always scale
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Docker containers to support our Spark needs. The quick out of the box solution has minimized our time performing slow software installs and otherwise being overly dependent on IT.


    Vishal k.

Deploying Hadoop on Amazon EC2 with ease

  • October 31, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Amazon provides what they advertise. They have various types of machines depending your requirement ranging from compute intensive machines to high IO machines. I created a 5 node Hadoop cluster with ease on Amazon EC2 nodes. They also have a lot prebuilt machines installed with all the required softwares/tools you need.
What do you dislike?
Amazon services are a little expensive than its competitor google cloud.You may not find a lot of options on google cloud as compared to Amazon but may cost you less. It would be great if machines computation/cost can be reduced during non-peak hours dynamically. There are some companies such as Qubole that reduces your computation cost by reducing the number of AWS machines when not needed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Amazon follows pay-per-use model whether its software, platform or infrastructure. Its a great way to build Proof of concepts without investing in a infrastructure that might not be sufficient later for your development needs. The services are elastic i.e. you can choose the type/number of machines as much as you need.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend using Amazon EC2 services. You will be free from Server Administration tasks and worry about unplanned downtime of servers in peak hours. Easy to scale up as your company/project grows which will reduce your upfront investment on hardware. You can also compare it Google cloud services to reduce your implementation cost.


    Information Technology and Services

Unintuitive interface, but useful software

  • October 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
After getting my container setup, it was easy to build my service on top of it.
What do you dislike?
The interface isn't particularly great. Some of the controls do not provide adequate feedback.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have been using EC2 Containers to improve the maintainability of my software and ease deployment. I was previously using non-containerized solutions that were complex. I've managed to save a lot of time going this route.


    Internet

Easy to use compute resource

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to set up and use. I don't like the max price bidding system but if you're already using the AWS system this is probably the easiest to set up and use.
What do you dislike?
Needs more diversity in the EC2 instances offered. I feel like this service could be cheaper. You need to be comfortabe with using the command line ,ssh, bash and writing shell scripts.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use EC2 containers and Amazon ELB's to service our web applications.


    likitha j.

EC2 container service

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the large amount of instances and programming tools they provide which make the work more scalable and elastic. applications on linux instances costs less than those on windows and also it helps in the overall costs.the best thing about EC2 is the version control and it does it in its own best way as follows:Closely coupled with the development environment Version control is the heart and soul of any source based application, and there's no reason not to put this on something like an EC2 server. The bandwidth usage is minimal. The guaranteed backed up aspect is a huge load off the restless mind, and the next time you have to run reports on the last three hundred and seventy five thousand revisions… it does not bring your real (or test) environment reaching to a rather annoying halt!
What do you dislike?
the cost and some things which makes some extra work and also covering the costs and allocating the resources on demand was tough. We should add our own security precautions like that on any server although it is with them and that's one of the main issues as we have to do the installation and maintenance of the features we installed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
maintaining the code on the cloud with all the resources we need and allocating the resources based on the demand and cutting costs if in case of no demand by suppressing the resources temporarily
Recommendations to others considering the product:
use this first as a development environment i.e., experiment by all means and after you get full grip or figure out you know everything and also know how to do things with it then it would be lot better to use


    Real Estate

Easy to use! Can be pricy in small batches

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Super easy to start up. Trial period is friendly enough and gives you a good idea of what you can do scale wise. Interface for launching is quite easy and accessing and integration was simple enough (for what we had to do anyways). There is a TON of documentation written by amazon itself and more courses are getting added to Udemy, Coursera, pluralsight, etc.
What do you dislike?
Small-medium stuff can be super expensive and not worth it compared to other solutions. I would say try to keep it super small or scale big to get a better deal. But it is on a “month to month” basis for most of the stuff so you can assess as you go if you don’t mind investing time into a pilot
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Individual governed websites, repos, environments for different users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out! There’s a ton of tutorials and free or cheap trials you can use to see if it would work for you


    Michael R.

The only containerised solution for the AWS ecosystem

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Integrates seamlessly with Elastic Beanstalk - providing a simple and effective containerised deployment solution.

Reliable and predictable when setup and working.
What do you dislike?
Slow to startup, can be very difficult to debug startup issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Part of our automated CI/CD solution. Allows easy blue/green deployments


    Ryan C.

Great for low use archiving

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Large, cheap, and limitless storage that can be used for any purpose.
What do you dislike?
Latency/speeds to retrieve or upload large amounts of data especially large data output (crash logs) from alpha and beta test programs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The EC2 container service was used primarily to hold our crash dump log data in addition to general employee cloud storage. The cloud storage was for non-video storage including always-accessible document storage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Segregate your containers by use instead of trying to sort the data manually.


    Grant A.

Excellent product, need to know your stuff

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
AWS offers a dizzying array of options, features and configurations that make it easier to configure and deploy a VM than having to build it yourself from scratch. Pretty much any kind of OS you would want for a VM are available including several distros of Linux, Unix, Windows, Docker and more. A free tier is offered that allows you to use a micro instance for playing around/testing/small website, which is great way to offer a trail (as opposed to a time-based limit). In fact, many of AWS' offerings have a free tier that allow a good amount of play before any need of money. There is support for everything you'd expect such as multi-region deployment, load-balancing, monitoring, alerts, access security, firewall/network configuration, remote access through SSH or AWS CLI and more. Most importantly I would say is that because it's part of AWS, EC2s have access to all the other amazing offerings AWS provides such as AWS API messaging, lambda functions, dynamo databases, auto-scaling ElasticBeanstalks and more.
What do you dislike?
Because of the complexity and amount of options allowed, it can be intimidating/difficult to quickly spin up a new VM. Also, you have to be quite familiar with other AWS products to know how to get configurations just right. Also, sometimes it's difficult to know what may bump you into a paid-tier when you are evaluating a free-tier product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With AWS EC2s there is no worry about running and managing our own servers, which helps with cost and monitoring, especially if something goes down. And being inside AWS there is easy access to wide host of tools and features we don't have to worry about installing, configuring, troubleshooting just to get it to work. If we want a feature or a component, we just select it and launch it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The EC2 container service from AWS is a great option for spinning up and running VMs and containers.